We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay, BBQ or Brunch Offer
Ranked #17 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Everything was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my wife and kids in the spring school break. Rooms were spacious, and well equipped and decorated. fabulous bathroom. hot welcoming starting when you arrive to the front door. gorgeous views over the mangroves. breakfast so yummy .
bottom line : I would go there again and i highly recommend this hotel you guys

Room Tip: high floor on mangroves side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear bobader,

We are always happy when guests choose our hotel, and furthermore are honored if they have been pleased with their stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotels and Spa Abu Dhabi by Anantara.

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your visit with us and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the accommodation and service.

We appreciate your patronage and wish to make every effort to ensure that you and your family are always looked after.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    103
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
99
202
27
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

As soon as we arrived to this hotel, we thought that it would be one of the best hotels we have ever been to (and we have been to tens of 5-star hotels). Wonderful service, luxurious decoration both in public areas and room itself, hotel amenities, restaurant and breakfast services... But when you find yourself relaxing in perfect hotel, you soon notice that no hotel is perfect. Not even when you get your whiskey in AD.

First non smoking room we were given, smelled smokey. So we had to ask for another room and move there. In new room we notice that our rain shower didn`t work and entrance ceiling maintenance shutter was about to collapse. Maintenance staff came soon and fixed both problems. But this wasn`t enough: in third evening the air conditioning system in our room started to make annoying voice, next morning I reported the problem and it was fixed. These problems can occur to anyone and any hotel, but we found all these problems too many in luxurious 5* hotel.

And when you expect 5-star service, you don`t want to experience this: when arrived they asked for a credit card deposit for room billing... we had our debit/credit cards with us, but the hotel`s bank system didn`t accept those. And when we had our in room dining, they interrupted our dining telling that we had to pay in cash. Ok, we can pay in cash but not in the middle of the dining! What kind of service is that? They should ask for payment when getting in room dining tray away. What we expecienced wasn`t luxurious.

All in all this hotel this is luxurious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ZorroF,

Thank you for your honest review and valuable comments about your stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa Abu Dhabi by Anantara

Any inconvenience caused during your stay is most regretted by all of us here and we do hope that you are able to accept our apology for the difficulties you experienced. Please be assured that all necessary steps are being taken to resolve these issues and to prevent recurrence. It was most kind of you to bring this matter to my attention, thereby affording us the opportunity to correct these flaws in our service.

Apart from the points you have mentioned, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed some other aspects of your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again and ensure that your stay goes beyond your expectation.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Amazing hotel with very spacious rooms. Well equipped and decorated rooms. The staff are well trained to be professional. The location is great with easy access and exit, very nice restaurents at the site and shisha lounge at the terrace..

Room Tip: Ask for the high floors viewing the water..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Shadikbb,

I would like to thank you for posting your remarkable review of Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

It was our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and for recognizing our team’s commitment to high standards.

Thank you once more for your praises and we look forward to providing you another amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently have returned from our Honeymoon in Abu Dhabi and I have to say this hotel is just stunning! Everything was amazing from the time we were picked up from the Airport right up to our drop off when we left. The Staff were so friendly and so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was out of this world and I have to say a personal thank you to Adin, as he made our dining experience just wonderful and everything was cooked fresh and you could choose exactly what you wanted with a huge selection. Even my little girl who is very fussy enjoyed it too and they make such a fuss of the children, its fab. I would definately recommend Eastern Mangroves and we will certainly be returning soon. Thank you for making our honeymoon extra special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

It is such a delight to read outstanding feedback from you our valued guests about the product, service, and facilities which keeps the entire team motivated.

