We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamdan Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Poole, Dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yet another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I visted this hotel for the fifth time which should tell you how good it is, and all for pleasure. We have used it to stay for a week to relaz and as a stopover before moving on to another hotel, each time thoroughly enjoying the experience.

Firstly, as we are not business travellers the pool is generally empty during the day and it feels like our own. The gym is well equipped and the staff at both are great.

The hotel is positioned in the centre of the town and this, to us, is really appealing. Around the corner is an Iranian restaurant which is like sitting in someone's front room - fantastic - plus you can go back to the hotel and relax in one of the many bars after.

The thing that makes the place so special is the staff. Ignore what others have written if it is bad. They are fantastic. The thing you have to remember is that if you are polite to them you will gain it back ten fold.

Breakfast in the restaurant on the 9th floor is fab, I can not think of one thing that they did not offer.

Basically, just go, walk around the real Abu Dhabi and relax in the Crown Plaza that is so well positioned to make your stay so much fun - plus you can enjoy all the football!!

Feel free to wite if you have a question - petertimperley@googlemail.com

Regards

Peter Timperley

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, James Young ,General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Dear Mr.Timperley,

We appreciate a lot your feedback . Your valuable comments will be passed to our team.
We wish you safe travels and look forward to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    180
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
52
82
67
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Hopefully the renovations are finished whilst i am typing this - good hotel everything you want from a business venue. Staff are very helpful, views from the roof terrace and bar , this is a very quiet subdued hotel. Will definatley return

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Dear Valued Guest;

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review. We do appreciate your feedback and are pleased our services have met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one.
We do regret any inconvenience caused as we are working on two new exciting restaurants on the ground floor that are scheduled to open in early January. The work is carefully scheduled throughout the day time with minimum impact on guest rooms.

At Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi we are keen to offer the best for our valued guests and we are continuously working on upgrading our hotel product and services to achieve their utmost satisfaction.

Once again apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

While the CP has an excellent central location, the property is looking a little tired, especially in the bedrooms. Staff generally friendly nad helpful but aggressive up-selling of limousine services by the door staff was NOT appreciated. (Included in rate) breakfast was good as was light meal at the Asian retsaurant. Other dining options limited due to major grould fllor recevelopment. Very expensive internet - so not used.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tired
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review. We do appreciate your feedback and are pleased our team have met your expectations and made your stay more enjoyable.
We regret any inconvenience caused. Unfortunately city taxis are not available all the time and our team are trained to offer Limousine service for guest comfort.

On the other hand we are continuously working on upgrading our hotel product and services and we expect to open two new restaurants in January which will provide our valued guests with further dining options during their stay.

Once again we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Typical Crowne Plaza really - it does what it says on the tin. Good food, amenities and friendly helpful staff. I stayed (on business) during Ramadan and the Iftar Buffet was superb :) No problem for those not fasting during the day - room service was running and for those not abstaining from alcohol they opened the bar area after 9pm.

This hotel is quite central and handy for local restaurants and supermarkets.

As always, beware the mini bar, very expensive - relatively speaking and also buying alcohol in the hotel - also expensive. If you are staying for a period of time it is worth bringing in your alcohol allowance from the airport and buying mixers etc from the supermarket.

All in all a very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Management Team at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
We would like to thank you for taking the time to note the review. We are glad our team have met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one.

We do recommend for your next stay to book our Crowne Plaza Club rooms which in addition to other exclusive benefits it includes access to Club Lounge with Cocktail hours between 18:00 and 21:00 daily.

We look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed here for 10 days as part of a larger business group. Located along busy Hamdan Street in a central area, you are about equidistant to the Corniche, the Emirates Palace, and the old seaport/souk. The decor of the hotel is slightly outdated, but all is beautifully maintained, and the staff, from the manager to the cleaners, is very professional, kind, and helpful. The room had wonderful floor to ceiling windows with good views, and the bathroom was large and spacious. Exiting the entrance on the interior of the block, there are numerous small restaurants and cafes that offer inexpensive, good fare, including Lebanese and Persian. If you'd rather stay in, there are a number of in-house restaurants, as well as a poolside lounge on the roof. The breakfast buffet is very extensive, incorporating cuisines from around the world---you will find something to suit your tastes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Management Team at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
We would like to thank you for taking the time to note the review. We are glad our team have met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abudhabi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

It was really good staying there and its super to be there for abt 3 months as a part of my business trip.A superb break fast was available and very good cleaning facilities and room temperature controlled swimming pool and steam and suna rooms ... the gym was awesome ... and it was a pleasure staying there

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Management Team at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
We would like to thank you for taking the time to note the review. We are glad our team have met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Crowne Plaza is a good business hotel. My room (16th floor) was dated but it was very clean (it has laminated floors which are so much better - you can see that they are clean). The bathroom is similarly dated, so no walk in showers with cloudburst heads here. The towels and the bedding are fresh. The room is a good size, offering lots of space, and the desk is fine for using a laptop and reviewing documents. Two complimentary bottles of local water are given each day, and the hotel offers to prodice complimentary basic toiletries if you forget to pack anything. The service in this hotel is what stands out. I am working in the Emirates Palace during the day and can easily say that the service is far better at the Crowne Plaza! Not what I had expected given reputations etc. By the way, make sure that you register your Priority Club card before / when you arrive. Oh and for 200dhs extra you get breakfast, happy hour drinks in the Club Lounge on floor 17, free internet (wired and wireless) and various vouchers to save money in the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to note the review. We are glad our team have met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one. At Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi we are continuously working on upgrading our products and services to ensure our guests’ satisfaction at all times.
We look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Address: Hamdan Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.