We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Abdullah Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud Street | Al Bateen area, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Visited this place many times and it is always a pleasure to come back. The hotel was refurbished several yrs ago and the room quality is excellent. Service is excellent. Staff is always keen, never have to wait to be noticed. All hotel restaurants are worthwhile to visit. Excellent pool, good fitness room overlooking the harbour. If you have the opportunity upgrade to the club and relax after work in the club lounge. Make sure to ask the hotel to arrange a limo to pick you up from the airport (& back again) a safe and comfortable way to begin and end your visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review of our hotel and sharing your great experience with fellow travelers.

We are so happy to see you touched on all the points we pride ourselves on. From our rooms, to our staff, who believe are at the heart of every guest experience, to our award winning restaurants and our recreation facilities. We are also very happy to note that you appreciate our Limo pickup service.

We hope you will be back soon and give us the opportunity to provide you the same great service again.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    266
    86
    24
    9
See reviews for
127
280
63
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As a frequent business travelor to Abu Dhabi, I frequently staid at this hotel. With always clean and well serviced rooms, an excellent health center, pool and private beach, and an excellent assortment on on site restaurants and lounges, the Intercontinental in Abu Dhabi became a home away from home.

Room Tip: Priority Club gets attention...Ambassodor level gets upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a fantastic review of our hotel. Nothing gives us as much pleasure as to hear that our hotel has become a home away from home for them. It gives us all the more meaning to our service culture of always "At your side".

Please let us know if there is anything we could do to further assist you.

We hope you will continue to give us your patronage and we hope to serve you as always.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had a really great time at this hotel. It is not as leisure orientated as some in the region but that suited me fine as I didn't want a week away with families or children. The room was a good size and my city view included the enormous buildings springing up around the Hilton, the marina mall and the Emirates Palace. The room was cleaned to a high standard with plenty of complimentary water left in the room each day. The beach is great and will be even better when the works are finished - I want to book for next year to see how the redevelopment turns out. Breakfast buffet was expansive and could not be faulted. Got the free half-board upgrade so used the buffet, mainly for lunch. Did try the evening buffet one time but preferred the lunch. The saturday sea-food buffet was amazing, even had a sushi chef on hand to make fresh sushi. We tried the moules in the Belgian Cafe and 1 was enough for 2 of us - it was huge - although fairly pricey when compared with UK prices. The Belgian Cafe was my favourite bar in the hotel and had a great atmosphere when busy with locals on a couple of nights.

I do have one negative and that would be with some of the locals that pay to use the beach at the hotel - they have little respect for their environment or others around them - I even saw groups sitting in the sea, smoking, and discarding their cigarettes in the sea. If the InterContinental could provide them ashtrays or even better - ban them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a fantastic review of your stay with us.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our buffet selection and were able to sample the sea food buffet which is a favourite with patrons of our hotel.

We are very excited about our beach re-development project too and it will include two sea facing pools and a state of the art spa.

We do hope you will visit us again and will be able to experience the new facilities.

We have taken a note of your displeasure with the issue of cigarette butts on the beach and it has been communicated to the people within the hotel to check upon. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we strive to provide a safe and clean environment for all our guests and this is a hazard.

We hope to see you again next year.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were here for 2 nights for the Abudhabi international triathlon.So we didnt do much in the hotel, spend alot of time by the corniche.Hotel looks old from outside but the rooms are clean, modern, comfortable and with all standard amenities. Check in was smooth, and staff were friendly.We had dinner in the Italian restaurant and food and service was great.The second night at the belgium cafe and that was good too.By the beach theres a small kids play area with slides and swings if you are staying with kids.Our daughter played alot there with other kids on the first day.Overall value for what we paid

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your short stay with us.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed our services and found your room upto your expectations.

We are also very glad to note you enjoyed our on-site Belgian cafe and Boccaccio- our Italian restaurant. We also hope you enjoyed the Abu Dhabi Triathlon and and if you were participants, took the opportunity to use our Gym and massage services.

