We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Canberra
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has a very nice outdoors area around the pool and beach. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the dining experience or bar - we may have done so, however there were people smoking in the lounge area near the bar and restaurant and the smoke was conspicuos, so we went elsewhere.

The rooms are pleasant but need a little maintenance and care, i.e. marks on walls, chips on furniture, etc. Water pressure in the shower was very low - don't know if that is a hotel issue or an Abu Dhabi problem.

Service was fine from the staff, no complaints there.

Our gripes are only minor but didn't inspire us to stay there again. there seems to be a good choice of hotels in AD and the three times we've stayed there none of the hotels seemed to be very busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AandLabroad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and also for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, those that have come to reside side by side with us, however our hotel has its own charm and tranquility enjoyed by many of our guests. On another note, thank you for pointing out about the smoke, please be informed that we follow a strict non-smoking policy in designated non smoking areas as per the local law regulations. Be sure your remarks have been shared with our associates.
We hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    203
    90
    29
    32
See reviews for
84
156
46
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have followed the reviews of this hotel and arrived with mixed feelings. Unfounded as it turns out as we are more than satisfied with the accommodation, location and especially the high level of the customer service we are receiving.
Yes, in comparison to the newer buildings surrounding the hotel would benefit from a refurbishment, in saying this though our room is clean, spacious, has a view and quiet - no complaints from us in this regard, we stayed in far worse in the UK (yet to do those reviews but when we do we will not be holding back).
The selection for breakfast dining is excellent, spoilt for choice and fresh, after 6 weeks of disgraceful breakfast options for us to choose from this Is bliss, feel like we are getting our taste buds back.
The pool area is a relaxing place to spend the hours and exactly what we need for the 13 hour flight ahead of us.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade if offered, worth it. Give time to relaxing by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lee2363,

My colleagues and I would like to thank you for your kind review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
I’m happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant. Be assured that your positive feedback about the breakfast at La Brasserie will be forwarded to the Chefs. You will also be happy to hear that plans of refurbishment are under way to improve the offering.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Yours Sincerely,

Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Currently staying at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi. This may not be Etihad Towers but nor does it profess to be.
Yes it's a tad old and could do with a bit of makeover in places but we are having a great time. The pool is fab, great stretch of beach, fantastic gym.
Paid to upgrade to exec lounge, service in here is great and so worth it.
For the price paid, we have no complaints.
Give this oldie a try, you won't go far wrong

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Marlivous,

My colleagues and I would like to thank you for your kind review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
I’m happy to learn that the we are meeting your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant.
Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. As you are currently staying at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past 10 years and have come to realise that it's glory days are long behind it. It is ideally placed in the fast growing city of Abu Dhabi being by the sea (although it's more an inlet surrounded by huge developments now) , close to a large Mall and near the Corniche. But that is the only reason I would return. The hotel itself is old, tired and need of a major renovation.

Here's a list of good and bad;

Good
- the setting in the courtyard area to one side of the hotel is very nice
- good range of restaurants and bars but avoid the one that is actually in the hotel which is drab and dingy
- nice pool area
- great Thai restaurant outside.
- good sports bar outside.
- some pleasant staff. P

Bad
- the rooms are second rate for a hotel charging the rates it does. Compared to nearly any other 4-5 star hotel I have used in Abu Dhabi, this is the worst by far. This is my major gripe. Small, dingy with a bathroom from the dark ages!
- the hotel has a strange smell to it and my room stank of cigarettes even though it was non smoking.
- the gym is not large enough or well equipped enough
- some totally unmotivated staff.

The problem with this hotel is that it has been left behind. Abu Dhabi now boasts some of the best hotels in the world and unfortunately Le Meridien has not repos dead to the emergence of some very serious competition.

My comments are made as a business traveller. For the recreational visitor the hotel may be ok, especially as it does have some nice restaurants in the courtyard area outside.

