We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a busy district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamdan Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Wiltshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a busy district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Crowne Plaza is a good business hotel. My room (16th floor) was dated but it was very clean (it has laminated floors which are so much better - you can see that they are clean). The bathroom is similarly dated, so no walk in showers with cloudburst heads here. The towels and the bedding are fresh. The room is a good size, offering lots of space, and the desk is fine for using a laptop and reviewing documents. Two complimentary bottles of local water are given each day, and the hotel offers to prodice complimentary basic toiletries if you forget to pack anything. The service in this hotel is what stands out. I am working in the Emirates Palace during the day and can easily say that the service is far better at the Crowne Plaza! Not what I had expected given reputations etc. By the way, make sure that you register your Priority Club card before / when you arrive. Oh and for 200dhs extra you get breakfast, happy hour drinks in the Club Lounge on floor 17, free internet (wired and wireless) and various vouchers to save money in the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to note the review. We are glad our team have met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one. At Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi we are continuously working on upgrading our products and services to ensure our guests’ satisfaction at all times.
We look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    179
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
52
82
67
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

I like the soaring atrium(s). They give the hotel a sense of verticallty that isn't immediately apparent when looking at the building from the outside.

Breakfast was very decent, featuring a good mix of items (fruits, cereals, breads, eggs, bacon (veal), sausages (chicken), vegetables, local specialties (humus, tabloueh), fresh juices, cheeses, etc.). The dining area on the 9th floor was rather drab however. Save for the soaring atrium, it was unmemorable from a design and style perspective.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are a bit dated and drab. However, for the most part, the room was very clean, well lighted, and well maintained. (I did notice a sloppily done patch job on the ceiling area where the air conditioner is located.) The TV is still a CRT... a bit of a disappointment that one. It did, however, carry a good mix of English and Arabic language channels. The bed, while plain (i.e. not adorned with throw rugs and other stuff) was comfy and sported adequate pillows. The room came with complimentary bottled water, a fruit plate that was re-stocked, a mini-fridge with a mix of items, and a daily newspaper. Those little amenities add up and serve to balance out some of the room's negatives.

The bathroom is somewhat dark and the area around the tub leaked a fair bit whenever I took a shower. The hair dryer is a throwback to ancient times and is nearly useless if you're one of those for whom a hairdryer is an absolute necessity. On the positive side, I liked the nice oversized towels that felt new and always smelled as if they were just laundered. (The towels also did a superb job in soaking up the leaking water!) Standards of cleanliness were up-to-par, with faucets, other fixtures and the floor gleaming. Bathrooms are done in marble or some other stone like material. So, definitely no hard plastic counter-tops here! (Note that there is no separate bath but it does sport a bidet.)

Location wise, it's just ok. The main malls (Marina and Abu Dhabi Mall are a bit far off and require either a bus ride - which are free as of now or a taxi). However, the area does feature a decent number of restaurants and shops.

Traveler's tip: for amazingly cheap perfume go to Hamdan Center (less than a 5-minute walk from the Crowne Plaza and near the Novotel) and look for a shop called Damascus. Prices of the perfumes on sale are easily 50-70% cheaper than the malls and people I've talked to that have actually bought from them swear that none of the perfumes they've purchased were fake (or expired).

Another tip, for other Filipino travelers, there's a Chowking located very close to the hotel. And it's a sit-down place, no fast (well, faster) food here! And Abu Dhabi (like Dubai) is filled with Filipinos, so even while you're about 6,000 miles away from home, Abu Dhabi, in some ways, still feels like home.

  • Liked — Much better than the Golden Tulip (Suites) down the road!!!!
  • Disliked — I should have mentioned it in the review, very expensive internet. Go to the internet cafe down Hamdan Road!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 8, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valued feedback. We have taken your comments into consideration and we are pleased to inform you that we are continuously upgrading our products and services. Please note we do serve on our daily buffet philipino dishes freshly prepared daily by our chefs. Should you wish to savor a particular dish on your next visit please write us your special requirements to cpauh@cpabudhabi.ae prior to your arrival to ensure you a “home away from home” experience!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

The hotel is located within the older business district, not far away from the corniche. Nice for business, not so for beach holidays.

The hotel itself is a quite typical Crowne Plaza, reflecting the prevalent design at time of opening. However, clean, well maintained and overall no complaints.

Special tribute deserves the small but very well equipped gym with very helpful staff (they obviously and successfully used the facility themselves). The roof top pool provides some 15 m for swimming as well as a pool bar.

We enjoyed access to the lounge level with breakfast, drinks and fingerfood. Food & drinks typical for American chain hotels, in very good qualilty. Again the service made the difference. One evening the management invited guest for informal discussions, the next evening the inauguration of President Obama was celebrated. Nice party with personal touch.

While the Beach Rotana and the Emirates Palace provide more luxury and also have been a positive experience I really enjoyed this business hotel with a good cost/benefit ratio.

  • Liked — Service in general, especially at the Lounge level
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 8, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you had a pleasant experience at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. Our utmost objective is to always ensure that our esteemed guests receive a high level of personalized service. We have recently introduced the “Personal Hotelier” service for our Crowne Plaza Club floor guests. On your next visit please contact concierge for directions to the public beach which is a 5 minutes journey from the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We booked in for a 3 night stay at the Crowne Plaza and yes although some may think that the decor is a tad dated for hotels in this country the room was very well equiped and extremely comfortable and the service we receieved was great.
The location was pretty good, and taxis only cost a few pounds to most parts of the city (mall, emirates palace etc).
The only slight issue that we had with the place was that the internet was expensive, but there is a cyber cafe nearby that is much cheaper. Also the breakfast although vast was also a bit pricey at approx £20 per head, but if you go down to the Rotanda hotel which is just about 600 metres down the road they served an 'american breakfast' (so full english style) and drinks and pastries and cereal for more like £12 per head.
But overall i would say that for the money the Crowne Plaza is worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 8, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for the feedback and we are glad to see you had a memorable stay at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. With regards to rates we will take your comments into consideration; however we always ensure that our products and service rates are in line with similar hotels in Abu Dhabi market.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Abu Dhabi on business. The hotel is a little tired but the staff, especially the concierge and his team, were extremely helpful. Perhaps the best thing about this hotel was the food. The Austrian Chef made sure there was a healthy eating option at every meal and the variety and quality of the buffet was excellent.
Location is a little bit remote from malls and the sea in comparison to other international hotels, and the rooms are a little tired with no carpets. The roof top pool is too small, poorly serviced (no drinks/snacks etc) and is disappointing. Not for families but acceptable for business stays.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

Hotel located in city center. Offers swimming pool and gym. Rooms are designed simply. Nothing really fascinating.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

This hotel is nothing too exciting, I was staying on business and it was very handy for the office.

The room I had was very large with seperate lounge and kitchenette area. It was a bit dated but it was comfortable. The bathroom could have been bigger.

The exec lounge was small but the staff were very attentive and friendly. Same for for the staff on reception.

There is a good sports bar in the basement if you want to watch a game with a few beers.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Address: Hamdan Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.