We are grateful for your continuous support and we look forward to extending to you once again the Anantara hospitality.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights combining business and leisure. This hotel was simply fabulous. Amazing welcome and service from when you arrive on the premises, wonderful reception, great rooms, sensational views over the mangroves (make sure to request a room overlooking it otherwise its over the roads) and magnificent food and rooftop bars. Stayed on floor 5 with the katara lounge which was wonderful with breakfast an snacks all day, evening canapés and daily drinks reception. The staff at this hotel clearly take their profession in hospitality very seriously and are a credit to the hotel.
Friday brunch was, in a word - sensational. A breathtaking array of sensational cuisines, all top quality and a wonderful selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, from champagne to detox juices.
The gym is incredible and wonderfully managed.
The area is undergoing a lot of development and a host of new restaurants and coffee shops opening which will only add to the quality of this hotel, it in no way interferes with the experience at the hotel at present.
The only thing to be aware of is very minimal space around the pool although staff are very quick to accommodate in any way they can. The location means their is no beach front and is closer to the exhibition area rather than city.
Fantastic wifi throughout hotel from a business point of view, equally strong from room to lounge, restaurant to reception and bar to pool.
I can't wait to return and eagerly anticipate my next trip to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for very much for the nice comments.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit. Thank you most especially for commending not only the hotel itself but the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by our associates. We will certainly share your wonderful feedback to our team.

Your valued patronage is very much appreciated and looking forward to be at your service again soon.


Yours Sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for over a year now traveling to Abu Dhabi almost twice a month. It's one of those places that you can call a home away from home. Very comfortable & sophisticated for business, pleasure & a quick getaway. You can't bet on the variety of services & diversity of options but one thing you can bet on any day @ Eastern Mangroves is the staff that you will meet in this place. Being served by someone there is like having your own very dedicated lifestyle manager. I love how Hayat @ guest services takes absolute ownership of making sure I check in & check out with a smile on my face or how Shayan @ front desk knows exactly which room would be perfect for my stay the moment I call for a booking or even how Dipak @ housekeeping never fails to remember what's my fav tea & how much sugar I need. Those kind of people create the "WOW" of Eastern Mangroves. Go on .... Try the place & meet that exceptional team !

Room Tip: Always take a high floor mangroves balcony room ... Heaven at dawn & dusk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Majan39,

I appreciate your time in sharing your wonderful remarks of your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

I have noted with delight your comments most especially for pointing out the genuine service from our staffs. At Anantara, we are committed to our promise that every guest should leave with amazing story. Your kind feedback will be conveyed to Hayat, Shayan and Dipak and the rest of the team to keep them all inspired and motivated in delivering the highest quality of service every guest deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is large, very well decorated, very comfortable and with an amazing breakfast.
Hotel service is also very good and staff is very helpful.

The room view was stunning over the mangroves with a large balcony. The hotel room is very comfortable and the bathroom was very beautiful.

The breakfast assortiment was the best that we have ever seen. There were so many things to choose of.Great juices, perfect coffees, pastries etc... The area was spacious with comfortables chairs, the staff highly trained, which assured that we were really in a top 5 star hotel.

There was a particular staff that was so professional and friendly that he would remember our tea and coffee the way we like, and even one morning when I went down alone for breakfast, he provided me a newspaper without I request it....it was the best action that has ever happened to me in a hotel and it will remain in my memory everytime I speak about this hotel..

The spa is gorgeous and huge with very professional and friendly staff.

The ONLY complaint that we have was the service received during the check in around 20:00 hs on 20 January 2014 (our room number 215). A female recepcionist was very cold, unwelcoming and gave us a very negative impression about the hotel at first. We felt like requesting the staff to put our suitcases back to our car and look for another hotel. We are glad that we didn't because later we discovered that person doesn't reflect the Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel at all, she shoudn't be there, I am afraid.

Plus:
-Breakfast service and assortment
-Hotel facilities and room comfort
-Fitness and the gorgeous spa
-Fitness and spa staff

Mins:
-Our check in experience
-The hotel could be located closer to the city centre, but it's just 12 minutes drive (taxis are very cheap)
-The swimming pool is smaller than it looks in the hotel website
-It would be nice if guests didn’t have to pay to use the spa facilities, but only the services provided (massages, for example).

Room Tip: room with a mangroves view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear FrankdeVries,

I personally thank you for a wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us.

While we appreciate your kind compliments on the hotel as well as the excellent service, we are disappointed to know that we were not able to wow you in some aspects of your visit most especially during your check-in in our reception. We apologize and regret the inconvenience this has caused you. Please rest assured that all your comments are well noted and we will addressed to the team to avoid similar shortfalls in the future and improve our service.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and ensure that your next stay goes beyond your expectation.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Address: Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.