We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Save Saved
You added Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great place to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Ritz is well the Ritz. They really take care of you and the breakfast is to die for. They have an extensive pillow menu for the people who are very particular. The staff is from all over the world and they are well trained. The pool is outdoor but heated so the cool breeze from the canal was soon overcome by diving in the pool. The one thing they can improve upon is the local middle eastern food. Surprisingly the middle eastern fare is not as good as it could be. For people who like spicy food well you are out of luck as the food is fairly bland catering to Europeans. Just outside the main gate is the famous Mosque which is a must see. If you wish to swim in the private canal and experience the beach the golf buggy will drive you there. Overall great for a get away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I really appreciate you took the time to write such a lovely comment about your experience at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi Grand Canal, I'm glad to know that our Chefs breakfast was up to your expectations and that our Pillow Menu made your night comfortable, I'm taking notes about the level of spiciness of some of our dishes and I will transmit this comments to our culinary team.

Let us know when are you coming back, we will be ready to welcome you

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    60
    22
    14
    4
See reviews for
67
79
8
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Attended a conference in this Hotel recently and must say one of the finest properties in this part of the world. The view from the hotel was awesome ! The grand view of the beautiful Mosque in front adds to the overall ambience. The restaurants and bars were excellent with wonderful spreads. The staff were quite helpful and caring. Overall a great stay . Next time in Abu Dhabi check this out !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I appreciate very much your feedback and your kind comments, I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

we are looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

warm regards

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great rooms, view and location. The pool and beach front is great. Amazing restaurants and bars. You can have the view of the mosque from the hotel. Service and hospitality is also perfect. If you are planning to visit Abu dabhi, this a worth a try.

Room Tip: Pool Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I'll transfer the compliments to our Pool and Food &Beverage team.

we are looking forward to welcome you again.

warm regards

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

i was at a conference at this hotel and everything about it was wonderful, including a quiety comfy majelis area.
the setting - opposite the grand mosque (few minutes walk away) and on the water is just lovely
there are a variety of options for the accommodation from regular hotel rooms to villas with a terrace.
the swimming pool is large and there is access to the sea as well, with comfortable recliners and seating
the food was plentiful and tasty and so beautifully presented
and of course the staff were very attentive and beautifully dressed, nothing was too much trouble
if you can afford it - treat yourself

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time write such a lovely review about the Hotel, I'm Glad you enjoyed your time with us and for sure we are looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

warm regards

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Will I give a five star ranking to this hotel? Definitely not. A five star would stand itself out with the service quality. Everything else is secondary. There are many Hotels in the orient which would not be rated as very good properties but makes up with the quality of service.

Sample this: The transfer to the hotel to airport was not a breeze. We reached in the wee hours and the last thing we would expect is to be kept waiting. In the end we had to lug our baggage across the lobby and then into our rooms.

No complimentary wifi. For many hotel chains this would be a given.

Having said that this is an excellent property bang across the most important land mark in the Emirate The Sheikh Zayeed mosque.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side overlook the Creek while those on the West enable a view of the Grand mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and helpful feedback regarding your recent stay with us, sorry to read about your challenges as this is one of the areas where The Ritz-Carlton strives to excel

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the experience with you further. If you can afford the time, you can contact me rc.auhrz.exec.office@ritzcarlton.com hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you soon and get your trust in our brand again

warm regards
Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

There is no doubt the Ritz Carlton at Abu Dhabi is a beautifully decorated and luxurious looking hotel …. however following a recent 9 day stay I would say that the food, service and general ambience is certainly far from 5 star.

STAFF
I know the hotel has only been open a year but you would have thought it was a week watching the staff work. There appeared to be numerous 'managers' but the staff below them didn't seem to have any direction? At first we found things amusing but after a while it got to be rather annoying. The service in the rooms was patchy I had to ask constantly for tea bags I left notes spoke to the cleaner rang housekeeping before I managed to get some likewise with water and toiletries( which when staying in UAE previously were replaced when empty) were nowhere to be seen. The staff also seemed to have problems with understanding English which I know is difficult when its your 2nd language but we have never had problems before.

ROOMS

The Rooms were very nice but on our 2nd day there we went to bed at 2230 as my husband was not well only to be rudely awaken by very loud music coming from the restaurant 3 floors below. I rang reception to be told it was a live band who would be playing until midnight. I was offered a move but under the circumstance declined and this went on almost every night

FOOD

We stayed on half board basis taking breakfast and dinner in the buffet restaurant. The food there was repetitive and the hot food barely warm it was chaos at the 'egg station' and if you got fed up waiting and tried to order e.g. poached eggs from the kitchen again due to language difficulties you may either get 1 portion 2 portions or none at all. We tried ordering lunch from the Al Fresco menu on one occasion but my husbands steak sandwich was tough and cold and my caesar salad limp so we didn't try again. The half board basis allows 140 dirhams towards a meal in one of the a la carte restaurants so we tried the steak restaurant after studying the menus and making our various selections we were told on ordering that 2 of our requested starters we not available ..The meals were nice but we were asked no less than 6 times if we were enjoying the meal (twice by the chef) the food was good but it was steak and chips no better or worse than we have eaten on numerous occasions

We did try to resolve problems at the time and spoke to at least 2 managers and since returning I have also emailed the hotel with my views for them to comment but I've had no response

I get the impression that this hotel is aiming to be primarily a venue for conferences, weddings and meetings it certainly has no warmth or atmosphere to spend a holiday there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I really appreciate your comment, thank you for taking the time and letting us know in detail how can we improve, sorry to know we couldn't deliver excellence during your stay.

I'm personally transmitting the message to the team to make sure this wont happen again and hopping you can give us another chance to win your trust in our brand back again.

I would appreciate if i can get in contact with you, please send me your contact details to rc.auhrz.exec.office@ritzcarlton.com.

regards

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is a brand new hotel over looking the grand canal and behind is the famous Grand Mosque! The food is amazing at The Forge, very nice place to relax!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, I'm glad to know our team from The Forge created a nice experience for you, we are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.