We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best chinese in abu dhabi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge

Rouge
Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi | Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Road, Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 617 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #366 of 1,621 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A stylish restaurant, experience the best in Chinese cooking at Rouge, serving delicious signature dishes. Sample the delights of traditional Chinese culinary. Location : First Floor, Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi Opening Hours : Tuesday to Sunday Dinner: 07:00 p.m. to 11:30 p.m.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Among the best chinese in abu dhabi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went here without a lot of expectations just the other day and I was highly impressed.

I hadn't heard of the place before but I was getting some car work done near the Rocco Forte hotel (not Hilton hotel apparently) and decided to give it a try.

First off we arrived before the restaurant opened at 7pm, and the matre d was so nice that she opened the place 5-10 minutes early just for us. Being impatient I definitely appreciated this.

We ordered some dim sum which was good, but didn't blow me away.

For our main we ordered bulgogi and then the wasabi tenderloin. Both were absolutely unbelievable. They were so good.

I must say the bulgogi was totally not authentic like I've had at some other places in Abu Dhabi. It's more crispy and thick meat kind of like a Mongolian beef. however I love Mongolian beef so this wasn't a big disappointment. The flavor was very thick, but leaves you wanting more rather than overpowering you.

Hard to believe but the wasabi tenderloin was even better. it had a thick spicy/peppery black sauce that was rich and delicious. Unlike any other sauce I've had before. The meat was cooked to a perfect medium rare (strange they didn't ask me how I wanted the steak cooked). I was quickly full, but ate the whole thing simply because it was too good for me not to eat.

For our entire meal the service was very attentive as well.

the only potential gripe is that this is a very expensive restaurant, even by Abu Dhabi standards. So only go there with caution. That said, I've been to a number of restaurants in this city that charge just as much as Rouge and are not nearly as good.

This place is worth the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, in a strange location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We tried out the Rouge restaurant at the Rocco Forte for three principal reason - 1, we always like to try something different, 2, it is quite near where we live, and 3, it had come recommended by some friends.

We turned up on a Thursday night without having made a reservation. The first thing is that the Rocco Forte Hotel is located is a rather strange location, well away from the main part of town. The hotel itself is a nice piece of modern architecture, with a sculptured glass front with the now almost obligatory coloured LED lights adorning the outside. Finding the restaurant is strange too. You are directed to some lifts on one side of the hotel, then as you come out you walk away from the lifts trying to find where it is. There must be some signs, but we didn't see them. It turns out that the rather understated doorway is right by the lifts.

The restaurant occupies the entire eastern end of the first floor, with the centre being part of the atrium that looks down on another restaurant below. The roof is a load of floors up, so the general impression is one of space, and as the walls are glass you have a good view of the outside, not that there is anything worth looking at!

The tables are ranged around the outside, and a lot of the table have little hoods that proved lighting furnished by red LED's; not to everyone's taste perhaps. One other minor gripe was that the air conditioning vents blew quite a strong current of air, which after a while became uncomfortable.

Despite being a Thursday, there were maybe three or four other occupied tables, only a small proportion of the total number; we put this down to its location not being a good selling point.

The service was a little slow, as there were not many staff for what is quite a big restaurant. However, they were courteous. A small Japanese style complimentary dish was given to us while we perused the menu.

We went there for the Japanese food, and we ordered a selection. It arrived in a timely manner, and we were very impressed by the presentation. We have tried sushi and sashimi in a number or restaurants around the world by this was the best presentation by far. For example, the salmon and tuna sashimi arrived prepared in the form of a rose, with the different coloured slices of sushi forming the petals. However we are pleased to report that the sashimi itself matched the quality of the presentation; the slices were razor thin, and the quality of the fish used was excellent, in terms of both taste and texture.

The rest of of the dishes ordered were equally good, and we also went for a Chinese dish in the form of the Beijing Duck. That too was excellent.

My wife commented to the staff on the quality of the presentation, and very soon after the Chef, Shella, came out to ask us how everything was. She was very attentive, and keen that we gave her our opinions of her preparation and quality of the food. She also invited us to taste a dish that she developed and wanted to put on the menu. The dish was salmon rolls dressed with crab meat, and like all the other dishes was great. Hopefully she will indeed include it.

To sum up, for us this is an excellent Japanese restaurant that we would heartily recommend. It is out of the way, but we believe it merits the effort to get to for the quality of the food. The only shame is that many will probably deem it too far away from the centre of Abu Dhabi to try it. If they do, they won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, Delicious food, Welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've been there for the first time, the staff are very welcoming, all the attention is with you, the described the menu & dishes clearly.
Food is amazing & delicious, you will enjoy every bite, all spices are really balanced that you will feel the taste of every dish. Desserts are just WOW, we cannot get enough of it !
Atmosphere is very calm, great for couples on special occasion, I am not sure if it is suitable for families with children.
For sure I will go there in shaa Allah many times in future,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The restaurant needs to be known, the service, the ambiance, the food were just phenomenal. This restaurant anywhere in the world would be ranked top 3. Rocco Forte has a gem that hopefully will be advertised so the locals (expat included), the visitors will know. The hostess was very gracious, she was knowledgeable of the menu. The welcome drink was interesting and brought knowledge to my culinary world. The dim sum are just exquisite, my duck was done perfectly as well as the prawns and cashew. Keep up I shall come back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fab restaurant in the Rocco Forte hotel. We started with some great cocktails - my cosmopolitan had a nice sharp citrusy edge to it, just the way I like them. I had the tuna tartare tower to start, which was lovely, but the highlight of the meal was the duck - seriously the best duck I have ever eaten. It was moist and juicy, whilst the skin was crisp and delicious. Every mouthful was an absolute delight. The service was top notch and the restaurant is a feast for the eyes too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.