We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi

Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi
Yas Island, Abu Dhabi 00000, United Arab Emirates
02 414 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #7 of 41 Attractions in Abu Dhabi
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi is the UAE’s first mega waterpark, set across 15 hectares of the exciting entertainment complex that is Yas Island. The park offers 43 rides, slides and attractions that will thrill the whole family. Visitors will experience fun and adventure on rides and attractions never seen before in waterparks, such as the world’s longest, fastest tornado waterslide, the region’s first looping waterslide and the world’s first interactive water and laser rollercoaster. Its award-winning theme – based on an original story developed exclusively for the waterpark – pays tribute to the Emirati culture with the UAE’s pearl-diving heritage at the core, and will provide an unforgettable experience for young and old. Some of our amenities include: -Locker and towel rental-Stored value, which allows you to store money on your wristband-Cabana rental -Free WIFI -Changing rooms
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great attractions for kids and adults. Wide range of rides for everyone. Very organised. Downside is the food. Limited choice, and expect to pay around $14 for a burger combo. Nonetheless, highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi prufrock45,

Thank you taking the time to review us. We are glad that you found the park to cater for the family; we are a family park and love to hear when everyone in the family has had fun! We have tried to create a variation when it comes to the food items but we are always open to suggestions and feedback. The prices of the food are based on the quality of the food and the time and care taken in producing the food. We have also taken into consideration the industry rate when it comes to food prices and the prices are well within the rates. We hope that you will give us some suggestions on your next visit.

Best regards,
Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    355
    121
    36
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exciting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was a first trip so everything was interesting. However, I thought the charge of 30 dirhams for the loan of a towel was excessive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Pam I,

Thank you for your feedback. We have based our prices for all facilities and services provided within the industry threshold. The towel service is something that is offered to guests as a service, however we do have towels on sale in our retail outlets that we try to offer as well so that you can take a piece of Yas Waterworld away with you. Thanks again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, maybe to avoid the AED 30 cost, carry along your own towel or invest in one of our cool towels at the park.

Best regards,
Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go on a week day, and prepare to scream a bit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived early, around 1030, and we managed to cover the whole park before lunch, including the Bandit twice without getting off as there was no queue.
Staff were super helpful, noticing when it looked like we were looking for something and giving directions. They were also getting used to dealing with rowdy groups of Arab lads that were out to have a good time but were disregarding the rules a bit - which was comforting to us (nothing seems to annoy the inherent British in me more than a queue jumper that gets away with it).
There's plenty of big rides for the adults (that behave like kids in our case) and it looked like there was enough to keep little ones happy too.
We loved the Lima Loop. Beware the floor drops out from under you and the challenge is not to scream! I didn't manage it, not even on the fourth go.
Worth the cash, about £45 for the day, but go on a weekday (we went Monday) and don't buy the premium entry, you'll barely queue.
Lunch was mostly fast food, a few salads were available, but after walking up so many steps to the rides we decided we deserved a treat.
Some people do seem to dislike the steps, but when gravity is necessary for the ride to be any good, then the higher you go the better ! If you're not someone with the fitness to climb stairs, this isn't going to give you the thrills you pay for. Personally my legs looked great after the all day workout!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi nicciwoo,

Thank you for reviewing us. Your day at the park sounds like you had fun! Weekdays are better to visit as most of the crowds come in on a weekend. We are always trying to improve and assist where we can so thanks for the input about the team, we will definitely pass this on. We would love to take credit and say that it was all part of our big plan in getting a great workout while having fun, but we weren’t that far ahead. Our main aim was to create fun and thrills and it seems that was accomplished. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Had a Blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great park for all ages. It has something for everyone. We went in early May and there were almost no lines. 15 min max. We were there for 8 hours and could have kept going....highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“endless aqua fun - at a price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've visited almost all the other water parks in the UAE but this is by far the best (my 2 waterpark experts agree with me there). sadly the day started with almost 2hrs wait to get in, with no shade, local kids jumping the lines and all the usual fun. however they did have staff walking the queues, talking to us, listening to our complaints and trying to help where possible. So despite the wait and the frustration they get full marks for recognizing a problem and trying to rectify it. The other sore point are the prices, which are extremely steep. After 2 hrs in a queue I decided we wanted the VIP fast track option and despite another 20% on the already painful ticket we saw the benefit later on. Once in all went smoothly. the rides are amazing. We systematically tried all the rides and having opted for VIP could do so with relative ease (normal waiting time for some rides approx 70-90 mins / VIP 15 mins). the rides are intelligent and fun, scary and enjoyable for all age groups and adrenaline levels. we stayed in the park for over 5.5 hrs and still didn't feel bored.
all in all - great day out, great fun but a bit too expensive to do again quickly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi haggis_dxb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The time that you did visit was one of the peak times in the region, during the school break and therefore there were some areas to your feedback that we have taken heed of as a whole. We did experience a high volume of guests during this period and as you noticed we took action in the following ways: we opened the ticketing booths a bit earlier to cater for the long queues, we got more colleagues to manage the queues to avoid queue jumping and to help with guest communication, we temporarily brought in more umbrellas outside the main entrance to create some shading. We moved our bag search area temporarily so guests could enjoy their snacks while queuing.

We do provide the premium ticket option for guests who do not want to wait that long in the queues, but it is there just as an option. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time. You should definitely consider the annual pass, great weekend away. Also the Entertainer voucher which can be found in the Entertainer book is quite reasonable with the discounts to many attractions either exclusively to Abu Dhabi or Dubai.

Thanks again for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.