We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible opulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Emirates Palace to your Saves list
Emirates Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Incredible opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at the Emirates Palace for 3 nights in a coral room in the west wing, and were still being amazed by the place on the last day. Previous reviewers have described it very well, it is just the most luxurious, opulent hotel we have ever stayed in. I particularly loved the beach and pool area and would have happily spent most of the day there except we did want to do some sightseeing. The service was outstanding with every need catered for, and the food delicious, although very expensive. One small problem for us was that the hotel is somewhat isolated, and it was a long walk to get to the Corniche or Marina Mall. The frequent security checks at doors and gates were also a bit frustrating. The rooms are huge, luxurious and comfortable and we even had an enormous plasma TV to watch the royal wedding. If you are looking for somewhere to pamper you and meet your every whim, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    248
    105
    48
    44
See reviews for
456
751
59
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed here before in 2009 and had a great time. This time we were on a half board deal which was awful, no choice of menu and very poor service. Eventually we just ignored the half board thing and took dinner in other hotels / restaurants where we had great food and very good service (Fish Market at the Intercontinental for fish eaters, Vasco's at the Hilton for a wide ranging menu and the option ot eat inside or outside).
Room was very good size but you could only see the car park from our "garden view" room. It is worth the extra cost to have a beach side view. TV didn't work properly and it took 3 days to get it fixed.
Free dinghy sailing etc. at beach club was excellent.
Would we go again, probably not - for excellent personal service we recomment the Fairmont Hotel Gold rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel 20 April for 8 nights and I don't know what there is to criticise. Everything from the private car transfers, the restaurants, the room, the pool area was immaculate in presentation and the staff simply cannot do enough for you during your stay. If I have one criticism though it is the number of tourists not staying at the hotel who come to see and photograph the lobby and take afternoon tea, thus tempted to stray to other parts of the hotel taking snaps. That aside security does their best.
In all would we return, yes? Would we recommend it, without doubt? One final thing for those people who might complain about it being too expensive, then simply don't go and stay at a different hotel. If you want the best hotel with fantastic restaurants in Abu Dhabi, you have to pay for it, not moan about how expensive it all is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Having previously stayed in Dubai and Oman we thought we would try Abu Dhabi this year and weren't disappointed. The hotel was a bit overwhelming at first glance, but once we found our bearings we had a great relaxing holiday. The hotel will arrange a short tour free of charge which is well worth doing and shows you parts of the hotel you would normally miss.

We found a deal through Dream Ticket that upgraded us to full board for very little extra, which proved to be a very wise move, these meals were taken in the Vendome Brasserie which supplied a huge array of international foods buffet style and I would defy anyone to not find something there that they could eat.

The other hotel restaurants were extremely good, especially the BBQ Al Qasr which is situated on the beach were they do a fantastic burger the best you will ever taste, but needs to be at around £38.00 a burger! and the Lebanese restaurant Diwan L'Auberge
were we had a fantastic mezza. The restaurants average around £100.00 pp for two courses with a bottle of wine and water.

If there is any criticism to make it would be that the checking in and out took far too long.

Would we go again ... most certainly!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We have recently returned from an 11 night stay at the hotel and were very impressed. The hotel is beautiful; very opulent but very large. The size can make it feel a little soul-less at first, but we soon found our way around. We were really impressed by the service offered by our butler, Pradeep who helped us enjoy our stay by recommending and booking restaurants, taxis etc and smoothed our way when we needed help with anything.

Lovely garden areas for sun beds. Of the two pools we preferred the West wing pool with water slides and lazy river, the pool side snack bar was very good for light lunches.

We were offered the complimentary half board option which was a bit hit and miss, a couple of times the set meal on offer was quite poor and we were obliged to eat from the A La Carte menu. Wine is very expensive.

We had a meal in most of the A La Carte restaurants, although not all, and those we tried were good/very good but not outstanding. I feel the hotel could offer a really great steak bar (a la Mortons in USA).

The gyms are well equipped and well staffed.

Overall we had a great time. We plan to visit again and take other family members with us. We would recommend this hotel unless you have trouble walking as the distances are so great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Located on a private beach pretty close to what constitutes the centre of Abu Dhabi, it would nevertheless be a shame to waste a stay in this hotel by spending too much time visiting the surrounding area. The second most expensive hotel ever built, prior to arrival you wonder what on earth could have led them to such a bill, however once you arrive it becomes clear.

The scale of the place is simply immense. Not even in the biggest most opulent hotels in Las Vegas has so much space been given over to the communal areas. Everything is simply enormous. The décor will not be to everyone’s taste, but it is supremely luxurious and one would imagine that you are not staying here expecting some trendy boutique hotel. You stay here because you want your stay to be an event and that is what you get.

Check in is perfect, welcome drinks and flowers for the lady, before a member of staff (not a porter) escorts you to your room (as you try desperately to remember the route they took, it is really that big) The room was big for a standard room, huge bathroom, 50” TV complete with a universal remote designed by NASA – best not to worry how to make it work. Within minutes of arrival your butler drops by to explain that for anything from pillows to shoe cleaning he is at your service. Free wifi everywhere too.

You should have got the picture by now, this is way beyond what you might expect in a regular 5 star establishment so let yourself enjoy the sheer opulence. Sometimes the service is a little OTT, but you are there for an experience so it is churlish not to just go with the flow.

There are many dining experiences in the hotel, all tastes should be catered for. Breakfast is simply sumptuous, nothing is missed out. You want camels milk on your muesli? No problem! I’d say allow an hour and a half for breakfast just to make the most of it.

The hotel beach is a series of hammocks and cabanas set in a long private strip of sand. There is a vast swimming pool/s and a seemingly endless supply of space to lay out.

All in all, the Emirates Palace is just what you would expect. It is expensive given some of the other hotels in the area, but you are staying in what amounts to a theme park devoted to a luxury stay. You will be talking about the experience for a long time to come.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at the Emirates palace in Abu Dhabi for 3 nights this April on a weeks' vacation to Dubai.
Not having been to this part of the world before, i was alittle skeptical at first. I couldn't have been more wrong! Upon checking in, we were greeted like VIP's. Flowers for the women and a refreshing cup of tea and some delicious dates. The staff made us feel welcome and special from the very beginning. Our room was charming and exuded pure luxury. I have never stayed in such a beautiful and luxurios room. It is INDEED a palace!
Our Butler, Thadeus, was a dream come true and knew what we needed before we did.
The grounds of the palace were immaculate and perfectly concepted. There are 2 pool areas on either side of the palace, one for "Adults" and the other side for families. The family area had a tubing river and childrens play ground. There is a golf cart shuttle to bring guests to any other part of the palace grounds. The adult pool area has a jacuzzi and spa area that makes everyone feel relaxed and care-free.
The restaurants are fantastic and every dish is created to please. There are so many different types of restaurants, that even the most critical of pallates will be mesmerized.
The decorations are all true to the palace name. You feel like royalty just walking through the hallways. This place is not just decorated like a palace, it IS a palace!!!
I have never felt more special in a hotel before in my life!
I never wanted to leave this place.
From the reception staff to the cleaning staff, everyone was friendly and went out of their way to please us and make us feel at home.
This was an incredible experience for us and i thank the staff at the Emirates Palace for working so hard to make every guest feel like a VIP.
I will be sure to stay here again the next time I am in this part of the world.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emirates Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.