We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Grill

Blue Grill
Yas Island Rotana Hotel | Golf Plaza, Yas Island, Abu Dhabi 131755, United Arab Emirates
+9712 656 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,618 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was good friendly staff nice food and warm friendly atmosphere. Eat here once a week when in country.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Blue Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Flarris999,

We are very happy to hear that you visit us every time when you come to Abu Dhabi.

You might be interested to know that we will have a special wine evening on the 22nd of October. A wine representative from Maison Sichel in Bordeaux, France, will present five of his wines paired with a special 5-course-menu created by our Head Chef at the Blue Grill. We sincerely hope that you will be in town; kindly e-mail me for details.

We look forward to welcoming you to Blue Grill again soon.

Warm wishes

Kim Stellbrinck
Blue Grill Manager
kim.stellbrinck@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    51
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to spend time with special people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Being a local from Abu Dhabi, I'm always excited to visit places like Blue Grill that really defines complexity of food at its best and brings comfort to a cuisine that I wouldn't be comfortable with otherwise.

Food that is served here is phenomenal. Once I had the lamb dish with different little sauces to dip it in. Last time I had the 250 grams beef (I think it was aged beef). Both entrees were worth the money and the wait.

Expect to pay around 300DHS per person but, of course, depending on what you order it can vary.

The ambiance wasn't particularly great for my taste I would have liked a brighter lighting but I guess it's just what it is and others seem to like it.

Blue Grill really shows you to what level food can be served at and their level is pretty damn high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Blue Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Abdul A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed and positve review about Blue Grill.
It was a great pleasure for me to read how much you appreciate our efforts and your compliments will surely be passed on to our culinary and service team.

As you have noticed correctly, the dark lighting is liked very much by most of our guests as it creates a relaxed and romantic atmosphere.
Also, the waiting time is due to all dishes being prepared freshly to ensure only the highest quality for our guests.

We look very much forward to seeing you in Blue Grill again soon.

Warm regards,

Kim Stellbrinck
Blue Grill Manager
kim.stellbrinck@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food was great especially the baked oysters, the filipina lady who assisted us was so kind to checked with the chef it was possible to (sort of) change the menu as we want it to be baked and not raw. Also we ordered medium rare steak and it was INCREDIBLY GOOD! Staffs have the knowledge of the menu and was very attentive and helpful.The food and service was excellent. We'll definitely recommend it! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Blue Grill, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Ehmjhay_GP,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the Blue Grill team and the Yas Island Rotana for your great feedback!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the service, the food, and the atmosphere in Blue Grill as well. We are committed to using the very best quality ingredients and to ensure all of our guests feel welcome for every visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Yas Island.

Warm regards,

Kim Stellbrinck
Blue Grill Manager
kim.stellbrinck@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend at Yas Island for my husbands birthday and a friend recommended Blue Grill. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive. Our starters- crab cakes and scallops- were delicious, they were cooked perfectly and presented well. We both opted for tenderloin and they were served as requested. Very tastey but not melt in your mouth steaks. Side dishes were also very good. The staff presented my husband with a large chocolate cake (complimentary) to celebrate which was a lovely addition. The atmosphere was lovely, dark, romantic and almost child free which was what we had hoped for as we decided not to take our own little ones away with us (the only child in the restaurant was exceptionally well behaved!) Highly recommend if staying in Yas Island. 2 courses, large water and a bottle of wine cost around 1200 AED.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Blue Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear SnowWhitey,

Thank you for choosing Blue Grill to celebrate your husband's birthday. I hope he also enjoyed the driving experience on the Yas Marina Circuit.

It is very encouraging for us to hear how much you enjoyed the crab cakes, scallops and tenderloins as well as the restaurant atmosphere. We strive to provide relaxing surroundings in Blue Grill to create a well rounded dinner experience.

We sincerely hope that you will think of us for your next family getaway or to celebrate an occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back and will always do our best to make your visit memorable.

Best wishes,

Kim Stellbrinck
Blue Grill Manager
kim.stellbrinck@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you like attentive staff that know what they are doing, and besides that of course are a meat lover like me, Blue Grill is definitely worth a visit. The Atmosphere in Blue Grill is nice and pleasant and the fact that you can overlook the kitchen and see all the preparations makes it note worthy. The staff is excellent and cater to your every need, not being too pushy but knowing exactly when and how to address you. We chose to go with the wagyu fillet which was a fantastic choice. I like my meat medium-rare and it was cooked to perfection, the only thing not perfect was the seasoning. One good thing, though, about Blue Grill is, unlike any other meat restaurant I have ever been to, that they serve a selection of different mustards that you can "dip" the meat into. It might sound weird, but YUMMY! Tastylicious!!!! Can only recommend Blue Grill to every one, especially meat lovers. It is definitely value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Blue Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear JeLundgren,

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your dinner at Blue Grill this much and that we are your restaurant of choice on Yas Island.

The Wagyu tenderloin is definitely a favourite among our top customers and it's great that you appreciated it as well as our selection of mustards which we believe enhances the dining experience. Having said that, please seize the opportunity to try some of our other mouthwatering steaks and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Also, it is a great motivation for our service team to hear that you enjoyed our service.

We hope that we will become your preferred steakhouse in Abu Dhabi; we look forward to welcoming you to Blue Grill again soon!

Kind regards,

Kim Stellbrinck
Blue Grill Manager
kim.stellbrinck@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grill also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Blue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.