We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but as old as my Great gandma.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel but as old as my Great gandma.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and I spent the weekend in Abu Dhabi and stayed in this hotel.I booked this through my SPG points. The location of the hotel is perfect, just right within the city. When we arrived, there was no one by the entrance to welcome us or help us with our small luggage. It was a small bag so we didn't mind. The check in was a breeze and the receptionist, Ricardo, was very helpful. He upgraded our club room to a junior suite. He even provided us with late check-out for the next day. All of the staff members that we have had encountered are very helpful, always have a smile and are knowledgeable about the places to see in Abu Dhabi. We loved the breakfast buffet. They have a wide variety of food choices available. There are several restaurants within the hotel grounds which is like the Irish Village in Dubai.

We spent our afternoon at the spa. The massage was great and the jacuzzi is amazing. Outside, there were two swimming pools and sun beds. In fact, there's a wee bit too much of the sun beds around that there's only a little space to walk around. On the side of the pool was a big bird cage and a lawn area. They have a private beach overlooking the huge buildings. While I lounged by the beach, I had this thought that I am on a holiday but these buildings are reminding me to get back to work! haha!

Our room was a bit dark. I do understand the idea of blackout curtains but the furniture, the carpet and the dim lighting just made the whole room darker. The bathroom is clean but doesn't have a spray washer. There's a bidet but doesn't work properly for cleansing. We didn't bother to ask the hotel about it, besides it's so two thousand and late!

Generally, the hotel staff and the food are superb. The management should do something about the rooms and the hotel itself. Maybe some re-painting will do as renovation could be a major thing.

But we'll be definitely go back and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear mjpinlac,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write down a thoughtful review on Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and had a pleasant experience with the array of outlets at our centre garden. We always aim to deliver the best service to all our guests and we are delighted you were able to savour a delightful experience with our facilities.

However, we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that may have occurred on your arrival. Moreover, as we are established since 1978 our room decors may appear dated compared to our competitors. However we keep on maintaining it regularly. We believe it’s a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and it offers various attractions to our guests.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    184
    81
    28
    27
See reviews for
71
131
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otsu, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at hotel 2 nights for business travel; however, it was my great mistake.
I should have stayed to enjoy the city resort.
It takes appx.30 min. from airport by taxi with 65 ABD.
The hotel is located at the center of city, and nearside of the sea and shopping mall.
Stylish well-furnished room and professional staff are satisfied level, It has beautiful inner garden, restraints, private beach, swimming pool are all available. It is recommended to enjoy the variety of breakfast menu. Also Internet access in the private room and lobby is so fast. In general, the price is not so economical; however, the hotel may make you satisfied to suit the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear risataku,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments on your recent stay with Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
We are delighted to know that our facilities, location and service met with your expectations.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Sincerely,


Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

... we wouldn't go back as things are.

The good points are the location, the staff, the food (especially the breakfast setup), the Club room, the pool/beach area, the village of other restaurants within the grounds ... actually they were better than good - they were almost excellent

The less than good aspect was the room (we had a suite) which although large was very dark and the bathroom was right out of the 1970's and not what we expected.

That said ... the not so good points were reflected in the price which was not expensive for this part of the world .... i'd say this was a 3* hotel with 5* staff and food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear portisheadblue,

Thank you for taking the time to pen down your thoughts on your recent stay with us.
Le Méridien Abu Dhabi was indeed one of the first hotels built in town, however we keep on maintaining it. We believe it’s a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and it offers various attractions to our guests.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service our associates offered, and the array of outlets, pool/beach area and restaurants.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brackley UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a chance to stay for the first time recently, there are many more modern and grander hotels these days in the emirates but this hotel has plenty of old charm. Reception shows its age and some decor is questionable but you just to have to see the car park in the evening and how packed the many choices of restaurants are with locals enjoying themselves to realise that it still appeals. Food was good, room was clean and comfy and bathroom well stocked. exec lounge could do with an upgrade bit other than that it's well located for the mall ( be careful with walking back and forth!) and the choice of evening entertainment are very good. You can spend a lot more and get more but this was a good middle ground.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Triyanya,

Thank you very much for sharing your views and kind comments with regards to your stay at our hotel.
We are delighted that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed using our facilities.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you soon to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed recently, there is a lot of work going on around the hotel. The hotel itself is in a good loaction and nearby to Abu Dhabi Mall with its western eateries like KFC and McDonalds.

The rooms however need to revamped as today's traveller expects power showers and separate showers especially when booking club rooms !!! The rooms are tired and this is the real only let down for the hotel. Cleaning could also be better in the rooms as the mirrors were filthy and my wife wanted to clean them herself.

I have to say the downstairs of the hotel from the lobby area to the cafe was really nice along with the external grounds. We had breakfast and this was adequate and they had pork bacon along with fresh water melon juice a favourite of my wife's.

The local eateries around the courtyard were excellent from the Italian to the Thai.

The pool area is good along with the man made beach. The construction going on is the only down side. The health spa is adequate and very rarely used by others

The wi-fi could be extended to cover all the hotel and not just in lobby and room.Our room had a nice view.

Overall you get what you pay for. I would stay next door at The Beach Rotana next time as this is perhaps the most tired Meridien we have stayed in and sadly needs knocking down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear david2568,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi was first opened to the public in 1979 and has existed hosting many discerning guests and dignitaries. Our forte is our service, and we go all out to ensure our guests feel at home. Our Le Meridien Village is the most desired place in town for al fresco dining as you have witnessed. We are currently at the stage of planning a major improvement project for Le Meridien Abu Dhabi and are hopeful this may accentuate your wishes.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

As other revues says, the hotel is quite old and it shows. But what is lacking in standars is well compensated with friendlyness and hospitality. Also location close to the mall and the little private beach and swimminpool area is much appreciated. The breakfast is also very nice.
A room upgrade to royal club is not too expensive, and gets you nice benefits such as a loung with drinks and a little food for free. The staff at the loung is also very helpfull and serviceminded.
There are of course hotels with better room standard in the area, but if that is not so important for you, you will not regret staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Consider Royal Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sigrid-TH,

We would like to thank you for your kind review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
We are happy to learn that our service met with your expectations and that the facilities made your stay a pleasant one. Be assured that your positive feedback about the breakfast at La Brasserie will be forwarded to the team in there who will be delighted to see them.
We look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

You Mai be a little disappointed by the facade, and the road works in front of the hotel (no noise, whatsoever). Bur when you get inside you find a lovely traditional style hotel, with lots of charm and charisma. OK, the decor is a bit outdated, but in perfect conditions, everything works well. The staff is fantastic, they will make you feel a VIP, and we had the best breakfast of our entire trip for 2 days at the Brasserie. The wifi service works very well, and the piazza, where the various good restaurants are located,is lively and comfortable. I wish that I could have stayed a few nights longer.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Abusado,

Thank you kindly! We accept your comments with humility!
We are delighted that our facilities and services met with your expectations and our associates made your stay comfortable and pleasant.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: 2nd st, Al meena | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#40 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#48 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.