We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“World class service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked the St Regis on the recommendation of a friend for a family holiday - two adults and our toddler son. We were worried that the St Regis might be a little bit too ‘high end’ to cater for our little boy. How wrong we were!

From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn’t do enough to keep our son entertained, bringing him cookies while we checked-in, as well as chocolates and other gifts throughout our stay. It was all spontaneous and very genuine. He loved the attention, and it made our stay extremely enjoyable. We were aware that Abu Dhabi was culturally very suited to young children, and that was abundantly clear throughout our holiday. One minor word of caution, Western families (sorry to generalise) might find the tactile approach to children by staff a little too ‘full on’, but, personally, as it was all so genuine, I didn’t mind.

The Sandcastle Club (no extra charge) was fantastic! Our son went there every day, and loved the toys, pool, water games and other activities. He loved the staff too! On our last day, we went twice, to make sure we said goodbye and thanked them all. Again, the team were genuinely sad to see him go, and, guess what, more gifts!

As we waited to leave after check-out, the Butler Supervisor came and waited with us, checking how we had enjoyed our stay, and, again, looking after our son. Superb personal touch!

As many others have mentioned, the room was great too. We opted for two sizeable and comfortable queen beds, so that our son had his own bed (we received a cot aswell, which was very small, so pleased that we made this choice). The bathroom was well equipped and spacious, with double basins, a huge, deep bath and a luxuriously large shower. The balcony added a great additional touch, and we couldn’t have asked for more in the room. We used the family pool throughout our stay, and, again, the service was great. Nothing was too much, and the lifeguards took a keen and serious interest in our son’s exploits in the pool, and my wife’s attempts to get him to swim!

The beach area is great. As others have said, the seabed is VERY rocky as you enter, but free beach shoes are available to use free of charge, and once in the water, it is lovely and warm.

As part of the overall St Regis complex on the island, a number of shops and restaurants have now opened. We went to Shakespeare and Co. twice (food was hit and miss), and the Spinney’s supermarket, although small in size, stocked a wide range of essentials, (including nappies!) and was open until 22.40 every night. We didn’t eat at the hotel (except breakfast, which had something for everyone), so can’t comment on the restaurants.

Travel by taxi into the city is easy, and taxis charge between 25 and 40 dirhams depending on the distance. Great value! Taxis were always available at the front of the hotel.

We have travelled extensively over the world - for both business and pleasure - and we both agree that the service offered at the St Regis was faultless. If the team keep it up, this will be THE standard by which others could be measured. Well done and thank you to the management and ALL staff for making our holiday so relaxing and memorable. We hope to be able to visit again.....

Room Tip: We had a second floor Superior Room without a sea view - no complaints! Ground floor rooms had mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us highly. I am delighted to read that your family and you enjoyed our resort’s facilities and our team took every opportunity to make you feel relaxed and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another world class experience.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    222
    98
    37
    24
See reviews for
329
449
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms are likely the best fixtures of this hotel. They have as well some shops and a bar which has a terrace with sea view. Service needs to be worked out and the design of the hotel, though beautiful gives a little bite of a cold feeling, but it is an address to stop. They also have a collection of excellent restaurants, Thai, fish, Japanese,...

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor and see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed our dining venues. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at the hotel I was taken by the beautiful interior & exterior of this hotel which met my expectations of a st Regis- unfortunately that was all that met my expectations! The cosmetics might be lovely but the service is terrible. Upon check in we were not given any information regarding the hotel shuttle service, the free wifi or how to use the complementary butler service or what it entails ( dont get too excited by the " complementary butler service"- the " free" tea arrived without enough teabags and after an hour& 3 phone calls from me the spare teabag arrived to a pot of tea that had gone cold long ago!)

I went to concierge to request a gym timetable which they insisted they would bring to my room- I thought this was very helpful- 3 hours and a phone call later it still hadnt arrived. I had to personally revisit concierge to complain again after which I finally recieved it .

We spoke to a manager to voice our displeasure at the service and she was very apologetic asking if we would accept a basket of fruit for the remaining 2nights of our stay even asking us what fruits we like & a convenient time to leave them in the room.We were assured it would await us upon arrival from our evening out however as the service had been so terrible, walking back to our room this evening my husband and I were joking that the basket probably would not be there.. Lo and behold we just entered our room and there was no basket of fruit! It's honestly laughable!

If this is how an SPG gets treated I dread to think what kind of service a non SPG would get.

For all Abu Dhabi has to offer, you could do a lot better than the st Regis.. If you are looking for a fuss free 5* experience this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with us. As we constantly work towards providing our guests the best service, we appreciate your feedback. While I feel sorry that you have such a dim impression of us, I am happy to know that a manager from our team met with you on several occasions to ensure your needs were managed in the best possible manner, including providing a complimentary transfer to Dubai International Airport and sharing that your room had a ‘do not disturb’ sign displayed not allowing room service. We hope you had a pleasant journey and hope you will allow us the opportunity to rectify your experience with us. Should you wish to contact me in the interim, I can be contacted on stregis.saaditay@stregis.com.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stans, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had a wonderful stay at this fabulous resort with beautiful pools, a white beach and a clear turquoise sea.
all the staff was extremely helpful and kind, always full of care. in particular we want to thank Mousa( Moses)- Vimara- and our butler Sugiarti. Great people!
the rooms are stunning!
we will be back soon.

