We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel - great amenities. The beach and pool areas were lovely and relaxing. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of choice and I recommend the fish and chips at the Captains Arms!! The room was clean, comfortable and ideally equipped, although the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. Room service was prompt too! The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I found the location great - within walking distance of Abu Dhabi mall and from there other sights to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea/garden area are very quiet and you get a good view from the balcony on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear SazdeP,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the facilities were to your liking. Furthermore it is great to hear that the location was convenient and the fish and chips at Captain’s Arms were to your satisfaction!

We shall pass on all your kind comments to our associates who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcome you in the not too distant future!
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    177
    78
    27
    28
See reviews for
72
135
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Yes, granted, the hotel needs a makeover, and has a dated feel to it. However, hotels are not just about their looks, but mainly about service, food, location, amenities, staff attention, and in all these areas, Le Meridien excels: In our four nights stay, attention of staff at the buffet breakfast, at the reception counter, quality of food in all the outlets we tried was outstanding.

The internal gardens with the variety of restaurants and bars is an added bonus, you don't even need to leave the hotel in the evening if you want to try something different.

Add to this the beach which, in the centre of Ab Dhabi, and at the price, few hotels can match, and you have yourself a winner.
One wish: If Meridien could match what some other hotels are doing, and offer access to Yas Waterworld or Ferrari World at discounted prices, that would make the deal irresistible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Ziad N,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions of our hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to pen down your experiences at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
We are delighted to hear that our restaurants, food and rooms were to your liking as well as the hotel was conveniently located. We will pass on your kind comments to our associates who will be delighted to hear them.
Thank you for your suggestion regarding Yas Waterworld and Ferrari World access, we used to propose discounted prices to our guests during promotional time and will take on board your comments. We look forward to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is situated on a busy main road but inside the hotel the traffic can't be heard if you have a room overlooking the rear of the property. Rooms on the 5th floor have been refurbished and are clean and tidy, they also give access to a club lounge with complimentary soft drinks all day and alcoholic at night. Near the hotel is a mall with numerous restaurants, mcdonalds, kfc, baskin robbins etc aand opposite there is a TGI Fridays and Pizza hut so a good choice of places to eat. The pool area is lovely, with two seperate pools, the smaller is quieter so nice for relaxing. A taxi from the airport costs around 80 AED so save by not booking transfers. Breakfast has a good selection with crepes and omlettes freshly made.
There is a very well appointed and air conditioned gym as well as a spa with thermal suite which is included if you have a club room, also included is towel hire.
A very relaxing break for the money, this hotel is absolutely fine as long as you get it for significantly cheaper than a comparable hotel in Abu Dhabi

Room Tip: It is well worth paying the upgrade for the club room, garden view is also worth the money as the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kwanolds,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions of our hotel. I am happy that you had a good time at our facilities and restaurants. It is our responsibility to make our guests feel at home in our hotel. Please be sure that your good words will be shared with our associates.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has a very nice outdoors area around the pool and beach. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the dining experience or bar - we may have done so, however there were people smoking in the lounge area near the bar and restaurant and the smoke was conspicuos, so we went elsewhere.

The rooms are pleasant but need a little maintenance and care, i.e. marks on walls, chips on furniture, etc. Water pressure in the shower was very low - don't know if that is a hotel issue or an Abu Dhabi problem.

Service was fine from the staff, no complaints there.

Our gripes are only minor but didn't inspire us to stay there again. there seems to be a good choice of hotels in AD and the three times we've stayed there none of the hotels seemed to be very busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AandLabroad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and also for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, those that have come to reside side by side with us, however our hotel has its own charm and tranquility enjoyed by many of our guests. On another note, thank you for pointing out about the smoke, please be informed that we follow a strict non-smoking policy in designated non smoking areas as per the local law regulations. Be sure your remarks have been shared with our associates.
We hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have followed the reviews of this hotel and arrived with mixed feelings. Unfounded as it turns out as we are more than satisfied with the accommodation, location and especially the high level of the customer service we are receiving.
Yes, in comparison to the newer buildings surrounding the hotel would benefit from a refurbishment, in saying this though our room is clean, spacious, has a view and quiet - no complaints from us in this regard, we stayed in far worse in the UK (yet to do those reviews but when we do we will not be holding back).
The selection for breakfast dining is excellent, spoilt for choice and fresh, after 6 weeks of disgraceful breakfast options for us to choose from this Is bliss, feel like we are getting our taste buds back.
The pool area is a relaxing place to spend the hours and exactly what we need for the 13 hour flight ahead of us.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade if offered, worth it. Give time to relaxing by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lee2363,

My colleagues and I would like to thank you for your kind review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
I’m happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant. Be assured that your positive feedback about the breakfast at La Brasserie will be forwarded to the Chefs. You will also be happy to hear that plans of refurbishment are under way to improve the offering.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Yours Sincerely,

Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Currently staying at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi. This may not be Etihad Towers but nor does it profess to be.
Yes it's a tad old and could do with a bit of makeover in places but we are having a great time. The pool is fab, great stretch of beach, fantastic gym.
Paid to upgrade to exec lounge, service in here is great and so worth it.
For the price paid, we have no complaints.
Give this oldie a try, you won't go far wrong

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Marlivous,

My colleagues and I would like to thank you for your kind review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
I’m happy to learn that the we are meeting your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant.
Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. As you are currently staying at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past 10 years and have come to realise that it's glory days are long behind it. It is ideally placed in the fast growing city of Abu Dhabi being by the sea (although it's more an inlet surrounded by huge developments now) , close to a large Mall and near the Corniche. But that is the only reason I would return. The hotel itself is old, tired and need of a major renovation.

Here's a list of good and bad;

Good
- the setting in the courtyard area to one side of the hotel is very nice
- good range of restaurants and bars but avoid the one that is actually in the hotel which is drab and dingy
- nice pool area
- great Thai restaurant outside.
- good sports bar outside.
- some pleasant staff. P

Bad
- the rooms are second rate for a hotel charging the rates it does. Compared to nearly any other 4-5 star hotel I have used in Abu Dhabi, this is the worst by far. This is my major gripe. Small, dingy with a bathroom from the dark ages!
- the hotel has a strange smell to it and my room stank of cigarettes even though it was non smoking.
- the gym is not large enough or well equipped enough
- some totally unmotivated staff.

The problem with this hotel is that it has been left behind. Abu Dhabi now boasts some of the best hotels in the world and unfortunately Le Meridien has not repos dead to the emergence of some very serious competition.

My comments are made as a business traveller. For the recreational visitor the hotel may be ok, especially as it does have some nice restaurants in the courtyard area outside.

Room Tip: Try and get a club upgrade and stay on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Peter H,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to pen down your experiences. I am delighted to hear that you have visited us a number of times over the past 10 years and we thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.

As you mentioned our property is one of the oldest in Abu Dhabi and compared to newer establishments in the city it may be deemed as aged. However, many guests still admire the charm and the character of this property. You will be happy to hear that plans are under way to improve the offering. We would like to welcome you again to our establishment in the not too distant future. Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#42 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#43 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#48 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.