We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay again!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and save more
Ranked #11 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay again!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here again for 7 nights. Stayed here before and had an excellent stay and again this year was the same. The hotel staff could not do enough for us. The hotel is very peaceful which is what we want but it does have a really nice rooftop bar which overlooks the whole of Abu Dhabi and the mangroves. The rooms are very spacious and very peaceful. Denis was excellent and he could not do enough for us, as was the staff at reception and the very kind staff at the Kasara lounge. My son feels the same as us and he enjoyed his stay too. Hoping to be back next year.

Room Tip: Choose a mangroves room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear debra979,

Thank you for very much for the nice comments.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit. Thank you most especially for commending not only the hotel itself but the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by our associates. We will certainly share your wonderful feedback to our team.

Your valued patronage is very much appreciated and looking forward to be at your service again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    66
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
63
130
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We decided to give the hotel a second chance and again booked during Eid. We went for the Kasara Lounge and I have to say it is really worth it. We got to skip the breakfast in the super busy restaurant downstairs and had it instead prepared to order in the club lounge. The lounge had a light range of snacks available at all times- enough that we made meals out of them sometimes. There are endless hot and soft drinks, and the service is great. The lounge itself is lovely and peaceful with amazing views.
**
The rooms were pretty much the same as regular rooms, though I have so say that the balcony ones are smaller as they account for the size of the balcony and make the room smaller (not very nice when you're paying extra for it).
We decided to give the spa another chance- it is beautifully decorated but we didn't like our treatments. This is a shame as they charge much more than what other spas are charging yet fail to live up to the Anantara name.
We tried the Thai restaurant again and loved it so a big thumbs up.
Had a bit of a hassle at check in with finding the booking but finally figured it out. We didn't really mind as the check in is done in the lounge with drinks and a great view.
Over all a much better stay. If you are looking for a relaxing resort style break- go ahead and book !

Room Tip: I would skip the Balcony option & just book the Kasara Lounge..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Gentle Traveler I,

Thank you for having taken the time to review your second visit and sharing your feedback.

We always welcome not just positive feedback but also constructive comments which we find extremely helpful in the continuous improvements of our product and services. Your comments on the spa treatments have been noted and will be reviewed with our Spa team.

Furthermore, rest assured that your great comment on our signature Thai restaurant, Pachaylen, will be shared with our Food & Beverage Service and Culinary team.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent a week end at this hotel as part of our honeymoon trip. Very nice rooms with excellent service from all the staff. We had lunch by the pool where we ordered some grilled steack and tiger prawns : quality of food , presentation , portion and value for money was very poor and not as expected to be in a five stars hotel.
Overall its a nice hotel and we will go there again but will definetely eat outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear dubai1311,

Thank you for your honest review and valuable comments about your recent stay.

It was our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our team’s commitment to high standards.

We are grateful for all feedback as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs and continuously improve the service. Your comments have been noted and will be discussed with the concerned department as we strive to maintain standards of our product and service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to greeting you again one day in the not too distant future and to the privilege of extending to you once again Anantara hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went on this on a Wednesday night- butchers night (note Groupon not valid) - pick any cut of meat you want and get in cooked to your liking, 200dhms or 300dhms with unlimited wine. Had a delicious rare rib steak which melted in the mouth.
Excellent place. Dress up. Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Quiet setting, close to the airport and a 5 minute drive to the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. We arrived early and were informed our rooms weren't ready yet. Famished from a day of traveling I retreated to the pool to relax and grab some lunch. However, neither the restaurant or pool were serving food for another hour. Unfortunately, the quiet setting also means there is nothing you can access without a bit of a taxi ride. The infinity pool was quite relaxing though with great views and a hot tub close by. Once I was able to order food it took an extremely long time to get it but was tasty. That night I ordered room service and it was quite the opposite, fast but not very tasty. I found poolside service to be slow the rest of the stay as well. Even a simple glass of wine took 20 minutes.

The rooms themselves are very nice. Spacious, comfortable, large bathroom, office area and couch. I slept comfortably and enjoyed my view from the balcony. The staff was very helpful and warm. I enjoyed my stay minus the quirks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Chedrey1910,

Thank you for your candid feedback about your recent stay.

While we appreciate your kind compliments on the hotel as well as the friendliness of our staff, we are disappointed to know that we were not able to wow you in some aspects of your visit most especially the service. We apologize and regret the inconvenience this has caused you. Please be assured I have taken all your comments on board and are looking for ways to improve these areas for future guests.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and ensure that your next stay goes beyond your expectation.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhigu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Faultless in every aspect. As soon as you arrive you are treated as a special guest. From concierge to desk staff, to room service, restaurants and beyond nothing is too much trouble. Also my room was very well appointed, luxury was everywhere.

The best part of the hotel is the sky bar. It's simply stunning with fantastic views over the mangroves and probably the best cocktails in town.

If you stay in Abu Dhabi, stay at Eastern Mangroves.

Room Tip: The best hotel gym I have ever seen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear PAB77,

I would like to thank you for posting your remarkable review of Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

My team and I are thrilled to note that you found every aspect impeccable. As an Anantara resort, it is our passion that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story, and reading your review we can only hope that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you once more for your praises and we look forward to providing you another amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had mixed experience when it comes to this hotel,
I will start with the staff, the staff are very friendly and their service was perfect, very helpful and friendly


The room is great in terms of size, cleanliness and many areas but the location was horrible, since it's on the ground floor and a city view, it was more like a car parking view, in the morning the reflecting glass window does it's job in terms of privacy but at night I felt like the rooms are exposed.

The swimming pool was very small in my opinion and got very crowded at noon.

but the hotel's lobby and the decoration of the hotel covers many of the flaws that are mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Hamad A,

Thank you for your kind review and for pointing out our fantastic Associates who make the difference on a daily basis. They are equally pleased to receive your praise.

It is regretted that indeed some of our entry level rooms face to the city and not the beautiful Mangroves of Abu Dhabi. Perhaps for your next visit you may reserve one of our over 120 Deluxe Mangroves Balcony room so that you experience one of the most stunning views in the capital.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Address: Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.