We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shadow of its former self” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A shadow of its former self”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this Meridien last year too and boy is it slipping and slipping
The place is run down, I couldn't believe to see how worn out the rooms are the phones are circa 1994 and the general air is of wear and tear. The only redeeming feature are the restaurants in its backyard that make dining an enjoyable experience.
All in all though not a 4 star hotel as it claims to be but 3 star-

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear GenHan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and also for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi was first opened to the public in 1979 and has been witness to the rise of the country as a whole. Our hotel is not new, but we keep it well-maintained and we try to make our guests feel at home. We believe it’s a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and it offers various attractions to our guests.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    177
    78
    27
    28
See reviews for
72
135
45
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at le meridien, the hotel is old and shoddy, staff try to keep smiling! Sorry would you like another room is another phrase constantly used.. We were given a double room when we booked a triple room. We were told we would get extra bed! Ok waited 2 hours only to be moved to another room, which smelled old and mouldy... Next was a smoking room(requested non smoking).. Finally one big enough but still only two beds. After 40 min waiting, called to say bed still not here. Ok be there soon.? Walked into bath room only to find it damaged, taps hanging out of the wall. Went down to complain, yeah ok will move you, was the reply. If that was it I would say ok just bad night but no finally by 1:20 am get to go to sleep .. We arrived at just after 9 pm! Slept until 10.30 am when we were woken by knocking on door by house keeping. Then try to get ready for the day only to find two towels and two glasses etc.! Inform them and get towels. They fix bath taps etc good. Try for rest of day to make our stay better.. One good thing is the proximity to Abu Dhabi mall. Day two wake up with blistery bumps on hand arms and face and feet (dust mites) get antihistamines and cortisone cream.. Want to make coffee, kettle doesn't work move it to another plug.. Phone in room is constantly beeping. Ready to explode. Tell them of mites and kettle problem. Would you like another room? No I don't I just want what a name stands for and what I pay for a triple room at a so called four star hotel! What we got was not even three stars, the hotel is too old everything is a patch job, everything is crooked from lampshades to power outlets. Glad air con. Works, however, I will not be recommending this hotel. The staff for the most part try but don't care especially if you are a woman.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear sabtis99,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with regards to your stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We regret that you found the hotel not to your liking.
We have provided our care and services to many discerning guests for the past 35 years. Our hotel may appear dated compared to newer properties those have come into existence in this dynamic city. Normally we endeavor to provide exceptional guest care and would like to mention the difficulties experienced are not a normal reflection of our usual high standard of customer service. However, please know that the issues you have raised have been addressed and appropriate actions have been taken, so I thank you again for your feedback.

I hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Like most of the hotels that I have been in Abu Dhabi this one has it all - big rooms, huge soft comfy bed, perfect service, complimentary water, coffee and tea in the room, polite friendly staff. They also have this big veranda at the restaurant where you can enjoy your rich breakfast. Lovely pool area with lots of green grass and quiet sandy beach.
What I like most about Le Meridien though is the big garden with all the bars, which is very suitable for families with children. There you can enjoy your dinner and have your pint while having your kids with you.
There is one thing only that I don't really like very much - every time we go there we get a roof view. But then this is probably what we pay for..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Diana G,

It was a pleasure to read your review.
Thanks for your comments about the ambiance of our hotel; we very much believe that Le Méridien Village is indeed a lovely place to spend a good time with friends and family.
I am also very happy to learn that my colleagues were able to provide you with the service level that you expected.
The views are indeed different from one room to another, I suggest you try and contact me directly when planning your next visit and we hope to be able to assist, availability permitting.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its as simple as that. You make a reservation that is never met by the hotel. You ask for 2 connecting rooms and smoking rooms. You end up waiting 2 hours until they clean the rooms and when you think its finally done. It turns out that they gave you 2 rooms way too far from each other, and one of them is non-smoking rooms. Gotta call bull on that certificate. After moving you three times you end up with something you didnt ask for. Its really bad. However, im here to relax.

Room Tip: Get a club room with sea view, or don't bother with this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Nad H,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with regards to your stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulties you encountered prior to check. This is not usual happening generally in our hotel where our guests’ well-being is our priority. Please be assured that all your remarks are taken into consideration and communicated to the concerned department.
Sincerely look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South U.K.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Probably like a lot of readers, I wondered just how realistic the reviews were. It was pleasant to find find out on arrival they were pretty accurate. Sure, this is an older hotel but with a very warm friendly feel to it. The rooms are fine (non smoking floor) with modern bathrooms, very comfy beds, free wifi etc. There is a green courtyard off the lobby leading to the beach. This is surrounded mainly on one side by a 'village' of bars and restaurants. Books of vouchers are free giving 2 for 1 meals and drinks. Good value. Surprisingly quiet, no building sites yet, but looks like future development on each side. The Abu Dhabi Mall is 5 min walk away with an option of cheap eats on the top floor.A bit dusty at the extremes of the building and a coat of paint would help here and there. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Phuqnose,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. Thank you very much for your review. It fills our hearts with joy to read that our guests feel relaxed in our hotel. I’m glad that you liked the beach, the facilities and the room. I am happy to learn that you have used the “2 for 1” vouchers in Le Méridien Entertainment Guide, they are indeed a good value for money. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Had a club room which was dark and musty. Bed was comfy though. The Club lounge is nothing special. Breakfast buffet was average and service a little spotty. What I saw of the pool was not particularly inviting - one end was cordoned off with hazard tape! Glad I was not paying - there are far superior hotels in AD now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear b19jfm,

Thank You for taking your time to post your thoughts. We strive hard to provide our guests a comfortable and memorable stay. We regret to learn you did not have the experience you were expecting at our hotel.
Le Méridien Abu Dhabi has been in existence for the past 33 years, providing proficient customer care to discerning guests, who also have enjoyed its allure and indulged on same even though there have been newer taller structures that came into co existence in this magnificent city. We sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity to delight you on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was in the PJ last week and had a great time with my friends. They have different types of beers, live music and friendly staffs. Unfortunately, I had a little incident where I lost one of my valuable earring and i was pessimistic that i am gonna find it. However, the assistant bar manager, Mahesh helped me out to look for it along with some other people. I was impressed with all their initiative and the willingness to help their guests. At the end, not long after I left the bar, I got a call that they found my earring. I was happy cos it is still in a good condition and finally I went home with a smile. Thanks to all the bar staffs. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear ib_siska2005,

Thank you very much for you review on Tripadvisor.
P.J.O'Reilly's is an Irish pub in Le Royal Méridien. It’s indeed a nice pub with good food and great atmosphere.
We shall pass on your kind words to Le Royal Méridien colleagues who will be delighted to hear them.
I also invite you to leave your valuable feedback in their tripadvisor page.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#43 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#48 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.