We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abu Dhabi - The Corniche - Extremely hot during mid day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corniche

The Corniche
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Improve this listing
Visit The Corniche like an insider
Special Offer
$109*
and up
Big Bus Dubai and Abu Dhabi Super Saver: Hop-On...
Ranked #8 of 110 things to do in Abu Dhabi
Attraction details
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
279 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
“Abu Dhabi - The Corniche - Extremely hot during mid day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were only in the city for a short while and having spent the morning at the Grand Mosque we headed down at mid day to the front for a stroll along a section of the Corniche. And it literally became a quick five minute stroll as the heat was simply unbearable. The walkway was very clean and attractive and looked like it went on for miles but unfortunately we made the mistake of going out in the mid day sun ( Mad dogs and Englishmen etc ). So a brief visit was all we could take. I imagine the best time is early morning or at sunset/after dark but be warned, midday is a no no.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    547
    178
    34
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We hired bikes and went for a cycle along the corniche. It was a nice break from taxiing around. There a plenty of works taking place along the bike and footpaths so be careful. Watch out if the bike path meets a pedestrian crossing as the pedestrians will block the path and you may have to stop suddenly! Nice views of the beach and plenty of places to stop for refreshments.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for a walk at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The corniche goes on forever - 20Km I was told. I went just before sunset. Lots of people out and it felt very safe. Nice change from just the gym!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Well maintained. Nice place to spend evenings for a walk. Good for joggers. IF you aer a cycling enthusiast, it is available on rent. Riding along the corniche can be quite interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Must come alive at night? Hot during the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The corniche is like a promenade along the main beach of Abu Dhabi. It's very picturesque and beautifully maintained. The usual UAE rules at beaches apply. It's very very hot here during the day and did foul to walk for long but I imagine later in the evening this place would come alive at night with local families visiting the area and people out on bikes when it's a little cooler

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corniche also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to The Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corniche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.