We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first choice here, every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamdan Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #9 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“My first choice here, every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Am currently staying here, and it's as good as I remember. Booked it because of several factors, previous experience, location, service and above all price. It is a half of the price of the Holiday Inn, and a third of the cost at the nearby Hilton.

This added to the other factors above make it a bargain here in Abu Dhabi.

At check in, my room wasn't ready ( I booked a club room) bit privided I was happy to accept a room on the 2nd floor (of course) I could have a suite.

Internet is good, sefvice fantastic, and the food and drink options are brilliant. Nothing about this hotel would make me want to look anywhere else.

Try it, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear “jetsettel”,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We are thrilled to know that we are your first choice every time you visit Abu Dhabi.
We greatly appreciate your recommendation and thank you for your kind comments.

We honestly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome back to our hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    166
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
74
58
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I organised a customer conference at the hotel in January 2012, and stayed for 5 days. We are very satisfied with the service of conference and room facility. Then we came back in November 2012 for an exhibition and stayed for a week. All staff, from managers to cleaners are very friendly and helpful. They made us feel like at home. The food in the Asian and Italian restaurant inside the hotel are superb. The gym and swimming pool facility are good too.

The hotel is quite close to the beach, it costs 12 dirhams from the hotel to the Corniche beach. There are a lot of shops around the hotel. Bus and taxi are also available in the area.

For business or holiday travelers, the hotel is great choice if you are come to Abu Dhabi. We certainly will come back!

Room Tip: For a couple, a king bed room would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear “yanzhang8”,
We are thrilled to read your review of your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking the time to post it here on Tripadvisor. We also hope you had a successful conference.
We are glad to note that you had an excellent stay and thank you for your feedback about the staff, Cho Gao and Spaccanapoli Restaurants, gym & swimming pool facility.
We will be happy to share your review with the management and colleagues.
We are looking forward to your next visit and thank you for recommending us to other travelers in Abu Dhabi.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkhobar
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My stay was during a major event in Abu Dhabi so the price was almost double the usual.My room was opposite to a mosque and the prayer call at 05:00 am waked me up after a tiring flight which was not pleasant at all.Location is very convenient middle of the city and close to where business are.There are several restaurants like Asian and International but I ate in the Italian restaurant which the service was OK but food was not to the best taste.The international restaurant is on the center atrium 9th floor but the smell of food and noise is spreading to all rooms especially near the 10th floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room in higher floors and not facing the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear “rtopsever”,
We would like to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay here on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your feedback about the hotel’s location and it’s nice that you were able to try Spaccanapoli and we have noted your feedback. We hope you can try on your next visit Cho Gao – the only non smoking bar & lounge in the city.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at hotel for V8 and F1 races (Oct/Nov 2012). The hotel is in the main business area with buses and taxis at front door. Also convenience store and some fast food restaurants across the road. On arrival and throughout our stay staff were very friendly and helpful. Checkin process was quick and without issue. My only concern was that we were advised that wifi was not free and we could purchase a package for wifi plus other bits and pieces. BUT it was NOT mentioned that wifi is free, on request, at some restaurants including breakfast.

Although views were of other commercial buildings the room (on 14th floor) was large, clean and very quite. Breakfast had a good selection, catering for most tastes. Other restaurants OK, except Heros which is noisy and smokey but this is expected as it is a sports bar. Pool area was small but adequate and fitness facilities were good.

Concierge was always very friendly and helpful particularly when we had issues with our pre arranged transport to Dubai. This was not the hotels fault but they went out of their way to help us resolve the issue. Thank you.

Other issues: My main concern was that transport to and from races (at Yas Island) was confusing (see also my comment on the F1 Grand Prix) and not well thought out by hotel or the race organizers. There were three methods of transport to/from races.
1. Taxi was approx 60-65 dhrs to races and easy to get withreturn plus 20 dhrs (max 4 persons) extremely hard to get
2. Private vehicle organised by hotel was 150 dhrs each way (max 4 persons)
3. Shuttle (organised by hotel) was 75 dhrs per person. For our party of 4 the shuttle was too expensive given the other alternatives.

Overall very pleasant experience but you need to review your shuttle pricing.

Room Tip: Our room on 14th floor, centre was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear “oevans”
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you for your feedback of our hotel’s location, variety of restaurants, staff, check in process, room, breakfast selection and gym facilities.
Regarding the wifi access, yes it is complimentary only in all the restaurants throughout the hotel, otherwise charges will apply.
Thank you for your feedback about the transportation information. We will make sure to disseminate your comments to all our staff.
Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week whilst in Abu Dhabi for the F1 Grand Prix. Upon arrival I had to request the bedding be changed because it was very apparent that it hadn't been replaced since the previous occupant, the base sheet was heavily stained - not the welcome I'd expected from a 5* hotel!! My room was on the 17th floor, supposed to be the 'Quiet Zone' but every night my sleep was disturbed - the first night I awoke to a doorbell being rung at 3 o'clock, the next night there was a female shouting and screaming at 4 o'clock, the next night someone knocked on my door in the early hours and so it went on for the remainder of my stay. You can also hear toilets being flushed in the surrounding rooms. Included within my booking was transport to / from the airport, upon checking my departure pick-up time at reception I was informed that transport hadn't been arranged and I was just to get a taxi outside the hotel, again not the service I expected from a 5* hotel. Only once I retrived my booking paperwork was the matter resolved. That aside the staff were very welcoming / helpful. The hotel doesn't have great views but is centrally located for tourist attractions / malls / etc... My room was reasonable but hotel needs to ensure bedding is changed for new occupants and shower curtains should be replaced with shower screens. Based on my experience I can't recommend the Crowne Plaza as a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have reduced traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, Asst FOM at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear “Louise6969”,
We are sorry to hear about your experience during your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We appreciate you taking the time to post it here in Tripadvisor.
We assure you that we are not proud of the experience you went through and we have taken all your feedback onboard and put all the necessary measures in place to ensure that such lapses will not happen again in the near future.

Again we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and we would be most grateful should you allow us a second chance by staying with us so that we could make it up for you and let you have the true Crowne Plaza experience.
Kind Regards,
Yvette Marie Lancion
Assistant Front Office Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We attended a V8 Supercars and Formula 1 races. The staff were fantastic. The breakfast buffet was great, the chef remermbering our order after the first morning. Rohan and Ruby were great and took care of us and were very friendly. We also received great service from Precilla at Cappucino Coffee Lounge. The beds were comfy and the room clean. The only draw back was the uncomfortable roll-away bed our daughter used. Be aware of the alcohol laws. We were unable to order from the pool bar because we were with children (they are both 20). We made use of the free internet service offered in the restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hote.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear “bunnyotto”,
Thank you for taking the time in letting us know that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi.
We are happy to note your particular comments about “fantastic staff”, “great breakfast buffet” “comfortable and clean room” and for recommending some of our staff.
We also note your feedback about the roll away bed.
We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hello,
I stayed for three nights in this Hotel.

I was very excited. The Hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is friendly and supportive.
The brekfast was nice too. I loved it stay in the lobby downstairs to have a tea while
waiting for business partners.

I did not checked any Hotel ammendeties such as bar, spa etc. I had not too much time.

Anyway. If you book this Hotel you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear “Walter054”,
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comment about the hotel’s cleanliness, staff, breakfast and the lobby.
We hope you will have the time to experience our award winning restaurants on your next visit.
Again thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Ivor prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Address: Hamdan Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.