We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, very nice hotel, but some aircon and front desk staff need to be better...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal International Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Salam Street, Abu Dhabi 009712, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good location, very nice hotel, but some aircon and front desk staff need to be better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in the hotel 3 nights, in a single room after a long flight from Sydney and before a long flight back to Europe.

Could have been a 5 but I put a 4 because of the front desk staff.

Good things:
View was nice, room very clean with bath and shower, newspaper in the morning, big and nice size room, huge bed for one (and good even for two),
room service nice, doormen and "doorladies" very very kind, nice, professional and friendly with a lot of humour, which is a good thing to have.
Tea on arrival + date fruit + biscuits = very cool to have that after a big flight.
Very quiet rooms.


Average things:
- Internet a tiny bit expensive in the room but anyway, i didnt really need it too much.

Bad things:
- Air conditioned in all the hotel is freaking too too cold ! in the room too but it was allright cause possible to stop it

Bad bad..sorry for that:
- the front desk staff EXCEPT the 2 managers I met = REALLY BAD !
These girls don t know how to welcome customers ! I wait about 1h45 in the cold reception to take my room (well, my fault cause i arrived too early, 6h30 I think) but this lady didnt had a smile, or something nice on her. I mean, a pretty lady but really uncool, unwelcoming, if I was not so tired I ll probably run away somewhere else.
They look annoyed everytime people were asking them things, it was very very difficult to have just one smile of them. I know how difficult is to work in hotels and tourism but in a 4 star Hôtel, you expect to be a tiny bit more welcome by the front desk.

Anyway, as I really don t care, my stay was nice, but some other customers were pissed off because the girls of the front staff.

I have to say that when I was leaving, i got a smile of une of the russians (or ukrainian) ladies, lol, happy to see one customer leaving ? :)



Special mention to the very nice and welcoming “doorladie”, the one who is not tall at all.

:)

Room Tip: a room with a city view, the eleven's floor is pretty cool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
20
43
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is easily accessible via taxis and even public buses. Upon arrival into Abu Dhabi Airport, we decided to take the taxi which cost us only AED55 (what a bargain especially with the amount of luggage's we had plus arriving early in the morning). The front desk staff was so kind to let us have an early check in at 830am & allocated a very decent and quiet room on the 14th floor. The room is spacious and provided ample of storage area. I believe this hotel had undergo a lavish renovation as the interior was modern and comfy. Free WIFI is a bonus with no complains on the signal. The A/C also works perfectly especially with the heat from the desert. Definately live up to the standard of a 4 star Jewel! On the day we check out, we decided to try taking the airport shuttle bus which is only two blocks from the hotel and takes only 5mins walk. It only cost us AED4 per person which was really good. Just allocate at least an hour bus ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very easy to find, front desk staff and valet staff is very professional and courteous. Room was clean and quiet.

My only issues are very minor: king sized bed was not available, even though that's what I booked. So, I was forced to take two twin beds. And also, I prefer sealed toiletries in the bathroom. It is kind of gross to know that someone has used the shampoo or conditioner before I was there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent two days at this hotel, and we were impressed. The staff is extraordinary, the prices of rooms and meals are fair, the rooms are stylish and comfortable, and the rooftop pool, spa, and gym were delightful. I'd give this hotel at least a four star rating in every category. What really stands out--and what will make this our hotel of choice in future visits to Abu Dhabi--is the free, high-speed Internet available throughout the facility. The UAE is probably the most difficult environment in the world for Western travelers accustomed to easily accessible, free Internet access. The service at the Royal was outstanding. Wherever I went--room, restaurant, lobby--I could immediately access fast Internet without a cumbersome security process. Well-done, Royal!

Room Tip: Great water views if you ask for a room facing the corniche.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is tower like, with fantastic view over Cournich of abu dhabi (sea view) ( only to some rooms, make sure you request cournich view). hotel is marked 4 stars, but its realy fantastic and elegant hotel, rooms are superb furniture, with cable tv and tea and coffee facility, indoor small swimming pool on roof. lebanese resturant , on roof with shisha, Breakfast is ok, not that much, But , the very important thing about this hotel, is you feel welcomed from all staff , from reception to room service, i hope you try it,?

Room Tip: choose room with cournich or sea view , its beautiful. and with same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was very small and seemed old and outdated.

The rooms are very small, even though other reviewers had said they were big...maybe for an ant family.

The pool area which is on the roof and uncovered which makes it incredibly hot is tiny. There is room for about 4 sun loungers and they were full of men smoking. As I have a child that made the pool unusable.

We booked a club room for access to the club (which doesn't exist) and paid extra money for it (693dhs for the night) so again disappointing.

We left within 10 minutes of booking in we were so disappointed and the staff made no attempt to make us stay or give us any money back.

All in all pretty disappointing. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel
Small lobby. But excellent rooms
Locaton is good. Commercial shops and restaurants are a short walk.
The beach is a 10 min walk

Has a rooftop swimming pool. With a hookah bar and cafe

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael E, Director of Sales at The Royal International Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear valuable Guest,

It was really glad to know that we made your stay in Abu Dhabi such a pleasant experience.

Thank you very much for your constrictive comments and looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel


Kind Regards

Malek Usama
Assistant Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal International Hotel

Address: Al Salam Street, Abu Dhabi 009712, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Royal International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.