We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start - recovered well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate

Save Saved
You added Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 92 156, Road 34, Gate City Bain Al Jessrain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #50 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad start - recovered well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After waiting 45 minutes to check-in as only one person was working on Reception, it then took over 3 and a half hours and 2 complaints to get the extra bed which was already pre-booked. However, the F & B manager, Bernard O'Neill dealt with the matter immediately and very effectively. He turned the stay around completely! The food in the Italian restaurant was excellent and the poolside BBQ brunch with a DJ was amazing too. We really enjoyed our time after the bad start.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
22
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked a two night stay at the Novotel, and from experiences around the globe staying with Accor had a reasonable idea of what to expect. Rooms are fairly spacious with views of lagoon or partial desert and reclaimed land under development. It's fairly new and the hotel public areas large and capable of dealing with numerous people. This is where you begin to feel a little ripped off. The Novotel normally a 4 star is located right next door to the ibis normally a 3 star and yet the guests at both share the same breakfast hall the Same pool and the same bar pool, which invariably leaves you feeling slightly duped. Rooms are a good standard, and well furnished and staff were attentive and helpful. Location wise you will need a car as Abu dhabi city is some 10 to 15 minutes away to the corniche and whilst the hotel does have a pool you have to be up with the sparrows to gain any sunshine as the pool deck is in the shade at this time of year from around 10 till 1700, so in summer when the temperature is at its highest I was told its very hot, suggesting design flaw on hotel angles to the sun.

Room Tip: If you want to chilax by the pool in the sunshine, go somewhere else. We felt we had to go somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The is clean with nicely decorated small room
It's far of the city. If you choose the hotel you need to have a car
The reception was not good as only trainee was available! ! She had gave me a later trouble due to her ignorance and the hotel management hadn't corrected her mistake

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After enduring a long international flight and being up for over 36 hours, we decided to stay in Abu Dhabi rather than push on to our final destination in Al Ain. Novotel was offering a good rate for the night so we choose this hotel. Once we checked-in the troubles began. The A/C was not functioning well so we called for maintenance. They responded quickly, but after a short while it was obvious that the room was not cooling down. In the meantime we ordered some food from room service hoping to get something better than airline food. We called maintenance again and again they quickly responded. It took a while for the food to be delivered, but we wished it had never been ordered. All three of our meals were awful. We fell asleep dog tired. The A/C never cooled down the room and by 6:30 am it was too hot to sleep.

Now the pleasant part - The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds and a bath with a separate shower that you won't want to get out of for a long time.

I discussed our problems with the manager and he more than satisfactory made up for our misery. The next time we need a place to stay in Abu Dhabi, we will go back to the Novotel. I always appreciate a place that goes out of the way to right a wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I spent 2 nights at Novotel from last week and it was a great stay for me. I got a very good rate from Booking.com, Non refundable rate but I didn't want it to charge by credit card. I talked to the lady at Reservations Ms Zarina. She offered the same rate to pay directly to the hotel at the time of check-in. Also enrolled me for their Le Club programme as well. The staff is always with smiling face and very helpful. I got room with great view on 10th floor :)
Room is perfect and clean. The breakfast is great with varieties of Tea & coffee :)
But Wi-Fi wasn't that strong at room, but strong at lobby area & at restaurant on 1st floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate

Address: P.O. Box 92 156, Road 34, Gate City Bain Al Jessrain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel Abu Dhabi gate is featuring 160 spacious rooms as well as 64 one bedroom apartments, conferencing facilities, WIFI and indoor parking close to Abu Dhabi Airport, Exhibition Centre, Sports City and Musaffah area including great views over the city. The 3 restaurants, coffee shop, pool bar and Shisha lounge together with the pool, gym, spa and aerobic/dance room makes this a popular hotel choice for business or leisure, with the beautiful SZ Grand Mosque right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.