Please do give us the opportunity to serve you again when you next visit Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The InterContinental Abu Dhabi has a good location. The rooms are bigger than average and well maintained. Upon check-in the front desk staff was thanking me for my loyalty as a Priority Club member. That gave me a sort of special feeling. I also received a free beverage voucher. A very nice touch. There are many food and drinks outlets in the hotel area. They all provide a high standard. The InterContinental is showing it's age here and there but still a very good quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to rate us here and write a review about our hotel and services.

We are very happy that our services at the front desk and check-in procedures made you feel special.All our priority club members and ambassadors are special to us.

We are also glad you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our excellent on-site restaurants.

We hoe you will give us the pleasure of serving you again upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Enormous thanks to all the staff at the intercontinental hotel for our lovely stay
My sister and I had a great time - we were able to relax and enjoy the facilities of the hotel which was exactly what we wanted to do
The sea view room was lovely and clean. We booked with a free upgrade to half board. The food was plentiful and delicious with great variety. We loved the touches of the cool box with free cold water at the pool and the water melon the staff would bring round. They also off a free courtesy bus to the shopping malls which was nice.
Most of all was the friendliness and warmth of all the staff at the hotel all so kind in making sure we had everything we needed. Nothing seemed too much of a problem.
I would definitely stay at your hotel again
There is a lot of construction work going on around the hotel and in the city but it did not impact our stay
When we arrived at Abu Dhabi airport we took a fix rate car to the hotel which was 70 dirhams, when I booked a taxi to take us back to the airport I was told it would cost me 130 dirhams 136 if I charged it to my bill, I found this very strange and was informed that it was the cost taking a car from the hotel...

Overall we had a really good time and once again many thanks to all the staff there and I hope to see you again

Room Tip: We were on 11th Floor and had a good sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a great review of your stay with us. We are very glad to note that you enjoyed your free upgrade to half board with the buffet at our all day dining restaurant - Selections.

We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the facilities at our pool and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to all you wishes.

We hope that upon your next visit you will be able to enjoy the pleasure of our brand new Spa services and beach facing pools.

We have also taken note of your displeasure with the fixed rate taxi service to the airport from the hotel and will take your feedback into consideration when we review our facilities shortly.

We look forward to receiving you again.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Basically this is a nice hotel on the inside but lacks the usual bling of a 5 star UAE hotel.
We stayed here for one week with a complimentary upgrade to half board. Check-in was quick and easy. Room on the 17th floor was spacious and comfortable with everything you would need.
House keeping was very good.

When staying on the half board basis you meals are to be taken in the selections restaurant. On the first night of are stay we went into the restaurant and were greeted by the staff and shown to a table. There was not any explanation of any of the food and drink on offer this did improved throughout the week. Breakfast was average but food in the evening was a little poor and repetitive.

We ventured to the beach which at the moment is a building site/dump which were aware of.
Swimming pool is small. Plenty of loungers. Staff around the pool are helpful with providing towels and plenty of complimentary water. The pool area is a little tired and pretty quiet during the day. I must say that on Fridays which is the start of their weekend the locals come to the hotel and use the facilities as they do in the UAE. In all the years we have been travelling to the middle east we have never seen anything like this before as what can only be described as an infant school playtime. With the hotel not having a separate children's pool there was just chaos everywhere.
Generally the staff where not as helpful as they could be apart from the lady on the help desk how couldn't help enough( excellent ).
Having said that, for what we paid it was okay.As we spoke to couples who had paid a considerable amount more.
But would not visit again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better to avoid noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other tarvellers about your experience with us.

We are very sorry to note your displeasure with our restaurant - Selections and the food thereof. We sincerely hope you would have had the chance to try any of our other six excellent culinary restaurants.

We are also very sorry to note about your experience at the pool. We are in the process of building 2 new pools and a state of the art spa next to the beach, which you visited during your stay.

Should you wish to give us another chance upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi, we can assure you that you will find the leisure services vastly improved and hope you can give some, if not all of our other excellent culinary restaurants a try.

Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: King Abdullah Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud Street | Al Bateen area, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure."We are currently working on a beach re-development scheduled to start during the second week of April 2012 and due to be finalized by the third quarter of 2013 .Our exciting new project will enhance the facilities in our hotel by uplifting our outdoor areas. We will take every effort to minimize the disruption to our guests who will continue to have full access to the beach and can enjoy a dip in the sea. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located in our main block." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.