We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yas waterworld” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi

Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi
Yas Island, Abu Dhabi 00000, United Arab Emirates
02 414 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 70 attractions in Abu Dhabi
Type: Water Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi is the UAE’s first mega waterpark, set across 15 hectares of the exciting entertainment complex that is Yas Island. The park offers 43 rides, slides and attractions that will thrill the whole family. Visitors will experience fun and adventure on rides and attractions never seen before in waterparks, such as the world’s longest, fastest tornado waterslide, the region’s first looping waterslide and the world’s first interactive water and laser rollercoaster. Its award-winning theme – based on an original story developed exclusively for the waterpark – pays tribute to the Emirati culture with the UAE’s pearl-diving heritage at the core, and will provide an unforgettable experience for young and old. Some of our amenities include: -Locker and towel rental-Stored value, which allows you to store money on your wristband-Cabana rental -Free WIFI -Changing rooms
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yas waterworld”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Yas water world..Having lived in the UAE for five years we have tried them all.. We queued up for about 30 minutes just to pay, then despite saying twice we had six people, we were charged for seven, which then took a while to sort out..
Finding a sun lounger was easy, plenty of space, we settled by the children's area, which is brilliant for the little ones and for older children that don't like adult rides or are too small in height..this is definitely the best waterpark for smaller children..
However, the queue's for the bigger rides were awful, over an hour and a half and it wasn't the busiest time we went..my eight year old was fed up waiting..if you are waiting for a ride that requires a inflatable ring, holding this for nearly two hrs at times, on stairs is quite difficult..every ride we went to was dreadful..the lazy river we had to opt for a few times to keep the kids happy..there are plenty of rides to choose from but all had waiting times over an hour..This was not there busiest time either, so definitely do not go on a friday/ Saturday or any public holidays..
There are also horrendous amount of steps to climb for some of the rides, whilst I note this is unavoidable to get to a certain height it wore me out and I'm quite fit and youngish !! wild Wadi is perfect for avoiding steps, as you are shot up on a ring to reach the rides..
The food was good, 45 - 60 aed for a meal combo.. Not bad for a place like this..however the service is slow with a capital S..we queued, 30 minutes for an orange juice and a bottle of water...unacceptable !!

I'm sure some of the service issues will be sorted, they need more staff !!
We did enjoy the day..our kids loved it despite the queue's, us adults prefer Wild Wadi in Dubai...we will come back, maybe on a day where our kids have a day off school and other schools don't..

For my ticket of over 200 aed, I managed four rides and a lazy river, so a very expensive day !!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Elsiduk,

Thank you for reviewing us. We were pleased to read some of the great comments that you made about the Park and of course take all feedback as constructive and look at ways we can improve. We’re certainly sorry for the mistake made when purchasing the tickets but glad that our Colleagues dealt with this for you on the spot. This period of the year is one of our busiest as it is the spring break so there are many tourists and residents who have time off; consequently, queues in the Park are longer, but definitely shorter earlier in the day. The length of time you waited to get refreshments is certainly not normal and we will address this with the team here. We have lots of food and beverage outlets to try and cater for people wherever they are in the Park and it should be a quick process. Our rides are unique and yes, we have stairs to access them; we hope that the experience of the rides themselves counters the stairs – they are very different to the rides that other parks have in the region.

We’d really like to see you back at the Park – come early in the day away from the main holidays and we are confident that you will have a fantastic day out.

Best regards,

Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    234
    93
    29
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We bought premium tickets -still long waits and queue jumpers galore!. Very slippy underfoot. Have to pay for towels, lockers -they certainly know how to get your money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Tyrella,

Thanks for reviewing Yas Waterworld. We take your comments very seriously and we’re always looking for ways in which we can improve our business. Whilst buying a premium ticket does expedite your access to the rides, it won’t eliminate queuing altogether; however, we always ensure that we don’t sell more than our quota of premium tickets so that all holders still have a shorter waiting time than regular admission ticket holders. The nature of waterparks does mean that there is water everywhere but we use special material around the Park to make this anti-slip and tell our Guests not to run. We hope that, despite some of your comments here, you enjoyed your day at the Park and the unique rides that we have to offer.

Best regards,

Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awful awful system and complete waste of money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

DO NOT even bother going here unless you want to pay your hard earned money to stand in a queue for literally hours on end, only to have people push in front continuously and have no one do anything about it. It was terrible, this 'premium' ticket system is utterly disgusting, if you are willing to pay more or have more money to spend you are able to by pass all those who have been waiting in a queue for a least an hour. The staff have no common sense to see when young children who are upset and tired after waiting so long yet they still allow these large groups of young men in front of them as they had paid for the premium pass, its pathetic really. Besides from that the whole system needs some serious re-organising, i would not even bother going all that way as you will be setting yourself up for massive disappointment. Even queuing for a ticket was super stressful, there must have been at least 5 groups of men who pushed in front of us and the security seemed too scared to say a word to them. The rides are ok, there are a lot of them, but after spending a day there we we only used 3 out of the advertised 40 rides they have. Utter waste of time and money

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Joey771,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Park; of course, it is disappointing to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us over the holiday period. During this time, the Park is much busier and in general, we advise our Guests to purchase tickets online and to arrive early when you can enjoy many of the attractions without much of a wait at all. We take queue jumping very seriously and will not tolerate this; on our busier days, we have additional security present in the queue to deal with any Guests who attempt to do this.

We would be very happy to welcome you back to Yas Waterworld in the future; perhaps out of the holiday period so that your wait is kept to a minimum – the rides are really great fun.

Best regards,

Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We queued and queued and then left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We come to Abu Dhabi each year and have been doing for some years, my little boy was very excited about Yas Waterworld opening, so off we went, We queued for over an hour in the seering heat outside on the pavements, to be then confronted with a further queue inside to actually buy the tickets and were told this would be another hour, we had had enough at that point. Queuing for 2 hours in 35 degree heat is not advised - there were no shelters or shade in the queuing area, however there were plenty of staff trying to sell overpriced drinks to you, why were they not assisting moving the queues?
We wont be venturing again to try this out - we went to Ferrari World instead which is fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi EmmaD,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your day with us due to some of the queuing you experienced. During this busy Spring Break period the Park does have a very high attendance that increases queue times and we do work as hard as we can to keep these to a minimum. We recommend all of our Guests to purchase tickets online before they come so that there is no need to wait to purchase on arrival. In addition, our Guests generally find that if they come to the Park earlier, they can beat the crowds and enjoy the rides with minimal waiting times. We hope that you will give our Park another go when you come back to Abu Dhabi; we are really confident that you will have a great time with us if you follow this advice.

Best regards,

Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“go elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very disappointed in Yas WaterWorld. Long queues and that was just to get into the water park.
Two key attractions were not working properly.

I wouldn't recommend Ya WaterWorlds, should have tried Ferrari World, go-karting or just lazing by the hotel pool instead.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear picture_of_innocence,

Thanks for reviewing Yas Waterworld; we were disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your day with us. During this busy period, we can have longer than normal queues and in general we would advise to come to the Park early so that you don’t have much waiting time. You can also purchase tickets online which means that there is no need to queue at the entrance when you arrive.
Some of the rides in the Park are truly unique and occasionally, we can have technical issues; however, these are generally only for a short period of time and we endeavor to have them back up as soon as possible. With so many attractions in the Park, we hope that the impact of any disruption to ride operation is minimal.

Thank you again; we hope that you will decide to come back to the Park in the future.

Best regards,

Michael Anthony
Business Excellence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yas Waterworld Abu Dhabi to your Saves list