We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is badly in need of renovation....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Is badly in need of renovation....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I was really dissappointed with this hotel. It really doesn't represents the name of Le Meridien...its dirty, smelly toilet, old furniture's, small rooms and bad service(seems staffs were not happy with their job)... paying like a five-star hotel rate is unacceptable... We've been to different hotels in Dubai but never I encountered a restaurant asking me to remove my hijab in order for us to sit there. I felt really sad that even we were in a Muslim country they we're putting such condition...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Aliyah d,

We appreciate you leaving a feedback following your stay with us. Our main aim at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi is to provide an excellent service and to make our guests feel like at home. I am deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our property may be deemed as aged, however we have guests who still admire the charm and the character of the hotel.
We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered at the restaurant but most probably this restaurant was a pub or a bar (NRG sports café, Captain’s Arms or Opus bar). Please be informed that access to bars, discotheques and pubs are forbidden for people wearing traditional GCC attire and hijab as per the local law. In the meantime, I hope that you give us the chance to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    184
    81
    28
    27
See reviews for
71
131
45
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel keeps its high and Professional service that make this hotel a great choice in Abu Dhabi.

Plus the excellent service provided by all its employees

The hotel has everything you could wish for Good quality and great location,in the very centre of the town, next to Abu Dhabi shopping mall.

And with some of the best staff that the Starwood family Worldwide has to offer !

Many thanks Le Méridien Abu Dhabi it's been pleasure to stay with you .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear 99Peter,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We appreciate your kind comments on the facilities and are happy that you found the location convenient. We are glad that you enjoyed the services and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending our home.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a very good hotel. There is an excellent Spa and wellness center and a park (Meridien Village) with restaurants and bars just next to the hotel but belonging to the same complex.

The room was nice and spacious, with a great bed, TV, Fully stocked minibar (at reasonable prices for a hotel minibar). Next time I would however spend the extra money and get a sea view room.

The bathroom was oke, but felt somewhat out dated.

You can still see that this was a high class luxury hotel when it was build, but we are just so spoiled now a days that this felt a little old.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed vacation especially if you can get a nice deal (less than €100,- p.n.)

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to read that you had a great time while staying with us. Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, those that have come to reside side by side with us, however our hotel has its own charm and tranquility enjoyed by many of our guests. You will be pleased to hear that improvement plans for the hotel are currently underway.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from 4 day break at le meridien. We are keen water skiers and chose the hotel because of it position on a calm inlet with a beach we were not disappointed. It's rare nowadays to find good waterskiing conditions with boat drivers that know what they are doing. Thanks fanny mikey and lucky we had such fun and enjoyed our skiing on calm water and for good prices. They were so friendly. The tennis courts are also very good and no charge if you bring your racquets.

The hotel is a little old but not being high rise and shiny adds to its character. The rooms have all you need. The atmosphere I the courtyard restaurant area is buzzing and the food especially in the themed buffet is fab. Seafood in abundance.

We got exactly what we wanted from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Beverley L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I am delighted that you found your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Indeed Eden spa and Health Club started to offer a wide selection of water sports activities including water skiing, knee boarding, wake boarding, tube riding, stand up paddle, kayak and boat ride. We are happy to read that you had a good time.
Be assured that your comments will be passed on to our associates. We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future at our hotel.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you heard about the huge rooms, overdone decorations, golden toilets etc. on UAE hotels (or you watched Sex and the City II which was actually filmed in Morocco) this is not the hotel you go to. But I have stayed with them for 26 years now.

Here you come for the atmosphere of a grand hotel that was one of the first first class international hotels to be built in the emirate. Intimate, classic and friendly staff. The Meridien Village garden is one of the more lively dining and bar areas in town. It is also one of the few city hotels with a beach, and has a classic spa. The village and garden can be quite crowded in weekends when the weather is not to hot.

Due to developent across the channel, this hotel was going to be demolished to build a new bridge, and so the rooms are getting a bit overdue for refurbishment. By rumour it has now been spared, as a "recent cultural heritage" so some upgrades have started first on LCD tvs and wireless.

Room Tip: There are a few city side rooms without balcony on the right side (low numbers) which is not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear haade,

Thank you very much! we are humbled by your kind comments and hope you grant us the liberty for thanking you “for being an ambassador for Le Méridien Abu Dhabi”.
We would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi to stay. Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. You will also be happy to hear that plans of refurbishment are under way to improve the offering.
We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Probably like a lot of readers, I wondered just how realistic the reviews were. It was pleasant to find find out on arrival they were pretty accurate. Sure, this is an older hotel but with a very warm friendly feel to it. The rooms are fine (non smoking floor) with modern bathrooms, very comfy beds, free wifi etc. There is a green courtyard off the lobby leading to the beach. This is surrounded mainly on one side by a 'village' of bars and restaurants. Books of vouchers are free giving 2 for 1 meals and drinks. Good value. Surprisingly quiet, no building sites yet, but looks like future development on each side. The Abu Dhabi Mall is 5 min walk away with an option of cheap eats on the top floor.A bit dusty at the extremes of the building and a coat of paint would help here and there. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear sudarshani p,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you found the room, the village and other facilities to your liking. Indeed the entertainment guide is offering coupons with interesting food and beverage discounts, we are happy to know that you have used them.
We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.


Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel - great amenities. The beach and pool areas were lovely and relaxing. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of choice and I recommend the fish and chips at the Captains Arms!! The room was clean, comfortable and ideally equipped, although the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. Room service was prompt too! The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I found the location great - within walking distance of Abu Dhabi mall and from there other sights to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea/garden area are very quiet and you get a good view from the balcony on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear SazdeP,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the facilities were to your liking. Furthermore it is great to hear that the location was convenient and the fish and chips at Captain’s Arms were to your satisfaction!

We shall pass on all your kind comments to our associates who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcome you in the not too distant future!
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#40 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#43 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#48 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.