We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my Stay @ Howard Johnson, Abu Dhabi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #111 of 122 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my Stay @ Howard Johnson, Abu Dhabi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel is located in a convenient location with excellent facilities suiting my budget. The stay was almost all like staying at home or like staying in a serviced apartment with homely atmosphere. The place is well connected by all means of transportation and near to Abu Dhabi Corniche

Room Tip: any room from 4 floor to 9 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    3
    14
See reviews for
3
2
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

i have stayed in the HJ hotel on a number of previous occasions, as have colleagues of mine. Previous experiences were not bad but I stopped over in the HJ hotel enroute from the UK. It started off badly when there was no record of my hotel booking (I ad to trawl through emails to find the online booking confirmation). I then showed my Qatar ID - which they reception refused to accept as valid ID. I find this very strange as all other organisations in the Middle East appear to accept this form of ID for everything ... From obtaining mobile phone SIMs, banking and money transfers! Eventually, after finding my passport, they check me in and I go to my room. The shower was like a leaking pipe at best .... A small trickle of water. Then the final straw - my girlfriend arrives (yes girlfriend) only to be told she can't come up to see me because she has no valid ID on her. I was informed that there was an 'incident' at the hotel bars and all women without valid ID were stopped going into the bars. I complained to the reception and was constantly fobbed off and told there was nothing they could do. At this point I was annoyed and demanded a refund .... But they refused. I was then put through to management via the phone ... But this obviously wasn't management with any jurisdiction. Again I was told there was nothing they could do. In the end, having spent approximately one hour in the hotel, I just walked out and checked into another hotel. Overall, an experience I don't want to witness again. Absolutely disgraceful customer service. Don't go there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My company books me into this hotel when I'm in Abu Dhabi. I must have stayed here over 15 times this year and here's my honest opinion about the place:

The pros:
1. The staff at the reception, the security guards and the bell boys are far beyond excellent! They have been extremely helpful to me everytime I've stayed here and really go out of their way to personalize the service they provide. Whether its last minute check in, early checkin, late checkouts, help storing bags (they should charge me rent the number of time's I've kept bags here). The security guard even brought me my Subway delivery to the room instead of me going down to collect it. The bell boy (Rezul) makes my my complicated and cumbersome travel schedule that much smoother. The staff at the reception are super helpful.

Just remember, be nice and people are nice to you! I've seen a few people being rude to staff at hotels and restaurants (especially in UAE) - what kind of service would you expect in return?

2. The rooms are larger than your standard 3 - 4 star hote, clean, tidy and smell good. There's never been smoke smell in my room though most of their rooms are smoking rooms. The music from the nightlife in the hotel really isn't that loud and the rooms on the 5th or 6th floor have been very tastefully renovated and are nicer than the rest.

3. The location! Its in the heart of the city and very close to many eating joints, entertainment and leisure spots. Corniche is a short cab ride away. Taxi's and busses are easy to get from here any time of the day and most of the cabbies will know whete HOJO is so its not difficult to find. If you're Chinese, Indian, Filipina or Russian - Lots of "home cooked" style food within walking distance - and beat this - a good meal would be between USD 5 - 8 at one of these places!

4. Did I mention the staff?

5. Extremely safe - just like the rest of the UAE.

The Cons:
1. There are 4 night clubs and a bar. An Indian and an African one located on the 2nd floor, a "Russian" and an Arabic one located on the 17th floor and a "British" pub on the ground floor. You can hear a slight thumping of the bass from the music from most of these bars in your room till 3am everynight - but it really didn't bother me one bit. Its really not that loud.

2. So, this isn't really a great place to vacation with the family, especially if you plan to go outside your room after 10pm. Nothing unsafe but just the crowd isn't the classiest you've seen if you know what I mean!

Overall, I love this hotel and am especially impressed with the staff. If you're on business, dont hesitate to book this place - just get a room on the 5th or 6th floor.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 5th or 6th floor. If you're here during the winter avoid the corner rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious but no complementary water bottles when we stayed there the last time. Hotel is near Corniche and tourist club area, so everything is within walking distance. Bad thing is they don't have a lot of recreational facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed there for two days and it was a decent experience. The location is good as there's a multiplex and lots of eating joints around. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quite spacious.
Their wifi policy is weird in which the give coupons of two hours usage and it can be logged in on one device at a time. The caused a lot of inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a far cry from a hotel, worst customer service ever! Rooom was not clean, smelled of too much smoke, lights are too dim, amenities below average not even water is avaialble, the bed cover/ blanket is actually just a bed sheet and the pillow cases had an odore as well. walls are evry thin, elevator has a lound sound you will not be able to sleep you hear everything going arund outside you room it is disastrous and the extremely bad service is the cherry on top the staff know nothing and are not willing to try. There is a club as well in the hotel which is a plus to the sleepless night, the quality of guests is not what you want to be around so stay away!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abudhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

rooms are good. Room service is nice. Well maintained house keeping. Communication service is ok. Avoid Thursday and Friday stay. Food quality is ok. The location is very good and so no need to worry about the food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tryp By Wyndham Abu Dhabi
Tryp By Wyndham Abu Dhabi
#61 of 122 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Ain Palace Hotel
Al Ain Palace Hotel
#97 of 122 in Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#18 of 122 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Euro Hotel Apartments
Euro Hotel Apartments
#110 of 122 in Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Downtown Abu Dhabi
Ramada Downtown Abu Dhabi
#12 of 122 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Address: Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 122 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.