We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Abdullah Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud Street | Al Bateen area, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Tring
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having just stayed for a week in Abu Dhabi at the Intercontinental hotel,we came away wishing we had booked longer.On arrival our room was not ready,due to us turning up early, so while we were waiting we were shown another room to choose from and given complimentary drinks at the piano bar.Our room was spacious with a high standard,providing Elemis products in the bathroom. which was lovely.
We had only booked B&B,but they had upgraded us to halfboard free of charge.
All our meals were in the buffet restaurant which was amazing.The selection and,presentation was beautiful,we didn`t want to eat anywhere else.Although there were several other restaurants to choose from.
Saturday lunchtime buffet is not to be missed if you are a lover of seafood.Also midweek they have a ladies night in the yacht club with free champagne until approx 10pm.
Pool & pool areas are very clean.You need to get there fairly early as it gets busy.To use the pool you have to sign in,to which you are then given towels plus limited amounts of coolboxes with ice.The hotel caters for all, with the childrens pool sectioned off,life guards,entertainment for the little ones,pool/snack bar,spa,beauty,fitness programmes,scuba diving lessons plus trips out.You can`t get bored.
They run a free shuttle bus to the Marina shopping mall,which is best to book and are quite willing to drop you off along the way.
Taxies are always at hand and the concierge can`t be more helpful.Giving us maps and advice,also willing to book us anything and everything.
There is building work going on at the private beach,which apparently is going to be another pool and restaurant.This didn`t spoil our afternoon there,although will be alot better when finished.
On the day of our departure the reception let us stay on in our room for 2 hours extra with no charge and stored our cases until the evening before leaving for our flight.
All the staff were so helpful and friendly,we would definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool were great and although busy,we didn`t find noisey.The other view offere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear jane b

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have shared your kind words with the team and they all thank you. It is always our aim at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, to offer our guests unforgettable experience and all the needed comfort s they are looking for.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    266
    85
    24
    9
See reviews for
127
280
63
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Returned to this hotel for first time since it closed for refurbishment some 5 or 6 years ago. Will get the only negative out of the way first-building work on a new beach area was a slight downside but did not spoil our 12 night stay.Building work all around the outside of the hotel made it difficult to walk out anywhere.
Otherwise everything was excellent,frindly,helpful staff, good sized comfortable room, excellent choice of restaurants on site-Brazilian, Italian, Japanese and Fish market as well as a standard all purpose restaurant.
The club lounge is marvellous, completely new since previous visit-staff here were all perfectly well trained, all had time to talk to you. and provided excellent service under the direction of Kate the manager. The long panoramic views of the city from here are well worth the extra.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a sea view but do pay the extra for Club Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear bsn034

Thank you for your kind review, your feed back is quite encouraging to our team. Our beach development is underway and should be finalised by end of Q2. The development will turn the beach area to a complete recreation facility with swimming pools, restaurant, bar and a white sandy beach.

Once again thank you for your comments and we are delighted that we all managed to offer you a memorable experience during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rm.Valcea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Even it is one of the oldest hotels in Abu Dhabi,you feel like home between friends..Thank you Francesco,Svetlana and of course the most important person in this hotel which I did not had the opportunity to met ,but I feel like he is everywhere-Mr.Dieter Franke-GM of this beautiful hotel.
I will recommend this hotel to everyone which is going for business or leisure to Abu Dhabi.The lobby is very large and very comfortable,the rooms are very nice and well cleaned every 2 times a day with everything you need :menu pillows,very comfortable bed,daily re-stocked mini bar,free bottles of water,free safe,LCD TV,free internet in the room even on the beach,nice view,the services and the food in the main restaurant are excellent,the other 4 restaurants a la carte are also very good,very good Mediterranean food at the beach restaurant,very good Belgian beer and snacks at Belgian restaurant.My special thanks to the manager of Yacht Club restaurant.Even are some works on the beach,you don,t see anything and it does not disturbing our excellent holiday.Very good services on the beach,on my opinion the best I found at one 5 star hotel.very good services also at the SPA.I recommend rooms on top floor,starting with 12 th floor and it does not matter if the rooms are sea view or city view.Both have nice view ,because the hotel is build in one of the best areas in the city called ,,corniche,,.Free shuttle minibus to both Mall in the city,very polite and professional driver.

Room Tip: The rooms at top floor starting with 12 thy floor are the best and it does not mater if are sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Rm.Valcea

Thank you for taking the time to write you kind review and for recommending the hotel to other travelers. I have shared your comments with our team and they all thank you for your encouraging words. Our aim is always to provide our guests a memorable experience.

Once again, I thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for three nights and it was a very nice break but the annoying think is the band at the cafe which is at the ground floor.
And the concierge was very very helpful.
In general it is worth to stay there for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

i have been staying for two weeks in the hotel and have felt at home all through my stay. An established fine hotel with an attractive marina setting.
Lovely views of the Corniche greet you every morning.
There are a range of restaurant which cater for Brazilian, Japanese, Italian and european palates.
Also the Yacht Club has a late night club several nights a week.

The hotel ballroom is certainly well worth seeing as it is truly beautiful

The haotel staff are keen to please and well trained.
Food is interesting and of a high standard.
There are extensive sports and spa facilities available to guests.

Pool area is very pleasant with dining services.
All in all a nice hotel with a historic past very well presented.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Walter F

Thank you for taking the time to post your review describing your recent stay at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. It is delightful knowing that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

When I shared your review with the team it gave them a boost to continue working towards achieving our ultimate goal, which is giving every guest a comfortable and memorable experience.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I was stay in suiete 1921 from 2 to12 2013 I found all the hotle group nice people they try to do thier best to make me happy.I was visited many hotles but i will not forget this one.Thankes for all group thier.ًI want to say thank you Ahmed,Aiyda,Omer.Sure Iwill see you soon....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
ear Whitebirdtravel

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to right your review. I am delighted that you had a comfortable stay and we were able to offer you a memorable experience with us.

I have shared your comments with Ahmed, Aiyda & Omar who in return thank you for your kind words.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just stayed 3 nights at the IC Abu Dhabi and enjoyed our stay, especially the wonderful, friendly and professional service of the hotel. While the structure is not new or opulent like neighboring hotels such as the Emirate's Palace, the views are nice and the hotel has stayed contemporary and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and even includes an Asian section with fish, rice porridge, miso soup and rice. We also liked the private beach section, as well as having dinner on the beach terrace of the Fish Market Thai restaurant. There are currently major works by the beach, which makes it a bit noisy during the day, but it looks like the facilities will become gorgeous once work is completed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Heiranig

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to right your review expressing your experience with us.

I have share your kind comments with the whole team and we all thank you for giving us the change to make your stay in Abu Dhabi a memorable one.

As you mentioned in your review, our beach area is being developed and will turn into a destination that will include two new swimming pools, rentable cabanas, beach bar, restaurant, gym and treatment rooms and a white sandy beach.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thanks again.

Dieter Francke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: King Abdullah Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud Street | Al Bateen area, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure."We are currently working on a beach re-development scheduled to start during the second week of April 2012 and due to be finalized by the third quarter of 2013 .Our exciting new project will enhance the facilities in our hotel by uplifting our outdoor areas. We will take every effort to minimize the disruption to our guests who will continue to have full access to the beach and can enjoy a dip in the sea. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located in our main block." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.