We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish we were back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd Street - Al Zahiyah | Connected to Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi 45200, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wish we were back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

From the time we arrived at the airport (August 2009) for our 25th wedding anniversary to the time we left after our two week stay, we can honestly say we cannot recommend this resort highly enough. Staff extremely respectful, friendly and very efficient. We dined at all of the restaurants and it was a struggle trying to choose each night as all of them were excellent. The private beach was a pleasure to visit and every whim was met by the friendly and helpful beach staff. There is some construction work in progress across the water but it did not infringe on our enjoyment and it is part of the progress in Abu Dhabi, as they say "When in Rome...". There are plenty of water sports available and the pool areas are excellent. Plenty of choice at breakfast also. Room and en-suite perfect and extremely clean. Hotel connected by a door to the Abu Dhabi Shopping Mall which is a lovely shopping experience. Transfer from and to Airport very smooth. We stayed for a fortnight and could not fault anything.

Would just like to thank the hotel for the lovely Anniversay cake! And again to all the staff
at the Rotana Beach Hotel, "Thanks for a fantastic experience". David and Audrey Smith,
Dublin, Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    401
    113
    53
    32
See reviews for
268
438
113
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

During check in we were told to put down a deposit of 2500 dirhams- i was not aware of this before hand and ws a bit annoying. this is something thats is not much use to you when you checkout!
I have to say the hotel staff here was excellent. polite well knowledge d and willing to help - i rate this service as 5*, could not fault a thing. ON the last day we had an early flight and the staff kindly offered to bring breakfast to our room.
I have to say the room size was a big disappointment - the room was small and tiny barley room to maneuver all rooms have a balcony facing the "beach". and another thing this beach is very tiny and i think the name and hotel details are misleading. there is no beach really and it faces a huge construction site. not pleasent to look at- otherwise it would have been a nice hotel. the pool is not too big eithier. the gym is nice but got busy in the mornings and evenings and the machines were limited.
the hotel is fab looks great and amazing the decor and surroundings. down side the lobby is always full of smoke.!
the spa Zen is nice and relaxing- a bit pricy.
the hair salon is a bit confusing- there is a separate men and women salon(great for me as a muslim lady, some will understand)- but in the women salon there are men working. and roaming around, i made an appoint ment then had to cancel it. this is a misleading service. this is also and expensive place.

if im gonna be picky i have to say the breakfast buffet did not match the 5* expectations. limited choice (compared to other hotels in UAE). other 5 restaurants the hotel has are okish the indian is ok (not the authentic flavor)but again expensive.
i enjoyed my stay as this was next to abu dhabi mall.

places i would recommend t visit are; alain tour, safari (as always and anywhere in the middle east)marina mall is much better. corniche, marina mall, we wanted to see the emirates palace(there were tours, e.g. tea at palace) but we could not even get close.
okay stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed in Beach Rotana mainly because I was shopping for an upcoming event and a preferred it because it was adjoined by the Abu Dhabi Mall and that cut my commuting a lot
The room was very nice, the view however was not, as it looked over an industrial beach.
The hotel is not suitable for family with children, as the balcony railing is very low and not safe for the young ones
It is suited for friends traveling together or couples’ weekend getaway, or even a stopover if you are traveling via Etihad Airways.
The restaurants are very nice but extremely crowded, you might think of reserving a table before going down
I would stay in this hotel if I did not find bookings any where else

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

staff were very good and helpful in guiding us and helpng on tours (very expensive though)& taxis etc. Our room was very small as we had asked for a triple room and there were only 2 beds! One of the staff then came in with a guest bed which was not very comfortable at all! The beach was far too small and view was not that great either as lots of construction work going on, but then most of abu dhabi is under construction!
Gym was good but small and breakfast was far too basic and not enough variety. Great to have the abu dhabi mall right next door for convieniance.

But this hotel at this moment is not for families or friends as too much construction going on around the hotel. give a few years and who knows ??!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DxB
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed at this property for two nights in April 2009. Called hotel for directions as there was so much construction in Abu Dhabi at the time. It turned out that one of the bellboys was helping the concierge out and we ended up getting lost and wasting 45+ minutes. The guy was eager to help, but didn't know the city well.

Checked in, to find out upon entering the room that it was a smoking room! Went back downstairs, no non-somking room was available as the hotel was fully booked. After talking to a manager who tried to put the blame on anyone but the hotel, we were put in a different room. The room had one king bed! An extra bed was brought in, you could see the springs protruding, very old and quite disgusting. Wanted to talk to a supervisor, staff promised that he'd call us, never did. By the time we went to bed, it was close to 1 am.

Breakfast: ordered room service, quick but not-so-great breakfast, missing items here and there.

Fastforward two days: we waited forever to checkout, just stood there looking at three free staff members none of whom invited us to come over. Complained to a manager who apologized and promised to make it up to us in the 'future'.

We really liked the property, however, there're some serious issues with quality of service, consistency, and training of staff. Won't go back unless its free. There are better options in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed there for business at rotana beach suite and used the facilities. Excellent gym and fitness, a good meal at the Finz seafood restaurant built in wood, overlooking the sea. Good but pricey services at the business center. Very convenient shoping in adjacent Abu Dhabi mall.

As I was on a business trip, the surroundings did not matter so much. But I would agree that the construction, views and the walk from the suites through the shopping backyard does not make it a tourist attraction. I counted over 50 cranes from my windows (that's a sign of a booming economy). But still you can enjoy a swim in the pool and rest a few hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham, surrey, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

What the brochuresn do not tell you is that 100 yards off their so called 'beach' is a massive island being constructed 24 hours per day. This perfectly lovely hotel is now the nightmare holiday hotel from hell! The noise, dirt and view made for the most miserable holiday ever. The staff are fantastic and is not their fault but do not stay here if you want a beach holiday experience!

Business trips only!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd Street - Al Zahiyah | Connected to Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi 45200, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#30 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#33 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes away from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and 90 minutes from Dubai International Airport. Home to the prestigious Abu Dhabi Trade Centre complex, our Abu Dhabi Beach Hotel is directly linked by an exclusive passageway to the over one million square feet Abu Dhabi Mall - the capital's most renowned shopping mall, which houses international brands, a 6-screen Cineplex and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Beach Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.