We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalifa Street, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SeaViewRooms from AED525!
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Cuneo, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been renovated to give it the New Meridien look.
It is modern, confortable, friendly staff, great food, a big outside pool.
Club lounge is really nice, and evening appetizers are amazing.
As a Starwood loyal guest I got upgraded to a nice suite...receiving a lot of amenities. I recommend this hotel to business and leisure travellers it is located in the middle of everything you wanna see in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great feedback and glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are excited to hear a lot of encouraging feedback on the renovated areas unveiled recently from our valuable guests like yourself. We will launch three more restaurants to finish the project within the next few months.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    168
    61
    18
    7
See reviews for
46
112
49
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of January. The weather was a lovely 23 degrees. As I arrived the reception staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. There was a violinist playing in the lobby too which gave the atmosphere a brilliant relaxing and luxurious feel. This feeling carried on when I entered my room. A double room on the 7th floor. The room was a smoking room but as I arrived it never smelt of smoke. The AC was working perfectly throughout my stay, the mini bar fridge in the room was well stocked but pricey. The bed was comfy and there were enough sockets to charge my mobiles and laptop. The bathroom was brilliant. A robe, slippers and a range of creams, shower gels and soaps were complimentary... Well, I hope they were, as I took them with me when I left. The shower was fixed to the ceiling and poured down powerfully like hot steamy torrential rain, it was lovely. I didn't use all the services that the hotel provide but from what I did see, I was impressed. The gym looked professional, the main restaurant appeared to be beautiful, the nightclub was always busy and the swimming pools were used all day and night. PJ's pub (which is attached to the hotel) was brilliant though. Their food was delicious and the atmosphere is great! The house band (Sweet Chilli Jam) are fantastic! The lead singer is excellent as well as the beautiful female co-singer. The drummer is mad as hell and the lead guitarist was EPIC! On rock night he stole the show along with his band mates. Even the bassist stood out. I would pay to see this band. It all closes at 2am which is perfect and the beer tasted lovely. The hotel is in a great location (with KFC, McDonalds and plenty other shops and restaurants to choose from within 5 mins walk away). overall the whole experience was wanting me to stay longer. I'm a bit gutted a had to go home.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for this detailed feedback and appreciate the effort taken. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience during the recent stay with us. No worries about the bath room amenities, they were kept for your personal use any way.
We will definitely pass on the compliments to our reception team, Violinist and Sweet Chilli Jam team and am sure this will encourage them to do more.

Awaiting your next arrival soon for a renewed experience.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The one sentence just about sums it up. Double-check prior to booking, as I believe some of the floors and restaurants are still being completed. But the ones that have been upgraded are fantastic.

Restaurant was good, make sure you sign up for Starwood rewards so you can get 30% off your meal.

Spa was small and basic, but I got a fantastic massage after a long day of sight seeing. Prices were great, and they even let me use points for my massage.

Great experience, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your inspiring feedback and we are delighted to learn that you had a great experience.
As you have seen the exciting transformation, we only have three more restaurants coming up and the work on the those doesn't affect the guest room floors any more. We are doing every thing we can to avoid any disturbance to our guests. The new outlets will be coming live in a few months time and we promise a lot more for you to explore.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed one night and as there weren't any sea view rooms available we paid 200 Dhs extra to be upgraded to a Club Room- very disappointed with the room as it is very dated compared to the rest of the hotel (in a tower on its own) and nothing like the pictures shown- it felt more like a downgrade- for that price we could have got a much better room in the city with lots of new hotels opened up. Cigarette burns and stains on the carpet, low ceiling and really nothing special about the room- the view was nice but thats about it. Stuffy and poor ventilation, noisy surroundings (the walls are paper thin)- we could hear our neighbors in the next room, the music from the bar and some kind of piling work too (the hotel is undergoing lots of works). There was only one bathrobe in the room and quality of amenities not amazing. The shower isn't powerful (assuming the plumbing is dated too). We weren't impressed with the 4 tiny (and I mean tiny) pieces of leftover cake bites that is supposed to be your complimentary sweet treat. Room service was great though- hearty food and huge portions. Lounge is nice and modern with something to snack on and lots of magazines.

Room Tip: Choose a newly refurbished room in the tall tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feed back, we appreciate the time and effort taken to post this. We have noticed your concern about the Club room in general and noted for action to rectify the same. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We are glad that you liked the In room dining services and the brand new Royal Club Lounge. We have recently completed the upgrading of all our Deluxe tower rooms, suites, restaurants and public areas and the Royal club tower will also be looked in to for upgrading even though it is fairly new.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a renewed experience soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I recently spent 4 days at the Royal Meridien and was very impressed with both the hotel and quality of the staff and service they provided. Its not very often that I can say I was 100% satisfied with every aspect of my stays but with the hotel I was.
The rooms are very well appointed with an amazingly comfortable bed, which I struggled to get out of every morning. Food is superb, especially the lunch buffet.
Great for business and families as it has a nice pool and sun loungers, PJ's the Irish bar is nice for a drink, and the hotel has a late bar on the 4th floor.
Some construction work taking place when I stayed but I didn't hear any noise or have any complaints.
Great hotel for a stay in Abu Dhabi, I couldn't recommend it highly enough and will definitely be staying again when I return.
Thanks to all the staff for top class service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your inspiring feed back and we are delighted to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us recently. We will definitely pass on the compliments to the entire team and I am sure they will be equally delighted and motivated to go an extra mile.
With an exciting launch of the phase I of our transformation project in October and phase two scheduled in a couple of months time -with the launch of three brand new restaurants, we love to share the excitement with you and look forward to welcoming back to a renewed experience soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have stayed already many times in Le Royal Meridien and I will still return to stay there.The location is one of the best in abu Dhabi.Close to
the Corniche .From the spacious rooms you have a wonderfull view over
the sea.The new decoration updraded the hotel even more.And the staff
is really the friendliest you can find.My stay was always perfect in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Hermen,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and appreciate the continued patronage towards Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
Team Royale stay committed to provide you with world class hospitality products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel with my wife and little daughter. We were placed in the 20th floor with a sea view. The room was clean and well lit. The bed was spacious and the view was amazing. The bathroom was big with a nice shower and tub. The breakfast was well served with varieties. The price was excellent for the hotel's class. If I am ever coming to Abu Dhabi again, I would definitely come back here. The only thing that I can pick on this hotel is the sliding door of the bathroom, if they can install a handle so we can slide the door more easily it would be great!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your inspiring feedback and we are glad that we could keep up with your expectation.
Your comments on the bathroom sliding door is well received and corrective action will be taken accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Khalifa Street, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#33 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.