Room Tip: Try and get a club upgrade and stay on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Peter H,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to pen down your experiences. I am delighted to hear that you have visited us a number of times over the past 10 years and we thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.

As you mentioned our property is one of the oldest in Abu Dhabi and compared to newer establishments in the city it may be deemed as aged. However, many guests still admire the charm and the character of this property. You will be happy to hear that plans are under way to improve the offering. We would like to welcome you again to our establishment in the not too distant future. Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this Meridien last year too and boy is it slipping and slipping
The place is run down, I couldn't believe to see how worn out the rooms are the phones are circa 1994 and the general air is of wear and tear. The only redeeming feature are the restaurants in its backyard that make dining an enjoyable experience.
All in all though not a 4 star hotel as it claims to be but 3 star-

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear GenHan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and also for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi was first opened to the public in 1979 and has been witness to the rise of the country as a whole. Our hotel is not new, but we keep it well-maintained and we try to make our guests feel at home. We believe it’s a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and it offers various attractions to our guests.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at le meridien, the hotel is old and shoddy, staff try to keep smiling! Sorry would you like another room is another phrase constantly used.. We were given a double room when we booked a triple room. We were told we would get extra bed! Ok waited 2 hours only to be moved to another room, which smelled old and mouldy... Next was a smoking room(requested non smoking).. Finally one big enough but still only two beds. After 40 min waiting, called to say bed still not here. Ok be there soon.? Walked into bath room only to find it damaged, taps hanging out of the wall. Went down to complain, yeah ok will move you, was the reply. If that was it I would say ok just bad night but no finally by 1:20 am get to go to sleep .. We arrived at just after 9 pm! Slept until 10.30 am when we were woken by knocking on door by house keeping. Then try to get ready for the day only to find two towels and two glasses etc.! Inform them and get towels. They fix bath taps etc good. Try for rest of day to make our stay better.. One good thing is the proximity to Abu Dhabi mall. Day two wake up with blistery bumps on hand arms and face and feet (dust mites) get antihistamines and cortisone cream.. Want to make coffee, kettle doesn't work move it to another plug.. Phone in room is constantly beeping. Ready to explode. Tell them of mites and kettle problem. Would you like another room? No I don't I just want what a name stands for and what I pay for a triple room at a so called four star hotel! What we got was not even three stars, the hotel is too old everything is a patch job, everything is crooked from lampshades to power outlets. Glad air con. Works, however, I will not be recommending this hotel. The staff for the most part try but don't care especially if you are a woman.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear sabtis99,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with regards to your stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We regret that you found the hotel not to your liking.
We have provided our care and services to many discerning guests for the past 35 years. Our hotel may appear dated compared to newer properties those have come into existence in this dynamic city. Normally we endeavor to provide exceptional guest care and would like to mention the difficulties experienced are not a normal reflection of our usual high standard of customer service. However, please know that the issues you have raised have been addressed and appropriate actions have been taken, so I thank you again for your feedback.

I hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Like most of the hotels that I have been in Abu Dhabi this one has it all - big rooms, huge soft comfy bed, perfect service, complimentary water, coffee and tea in the room, polite friendly staff. They also have this big veranda at the restaurant where you can enjoy your rich breakfast. Lovely pool area with lots of green grass and quiet sandy beach.
What I like most about Le Meridien though is the big garden with all the bars, which is very suitable for families with children. There you can enjoy your dinner and have your pint while having your kids with you.
There is one thing only that I don't really like very much - every time we go there we get a roof view. But then this is probably what we pay for..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Diana G,

It was a pleasure to read your review.
Thanks for your comments about the ambiance of our hotel; we very much believe that Le Méridien Village is indeed a lovely place to spend a good time with friends and family.
I am also very happy to learn that my colleagues were able to provide you with the service level that you expected.
The views are indeed different from one room to another, I suggest you try and contact me directly when planning your next visit and we hope to be able to assist, availability permitting.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#43 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#50 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.