We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiance during stay in Howard Johnson” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #101 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Experiance during stay in Howard Johnson”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel and would like to share my experiances. The room service is OK, Hotel facilities are pathitic, Food is worst. Value for your money is spent is not justified. Too much of noise due to the night club located in the same building.

Room Tip: Do not visit this hotel if you are visiting along with a family. OK if you are alone and on a busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    1
    11
See reviews for
3
2
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks for my business purpose. The hotel location is good and the rooms are large and spacious.
Its having around 5 to 6 bars. so at night the hotel was fully crowded with the people from outside to the bars ...
and also the music from the bars goes so loud punching sound throughout night till 2 am .and always the loud speaking voices of the people in front of the rooms who comes out of the bar at late night... which all is an utter disturbance to sleepp ... !!!
The food was only average .. the hotel is only recommended for the tourists who loves night life ... not for the family mode or buisness class !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshawar Pakistan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I used to stay in this hotel for 2 nights and liked it, as my stay was a free :P (courtesy to my friend)

Room was spacious with clean bathroom and city view was good. Food in the restaurant was finished (surprise) so i had to order and wait for some 30 minutes. Its quality was just below average

There were few bars (fillipino on 17th to hook a lady) and some English pub on the ground floor (for the same purpose). Room service was ok. Don't know about the breakfast as i missed it twice due to late woke up. Oh yes some construction work was on (adjucent to hotel) all the night, so couldn't slept well and finished as soon as my stay was over.

Has no parking, yet found front desk staff a bit polite and helpful.
Overall stay was an average

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Bad place to stay. Rooms are cheap but the entire hotel smells of cigarette smoke . Poor airconditioning , impersonal staff and disturbance due to late night activity ( you can hear music thumping in your rooms) in the dance clubs which seem to be fronts for pick-up joints .No parking space .Could be avoided.

  • Liked — Cheap rooms
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke smell in the air
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Great location – a less expensive hotel amongst the company of 5 star hotels in the area
Though the rooms in this hotel are very spacious and have a stunning view (if you have the corniche side view on higher floors), the service and hospitality, unfortunately, is very lacking. The food is less than average (though the restaurant manager deserves credit for making an effort and being hard working) and the café is to be avoided – smoke filled, with loud tv and creeky fridge and not too comfortable seating. I was woken up twice in the middle of the night – once by a random stranger who knocked on the door and realized he had the wrong room, 2nd time by this lady in the opposite room who was loud (who seemed to be living there on a long term) who had company in the middle of the night (???) and was returning from the hotel disco – which, you can hear the bass of till like 2 in the morning (I told the receptionist, who called the manager next day only to say we’ll look into it and move on).
I got a corporate rate at this hotel which, at the time, was less than a third of the surrounding 5 star hotels. I’d only stay at this hotel if it were half or less than the one its opposite. The location is great – same as Sheraton or Le Meridien.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

What a tip - I stayed in room 407 - as soon as I arrived there there was music from a pub/club downstairs and music from a nightclub on the upper floor - hookers were already out looking for business on the level I was staying at and they ended up chaping my rm door at 2am looking for business - once they seen how disgusted I was they seemd to think this funny and I was woken up regularly at 2am with them laughing etc - complained but it fell on deaf ears and accomodation elsewhere was not an option as everything was fully booked. Cockroaches in the bathroom - room was never cleaned properly.
I even seen a Rat running from the side of the hotel one night and it got ran over by a taxi - taxi's were a nightmare and always tooting horns for customers until about 0215am - this was the worste experience I have ever had -a true tip of a hotel

  • Liked — Nothing it was a nightmare
  • Disliked — everything -a true dump
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

the hotel was nothing but a whorehouse with prostitutes hanging around everywhere. they service their clients in the disco which is so loud you can hear it in most rooms, you see them going to all the rooms and it is most definitely not a place to take your wife or your family. DISGUSTING

  • Liked — it was disgusting
  • Disliked — the prostitutes everywhere!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel

Address: Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.