We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired and in need of renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very tired and in need of renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past 10 years and have come to realise that it's glory days are long behind it. It is ideally placed in the fast growing city of Abu Dhabi being by the sea (although it's more an inlet surrounded by huge developments now) , close to a large Mall and near the Corniche. But that is the only reason I would return. The hotel itself is old, tired and need of a major renovation.

Here's a list of good and bad;

Good
- the setting in the courtyard area to one side of the hotel is very nice
- good range of restaurants and bars but avoid the one that is actually in the hotel which is drab and dingy
- nice pool area
- great Thai restaurant outside.
- good sports bar outside.
- some pleasant staff. P

Bad
- the rooms are second rate for a hotel charging the rates it does. Compared to nearly any other 4-5 star hotel I have used in Abu Dhabi, this is the worst by far. This is my major gripe. Small, dingy with a bathroom from the dark ages!
- the hotel has a strange smell to it and my room stank of cigarettes even though it was non smoking.
- the gym is not large enough or well equipped enough
- some totally unmotivated staff.

The problem with this hotel is that it has been left behind. Abu Dhabi now boasts some of the best hotels in the world and unfortunately Le Meridien has not repos dead to the emergence of some very serious competition.

My comments are made as a business traveller. For the recreational visitor the hotel may be ok, especially as it does have some nice restaurants in the courtyard area outside.

Room Tip: Try and get a club upgrade and stay on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Peter H,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to pen down your experiences. I am delighted to hear that you have visited us a number of times over the past 10 years and we thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.

As you mentioned our property is one of the oldest in Abu Dhabi and compared to newer establishments in the city it may be deemed as aged. However, many guests still admire the charm and the character of this property. You will be happy to hear that plans are under way to improve the offering. We would like to welcome you again to our establishment in the not too distant future. Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    216
    96
    31
    33
See reviews for
91
167
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this Meridien last year too and boy is it slipping and slipping
The place is run down, I couldn't believe to see how worn out the rooms are the phones are circa 1994 and the general air is of wear and tear. The only redeeming feature are the restaurants in its backyard that make dining an enjoyable experience.
All in all though not a 4 star hotel as it claims to be but 3 star-

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear GenHan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and also for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi was first opened to the public in 1979 and has been witness to the rise of the country as a whole. Our hotel is not new, but we keep it well-maintained and we try to make our guests feel at home. We believe it’s a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and it offers various attractions to our guests.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at le meridien, the hotel is old and shoddy, staff try to keep smiling! Sorry would you like another room is another phrase constantly used.. We were given a double room when we booked a triple room. We were told we would get extra bed! Ok waited 2 hours only to be moved to another room, which smelled old and mouldy... Next was a smoking room(requested non smoking).. Finally one big enough but still only two beds. After 40 min waiting, called to say bed still not here. Ok be there soon.? Walked into bath room only to find it damaged, taps hanging out of the wall. Went down to complain, yeah ok will move you, was the reply. If that was it I would say ok just bad night but no finally by 1:20 am get to go to sleep .. We arrived at just after 9 pm! Slept until 10.30 am when we were woken by knocking on door by house keeping. Then try to get ready for the day only to find two towels and two glasses etc.! Inform them and get towels. They fix bath taps etc good. Try for rest of day to make our stay better.. One good thing is the proximity to Abu Dhabi mall. Day two wake up with blistery bumps on hand arms and face and feet (dust mites) get antihistamines and cortisone cream.. Want to make coffee, kettle doesn't work move it to another plug.. Phone in room is constantly beeping. Ready to explode. Tell them of mites and kettle problem. Would you like another room? No I don't I just want what a name stands for and what I pay for a triple room at a so called four star hotel! What we got was not even three stars, the hotel is too old everything is a patch job, everything is crooked from lampshades to power outlets. Glad air con. Works, however, I will not be recommending this hotel. The staff for the most part try but don't care especially if you are a woman.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear sabtis99,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with regards to your stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We regret that you found the hotel not to your liking.
We have provided our care and services to many discerning guests for the past 35 years. Our hotel may appear dated compared to newer properties those have come into existence in this dynamic city. Normally we endeavor to provide exceptional guest care and would like to mention the difficulties experienced are not a normal reflection of our usual high standard of customer service. However, please know that the issues you have raised have been addressed and appropriate actions have been taken, so I thank you again for your feedback.

I hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Like most of the hotels that I have been in Abu Dhabi this one has it all - big rooms, huge soft comfy bed, perfect service, complimentary water, coffee and tea in the room, polite friendly staff. They also have this big veranda at the restaurant where you can enjoy your rich breakfast. Lovely pool area with lots of green grass and quiet sandy beach.
What I like most about Le Meridien though is the big garden with all the bars, which is very suitable for families with children. There you can enjoy your dinner and have your pint while having your kids with you.
There is one thing only that I don't really like very much - every time we go there we get a roof view. But then this is probably what we pay for..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Diana G,

It was a pleasure to read your review.
Thanks for your comments about the ambiance of our hotel; we very much believe that Le Méridien Village is indeed a lovely place to spend a good time with friends and family.
I am also very happy to learn that my colleagues were able to provide you with the service level that you expected.
The views are indeed different from one room to another, I suggest you try and contact me directly when planning your next visit and we hope to be able to assist, availability permitting.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its as simple as that. You make a reservation that is never met by the hotel. You ask for 2 connecting rooms and smoking rooms. You end up waiting 2 hours until they clean the rooms and when you think its finally done. It turns out that they gave you 2 rooms way too far from each other, and one of them is non-smoking rooms. Gotta call bull on that certificate. After moving you three times you end up with something you didnt ask for. Its really bad. However, im here to relax.

Room Tip: Get a club room with sea view, or don't bother with this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Nad H,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with regards to your stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulties you encountered prior to check. This is not usual happening generally in our hotel where our guests’ well-being is our priority. Please be assured that all your remarks are taken into consideration and communicated to the concerned department.
Sincerely look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South U.K.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Probably like a lot of readers, I wondered just how realistic the reviews were. It was pleasant to find find out on arrival they were pretty accurate. Sure, this is an older hotel but with a very warm friendly feel to it. The rooms are fine (non smoking floor) with modern bathrooms, very comfy beds, free wifi etc. There is a green courtyard off the lobby leading to the beach. This is surrounded mainly on one side by a 'village' of bars and restaurants. Books of vouchers are free giving 2 for 1 meals and drinks. Good value. Surprisingly quiet, no building sites yet, but looks like future development on each side. The Abu Dhabi Mall is 5 min walk away with an option of cheap eats on the top floor.A bit dusty at the extremes of the building and a coat of paint would help here and there. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Phuqnose,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. Thank you very much for your review. It fills our hearts with joy to read that our guests feel relaxed in our hotel. I’m glad that you liked the beach, the facilities and the room. I am happy to learn that you have used the “2 for 1” vouchers in Le Méridien Entertainment Guide, they are indeed a good value for money. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Had a club room which was dark and musty. Bed was comfy though. The Club lounge is nothing special. Breakfast buffet was average and service a little spotty. What I saw of the pool was not particularly inviting - one end was cordoned off with hazard tape! Glad I was not paying - there are far superior hotels in AD now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear b19jfm,

Thank You for taking your time to post your thoughts. We strive hard to provide our guests a comfortable and memorable stay. We regret to learn you did not have the experience you were expecting at our hotel.
Le Méridien Abu Dhabi has been in existence for the past 33 years, providing proficient customer care to discerning guests, who also have enjoyed its allure and indulged on same even though there have been newer taller structures that came into co existence in this magnificent city. We sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity to delight you on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#27 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#40 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#41 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#52 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.