We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a deal for the UAE residents I found online and were blown away. The drive into the hotel is a great start to the overall look of this gorgeous resort. Super quick check in from Blanca, we were there early for the Champagne Brunch so as expected our room wasn't ready. She took our phone number and called in about an hour to let us know the room was ours.

Ok, the room was fab! We requested a wheelchair accessible room and were so pleased with the layout. Two large washrooms on either side of the bedroom allowed us to both enjoy without tripping over each other. Our wheelchair could easily move everywhere even on the ground floor patia, with table and chairs. The large bathroom for my husband could have easily fit 10 people in the open shower and toilet area...he did keep it to himself though. The bathtub in "my" bathroom was so huge you would like like a child soaking in it.

The Champagne brunch was also great. We sat outside, listened to the light jazz duo, drank bubbly and enjoyed the bartenders "cocktail" entertainment. Auralie, a lovely French staff member couldn't have been knowledgeable:I had several chocolate desserts in front of me and she suggested two sweeter wines that would be more suitable than the champagne...indeed they were.

The food at Olea for both breakfasts was superb. A large choice, fresh and delicious. The cinnamon buns were the best ever. We had met Fahd Mouamir,Manager of F&B, the day before and when he saw me walking around the buffet he greeted me by name.... nice touch.

It was my birthday, so a delicious small cake was there for us to enjoy in the room as well.

Ok, now to the pool! The adult pool has the neatest loungers, just floating in the water, around a slightly private pool area. Great drink service and no kids. Aaahhhhhh.

The bed was great, sheets,pillow etc all good. TV had all the channels as well.

Once again a superb weekend, great food, and the service equal to the Ritz Carleton...none better. We will be back!

Room Tip: Sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    206
    97
    34
    22
See reviews for
296
423
34
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay here during a recent conference. The bedroom and service was first class. The butler service was friendly and efficient and the wi-fi was free! I was impressed too by the large buffet restaurant at the heart of the hotel which offered good value meals for a hotel of this quality. A great beach too!

Room Tip: Choose sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Enjoyed an excellent week at the St Regis, where we were impressed by the quality of the environment and the attentiveness of the staff.

Our spacious and well-furnished bedroom overlooked the pool area, and any of our requests were immediately satisfied by our butler service.

The quality & choice of the food served at the buffet and in the restaurants was excellent. The pools, beach area and gym are all of a very big standard, with first-class staff to assist at all times.

We gave some feedback to restaurant management, requesting they introduce no-smoking tables in the outdoor areas, so that it is not necessary to have to endure other people's smoking when trying to enjoy a meal outside. It should not be beyond a hotel of this standard to achieve this simple request....

Overall, happy to recommend the St Regis for a relaxing & care-free stay.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Col777,

Thank you for your recommendation and for rating us so highly. We are pleased that you enjoyed our all dining venue, Olea and that the quality and variety of the food was up to your satisfaction. Such recognition is indeed rewarding for the team as it is our endeavor to offer an experience beyond expectation.

We eagerly look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We (my husband & I ) have just returned from what is possibly the most relaxing weeks holiday ever ! The hotel is absolutely stunning. We thought it might be too large at first but the ambience and hospitality made it feel really intimate. There were so many helpful staff on hand all willing to assist. A special mention to our butler Charith Mel who was so warm & gracious and made us feel so special during our stay a big thank-you to him. Also Jonelle & Jarvis in 55 restaurant were very charming where we enjoyed a wonderful meal for my birthday. Everyone seems happy working for the St Regis, happy staff happy customers!
I am pleased I did not stay in the city centre as I would not have missed this beautiful place for the world. Our bedroom was so comfortable and luxurious the bathroom is pure genius with a stunning shower as the divide between his & hers side. The Olea buffet varied and all top notch. we also dined at the Pan Asian restaurant, again lovely food and surrounded by beautiful water features. No grumbles from us and we will definitely return again one day.

Room Tip: Try to get a Luxury sea view room definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear LondonLynsey,

Thank you for your return and choosing us again as your home whilst staying in the city. We are delighted to read that you could relax and unwind at our Mediterranean-inspired resort and thank you for your recognition of Charith, Jonelle & Jarvis’ efforts. What is more, your feedback for Olea and Sontaya is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again for another bespoke stay very soon.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regenstauf, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Accommodation 5***** - Beautiful and luxurious rooms. Make sure you're in the right wing to find your room as the hotel is very big. We had the *do not disturb* sign on which is a red flash outside your door. Nevertheless staff tried continually to enter the room. Phone calls and knocking on the door constantly over a period of 2 hours. This should not happen in a 5* luxury resort.

Service 3*** - Our room was not ready we when arrived although it was already 4 o'clock in the afternoon. We had to wait almost 2 hours to get our room. Poor.

Recreation 5***** - Gym and swimming pool is excellent. There is a separate pool for serious swimmers indoor with lap lanes.

Food 5***** - Choice of dishes and quantity is extraordinary as well as the taste.

Summary: Excellent hotel with good value for money. We found it a little bit crowded. This explains why our room was not ready at check-in. Lots of people at the pool and in the restaurant. Beach is beautiful. Hotel is on Saadiyat Island and away from the city of Abu Dhabi. So either book a tour at the concierge or go on your own by rental car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Stefan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we do sincerely apologise for your inconvenience and dissatisfaction. Your feedback on areas of improvements is appreciated and will be passed on to the team to ensure a memorable experience is delivered to very guest.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The St. Regis Saadiyat is a stunning property, with beautiful marble everywhere and a real wow factor.

The room was large with a huge bathroom and an amazing shower, the beds were extremely comfortable and always had a great nights sleep. The furnishings were luxury but had a slight arabian touch which was nice. One thing to note is that there is no hot drink making facilities in the room and you must call '0' which is the Butler service, personally I enjoyed this service as they served complimentary fresh coffee which was a nice change from the usual sachets. If you can afford the sea view definitely go for it, as we had a back view and the view was basically a wall. One thing that was bizarre is that face soap is used as hand soap, this created a little confusion.

The food in the hotel was great and was always fresh and quick. The hotel has lovely lounge areas, especially the manhattan lounge and the library. Our package did not include breakfast, I suggest making sure you have breakfast as it is 160 dirhams (£27), if not there is a supermarket opposite the hotel that funnily enough stocks Waitrose products.

One thing I would say is that there was a little confusion regarding the spa, no-one mentioned it and we didn't realise you had to have a treatment to use the facilities.

The staff truly did deliver St. Regis service, especially the door men. Nothing is around the hotel but taxi's are inexpensive and you can reach the centre in 10 mins, 25 minutes to Marina Mall/Emirates Palace area.

In regards to Abu Dhabi itself, it's a nice place however I wouldn't come back, as it is only recently being developed you can see everything in a day. The desert safari is a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear russgort,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for your kind words of appreciation. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our door men. It is certainly a pleasure to deliver to you a truly memorable experience and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel complex is first class every staff member was courteous and polite and seemed to be very well trained on serving the customer.

A good location with an average 20/25 minute taxi ride to get to various locations in the City.

Don't let this put you off the costs of taxis are very reasonable.

The Restaraunts in the hotel were very good a choice of four which gave you a very varied choice.

Outside of the hotel there are many fine eateries we ate in Hakkasan, Bice and Pearls &Caviar would highly recommend all of these.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room on the 6/7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kenfolly,

Thank you taking the time to post your wonderful review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our bespoke St. Regis experience.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again for another bespoke stay in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.