Room Tip: we stayed in the superior room and that was the best of what one can imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. I will be delighted to share your note with Moses, Vimara and Sugiarti and we look forward to welcoming again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

we stayed during June .. in which the weather was quite hot .. our purpose was to be a way and of course the beach ...

We booked for standard room, twin beds for 2 nights ... the checking in took time it was actually a busy day crowded and required more to be organised as some of the guests were lost.

Our room was big, clean and the bath room quite spacious loved it .. there was issue for water however it was solved.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all the time ... however the butler service seriously need to be considered once again by the hotel .. as it took time to bring tea or coffee.

The beach was clean and the sea was so so nice clean, except it was rocky ... and the beach away from the sunbed

overall loved my stay

Room Tip: You don't have to have breakfast at the hotel cuz cross the hotel there is a restaurant in which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and apologize for delays at check-in. Glad to read our staff was able to provide you with assistance and be at your service throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 5 nights on our return from Thailand. We are big fans of the UEA and this hotel did not disappoint, with only a few small criticisms.

I am not sure how long this hotel has been open, but the resort seemed very new, with works in progress, but the location is fabulous. It is about a 20 minute drive from the airport, on what seemed to be a man made area/island. It is situated right on the beach with so far very little building work going on - but I am sure this will not be the case for much longer. The hotel is situated in a huge complex, with villas, shops, restaurants being developed. Although the complex is big, the hotel itself is quite compact.

Our room was located on the side of the building, so we didn't have the best view, but could not fault the room itself. The bed was the soooo comfy, slept like a log and I am not a good sleeper! The bathrooms were fabulous, walk-in shower and two sink areas, as well as a big deep bath.

The beach was great, although because of the time of year it was extremely hot, so we preferred to sit round the pool, as the sea is very warm and the pool is better for cooling off! The pool areas are great and the pool lovely, good temperature and spacious. Unfortunately for us (but typical of a hotel off season) they were doing maintenance to the adult pool and we had to share with the children, and being children's holidays there was alot! And alot of the children were with nannies and were very naughty and wild, they gave the life guards a tough time! but we picked an ok spot and avoided them best we could. Pool staff are lovely, very tentative and you get a welcome drink each morning.

I think the biggest weak spot of the hotel was the food. the breakfast buffet was very good, and there was nothing you couldn't have or want. the evening buffet was good, but very samey after a couple of meals. They have several different food stations, with different types of food, which was on the whole good, but not outstanding by any means. The staff were friendly and helpful, service varied between staff and at breakfast Arabic guests definitely got preferential service. Whether this is because they demanded it/expected it, or whether the staff were more inclined to provide this, I am not sure, perhaps a bit of both. We also ate at a couple of the other restaurants, which once again were ok, but we didn't feel that the food was up to the standard of food we have eaten in other 5* hotels or good restaurants around the world, it was more like food you would expect in a good pub/Bistro. This would of been fine, but like all good hotels in UEA the prices were not reflective of the quality of food. one meal we had (one course with water and two aperitifs) was about £90! I don't mind paying alot for food, if the food reflects the price. We had eaten at Breeze at State Tower in Bangkok the night before so our standards were quite high at this point of our trip.

Comparing Abu Dhabi and Dubai I think I preferred Abu Dhabi. It is much quieter and less commercial. There is far more to do in Dubai, but we couldn't do too much in Abu Dhabi because of the temperature. The Mosque is worth a visit - you do need to cover your legs, shoulders and head. There are lots of shops in the city and malls, prices are similar, if not a bit more expensive for certain items. The Heritage village is a let down, it isn't finished and the toilets are third world, so go before you go there! Good views of the city from there though. Would of loved to go to the race track but just too hot when we went.

Culturally i think Dubai is much more westernised and the people are more accepting of westerners. We experienced no pleasantries from people other than those providing a service - taxi drivers, shop keepers etc. It seemed very segregated still. This didn't bother us, but at times we found some people quite rude, for example you would always be expected to move, they would never move, and men are deemed far superior to women, but we have travelled in the UEA several times before so we expect this is a cultural issue that I think you have to expect, even if it is is alien to westerners.

But all in all couldn't really fault this hotel, food could be improved but that is about it. Would also highly recommend Abu Dhabi, it is probably more suited for those looking for a quieter trip than Dubai would offer, I suppose it is what Dubai used to be like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool/sea on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Saadiyat is a natural island and home to Hawksbill turtles, an endangered species. While I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the resort’s Mediterranean ease, I am equally disappointed to know that our food and beverage offerings didn’t live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on the distinctly different yet authentic cuisines and our teams are happy to customize based on preference. I hope on your return we will be able to better suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a real 5 Star Hotel! Outside of Abu Dhabi but not so far away! You always have a Taxi outside to take you to the city center and with very good price! The staff, beginning with the reception at the main door, Reception itself, Concierge, Main Restaurant and People who cleans the rooms, all of them well trained, kind and always with a kind smile and ready to help us! At the beach and swimming pools the same kind of real professional people! The view towards the beach is something wonderful! I really recommend this for people that come to Abu Dhabi, in holidays or business! Everything is really wonderful not only the hotel building but all the surrounds! I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If you like a seaside view that is wonderful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Olivia,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and you complimentary words on our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.