We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #110 of 121 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Peshawar Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I used to stay in this hotel for 2 nights and liked it, as my stay was a free :P (courtesy to my friend)

Room was spacious with clean bathroom and city view was good. Food in the restaurant was finished (surprise) so i had to order and wait for some 30 minutes. Its quality was just below average

There were few bars (fillipino on 17th to hook a lady) and some English pub on the ground floor (for the same purpose). Room service was ok. Don't know about the breakfast as i missed it twice due to late woke up. Oh yes some construction work was on (adjucent to hotel) all the night, so couldn't slept well and finished as soon as my stay was over.

Has no parking, yet found front desk staff a bit polite and helpful.
Overall stay was an average

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    3
    14
See reviews for
3
2
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Bad place to stay. Rooms are cheap but the entire hotel smells of cigarette smoke . Poor airconditioning , impersonal staff and disturbance due to late night activity ( you can hear music thumping in your rooms) in the dance clubs which seem to be fronts for pick-up joints .No parking space .Could be avoided.

  • Liked — Cheap rooms
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke smell in the air
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Great location – a less expensive hotel amongst the company of 5 star hotels in the area
Though the rooms in this hotel are very spacious and have a stunning view (if you have the corniche side view on higher floors), the service and hospitality, unfortunately, is very lacking. The food is less than average (though the restaurant manager deserves credit for making an effort and being hard working) and the café is to be avoided – smoke filled, with loud tv and creeky fridge and not too comfortable seating. I was woken up twice in the middle of the night – once by a random stranger who knocked on the door and realized he had the wrong room, 2nd time by this lady in the opposite room who was loud (who seemed to be living there on a long term) who had company in the middle of the night (???) and was returning from the hotel disco – which, you can hear the bass of till like 2 in the morning (I told the receptionist, who called the manager next day only to say we’ll look into it and move on).
I got a corporate rate at this hotel which, at the time, was less than a third of the surrounding 5 star hotels. I’d only stay at this hotel if it were half or less than the one its opposite. The location is great – same as Sheraton or Le Meridien.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

What a tip - I stayed in room 407 - as soon as I arrived there there was music from a pub/club downstairs and music from a nightclub on the upper floor - hookers were already out looking for business on the level I was staying at and they ended up chaping my rm door at 2am looking for business - once they seen how disgusted I was they seemd to think this funny and I was woken up regularly at 2am with them laughing etc - complained but it fell on deaf ears and accomodation elsewhere was not an option as everything was fully booked. Cockroaches in the bathroom - room was never cleaned properly.
I even seen a Rat running from the side of the hotel one night and it got ran over by a taxi - taxi's were a nightmare and always tooting horns for customers until about 0215am - this was the worste experience I have ever had -a true tip of a hotel

  • Liked — Nothing it was a nightmare
  • Disliked — everything -a true dump
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

the hotel was nothing but a whorehouse with prostitutes hanging around everywhere. they service their clients in the disco which is so loud you can hear it in most rooms, you see them going to all the rooms and it is most definitely not a place to take your wife or your family. DISGUSTING

  • Liked — it was disgusting
  • Disliked — the prostitutes everywhere!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

Smoky horrible hotel with awful Disco. Rooms are filled with smoke because of the disco. Strange people. No beach facilities. Staff strange and impolite.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

I stayed a coupe of months here. Had a suite with kitchen so was able to get my bacon butty in the morning. Hotel has excellent rates compared with other hotels in Abu Dhabi. It is quite oK for a base.
The hotel was generally clean and the staff friendly and helpful.
On the downside there are a lot of bars in the hotel - Filipinino, Indian, Pakistani, Arabic, ect. On Thursday and Friday evenings these bars attact many patrons and many hookers. Getting the elevator on these evenings took time and paitence.
Mostly I ate out but the hotel has an Indian restaurant which does a first class curry.
Hotel is fine for single men and business travelers, but not for families.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — too many bars
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#18 of 121 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#10 of 121 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#3 of 121 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
0.9 mi away
Ramada Downtown Abu Dhabi
Ramada Downtown Abu Dhabi
#12 of 121 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#6 of 121 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Address: Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 121 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.