We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott's

Scott's
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers, Corniche Street, Opposite Emirates Palace | Ras Al Akhdar Area, Abu Dhabi 111929, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 811 5666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 1,615 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Scott’s is not just any seafood restaurant - it's the seafood restaurant - of London. For the first time in its 160 year history, Scott's is opening in a new location in the heart of Abu Dhabi. Offering the finest oysters, fish and crustacean, as well as seasonal game, meat and vegetarian dishes, the decor of this rare and exquisite escape is as dramatic as its location over water.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Scott's in Abu Dhabi is an absolutely first class restaurant, let alone a great fish restaurant. Sitting outside on the decking with that fantastic view is an experience in itself, The menu is great, very diverse and good value, while having fantastic dish's on it. The staff are great and very knowledgeable, without being overbearing as can be the trend in AD. It almost felt a shame to sit outside as the interior of the restaurant is fantastic too. much recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Scott's, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Scott’s. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It was a lovely surprise to discover that Scotts have a restaurant in Abu Dhabi. The London restaurant is a favourite, and our evening in the Abu Dhabi sister restaurant did not disappoint. Sitting outside was magical and the food and service excellent. Not inexpensive by any means, but of a world class standard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Scott's, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for these compliments! We are pleased you enjoyed your dinner and that you discovered one of your favorite restaurants of London right here, in Abu Dhabi!
We are surely looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible meal in an idyllic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Without doubt the best restaurant I visited whilst in Abu Dhabi. We were lucky enough to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful view, where we all had some fantastic seafood. The staff were very attentive, friendly and knowledgable; recommending a great wine to go with our meals.

A great value evening out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Scott's, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at Scott’s.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best Regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Abu Dhabi. No competition.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This restaurant serves the best seafood in Abu Dhabi, at very reasonable prices. The seafood platter, fish and chips, as well as the shrimp burger are particularly good mains. Desserts are exquisite... Baked Alaska is outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Scott's, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Scott’s. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

...oh well, may be that's a bit harsh; above-average then. What Scott's Abu Dhabi is getting right:
The view is stunning, specially if you're seated on the outdoor deck on a balmy November evening. Perfect for a romantic evening out. Though our's was spoiled by the constant droning of a large group of German (?) diners, one of whose number made a half hour speech. Made it seem like we were dining on the fringes of a corporate motivational event! However, that was beyond the management's control. If you're headed down just check if loud speeches are expected to be part of your dining experience.
The service is quite good. The wait staff is mostly smiling, pleasant and attentive. The glasses were kept topped up and food was brought piping hot without over-long waiting.
What they got wrong, horribly so:
Our reservation was messed up. The maitre'd was quite disinclined to believe us when we firmly stated that we were being led to a table we did not reserve. There was quite a bit of to-ing and fro-ing before it was finally admitted that someone has made a hash of it. We were eventually seated after a about a five minute wait, which isn't much, s**t like this happens, no big deal. However, a guest ought not to have to convince management that they've made a specific reservation. Really, under no circumstances whatsoever, should an establishment like Scott's make a guest start off their evening feeling on the back foot, as if we're lying to sneak on to the outdoor deck for our meal!
Second, the food was a very big disappointment. We had high expectations. Our starter of farmed caviar was fine. But then it's caviar. I was happy that they had the more ethical farmed variety available. We both ordered fish n chips for our main. We believe that it's brilliance at the very basics that differentiates a really good restaurant. The quality of the fish was indeed superb. The chips were done to perfection: crisp and gold on the outside and melting soft on the inside. BUT, the fish had been ruined with a very greasy crust, there was nothing light and fluffy and crispy about it, it was stodgy greasy stomach turning stuff. My partner's fillet was riddled with fish bones. Yes, fish bones! The very basics of the humble fish n chip had been completely ignored. And really, if two diners are sending back more than half their meals untouched, you should be concerned and take the trouble to ask them what went wrong. Downtown pubs in Abu Dhabi do a far, far better job at a fish n chip. And for the posh variety, nobody has yet beaten Alfie's up in Dubai.
Our dessert platter had a decent cherry pie with a lush custard. But the whole was ruined by a meringue which was the chewiest I've ever encountered. It was topped with de-frosted berries. Really, Scott's, stop cutting corners. Nip down to Spinney's and buy the real stuff! Your diners don't deserve watery flavourless defrosted stuff.
A very disappointing experience. Generally, the Abu Dhabi fine dining scene is picking up pace. Places like Marco Pierre White and Bord Eau are clearly ahead of the pack and, given last night's experience, Scott's has a lot of work to do if they hope to stay in the pack. It's F1 weekend, Abu Dhabi's busiest tourist week, and half the restaurant was empty on Friday night, the main race day. Based on our experience, it's not surprising at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott's also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Scott's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.