We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great buffet in a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 116 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great buffet in a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went on this on a Wednesday night- butchers night (note Groupon not valid) - pick any cut of meat you want and get in cooked to your liking, 200dhms or 300dhms with unlimited wine. Had a delicious rare rib steak which melted in the mouth.
Excellent place. Dress up. Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    77
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
69
148
21
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Quiet setting, close to the airport and a 5 minute drive to the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. We arrived early and were informed our rooms weren't ready yet. Famished from a day of traveling I retreated to the pool to relax and grab some lunch. However, neither the restaurant or pool were serving food for another hour. Unfortunately, the quiet setting also means there is nothing you can access without a bit of a taxi ride. The infinity pool was quite relaxing though with great views and a hot tub close by. Once I was able to order food it took an extremely long time to get it but was tasty. That night I ordered room service and it was quite the opposite, fast but not very tasty. I found poolside service to be slow the rest of the stay as well. Even a simple glass of wine took 20 minutes.

The rooms themselves are very nice. Spacious, comfortable, large bathroom, office area and couch. I slept comfortably and enjoyed my view from the balcony. The staff was very helpful and warm. I enjoyed my stay minus the quirks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Chedrey1910,

Thank you for your candid feedback about your recent stay.

While we appreciate your kind compliments on the hotel as well as the friendliness of our staff, we are disappointed to know that we were not able to wow you in some aspects of your visit most especially the service. We apologize and regret the inconvenience this has caused you. Please be assured I have taken all your comments on board and are looking for ways to improve these areas for future guests.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and ensure that your next stay goes beyond your expectation.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhigu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Faultless in every aspect. As soon as you arrive you are treated as a special guest. From concierge to desk staff, to room service, restaurants and beyond nothing is too much trouble. Also my room was very well appointed, luxury was everywhere.

The best part of the hotel is the sky bar. It's simply stunning with fantastic views over the mangroves and probably the best cocktails in town.

If you stay in Abu Dhabi, stay at Eastern Mangroves.

Room Tip: The best hotel gym I have ever seen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear PAB77,

I would like to thank you for posting your remarkable review of Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

My team and I are thrilled to note that you found every aspect impeccable. As an Anantara resort, it is our passion that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story, and reading your review we can only hope that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you once more for your praises and we look forward to providing you another amazing experience.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had mixed experience when it comes to this hotel,
I will start with the staff, the staff are very friendly and their service was perfect, very helpful and friendly


The room is great in terms of size, cleanliness and many areas but the location was horrible, since it's on the ground floor and a city view, it was more like a car parking view, in the morning the reflecting glass window does it's job in terms of privacy but at night I felt like the rooms are exposed.

The swimming pool was very small in my opinion and got very crowded at noon.

but the hotel's lobby and the decoration of the hotel covers many of the flaws that are mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Hamad A,

Thank you for your kind review and for pointing out our fantastic Associates who make the difference on a daily basis. They are equally pleased to receive your praise.

It is regretted that indeed some of our entry level rooms face to the city and not the beautiful Mangroves of Abu Dhabi. Perhaps for your next visit you may reserve one of our over 120 Deluxe Mangroves Balcony room so that you experience one of the most stunning views in the capital.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Amazed by the beautiful entrance and lobby with a most stunning view over Abu Dhabi’s mangroves this hotel is close by all my favorite spots in the city yet the undisturbed view over green mangroves makes it a tranquil and relaxing place. The weather was already very pleasant for breakfast on the terrace, ideal for observing the many cranes and water birds across the water.
Rooms are very large and pleasant in design. The light in the bathroom might be the only are for improvement, in particular the one in the makeup mirror.
Food across all restaurants is fantastic and the Greek selection on the Pool Deck very, very authentic.
The service in all areas was outstanding, perhaps at times over the top.
I normally don’t use a Spa but due to some pain in my muscles I gave it a try and it was fantastic – all pain was gone.

Room Tip: Take a mangroves view room - budget permitting a Kasara club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Schlumpfi1106,

Thank you for your kind review of our 'Urban Sanctuary'. Your comments on the bathroom lights is noted and we will be looking into it. That you have marked our service standards as high makes us especially happy.
We all here appreciate your praise and look forward to hopefully welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu dhabi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Best Thursday night brunch in Abu Dhabi! 270aed food and adult beverages. Nice range of food including Arabia style smoked fish BBQ much enjoyed with friends and this outdoor venue. Only criticism would be a wider choice of included beverages


Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear only1ian,

Thank you for giving us such a nice review on our Thursday BBQ. Also thank you for mentioning our freshly whole piece grilled Salmon for which we are particularily proud of.

The team and I are looking forward to seeing you soon again and I remain.
With kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAUDI ARABIA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is lovely, very relaxing in a quiet place. We visited during the August Eid and it was was very quiet. Great place to stay, relaxing during the day and then easy to get a taxi to go out at night.

Very helpful and friendly staff, good service. Only two places to eat, but the Thai restaurant was excellent!

The spa is def. worth a visit! If you are looking to relax this is def one to go for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear KATY H,

Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay in August. We all appreciate your praise. You may be pleased to know that though our own restaurant offering remains to be three (Ingredients, Pachaylen, and Pool Deck), we will welcome additional outlets such as Italian, Seafood, Steak house, and a supermarket to the Eastern Mangroves Complex to which all our guests have access too.

I look forwrad to welcoming you back soon and remain.
Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Address: Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 116 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;