We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We absolutely loved our family break at the St. Regis Abu Dhabi. My brother, who made the booking, informed the staff that it was my birthday and we were surprised by chocolates and cake in the evening as well as an upgrade to a mini-suite. While the hotel is still working out some service issues (a few things, like room service and getting the bill at a restaurant, took longer than expected) we were absolutely delighted with the quality of the rooms, restaurant, beach, and kids club. I was especially surprised when members of the kids club staff greeted my children by name as we walked through the resort. My only wish - a couple of non-motorized water sports, such as kayaking and sailing. Hoping to return soon for another tranquil escape from busy Dubai!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of us.
I am pleased to read that your stay with us offered a true resort getaway and that you took the time to experience our distinctly different dining venues. I will be delighted to share your kind feedback with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing weekend escape from hustle and bustle of Dubai.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    222
    98
    37
    24
See reviews for
329
449
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed just 2 days at the St. Regis to try, about 7 month before we stayed at the emirates Palace. The Hotel is very tasteful furnished, it has a bit a modern touch - we liked it.
The Staff is mostly friendly. The food at the Restaurant as well as from the room service is nice. The Butlers - it depend which one you have - for example in one room there were nuts and fruits when we arrived in the other not (both room had the same category). In one room the bath foam was missing - so you can be happy with your Butler or not.
The kits club “sandcastle” is very nice and the staff there very friendly and helpful.
The Pool and beach area is nice, the staff at the beach also very helpful and friendly not so at the pool – we were a bit disappointed – we had to get the towels by ourselves, no water, no cool towels (like in the Emirates Palace).
Next time we will perhaps try again, we will see.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Beate,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing to stay with us. While I appreciate your kind recognition of our staff, I am sorry for the shortfalls experienced in service at the pool. I will discuss these with my team.
I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

St. Regis at al Sadeyyat Abu Dhabi is pne of the best hotels in Abu Dhabi. lovely and high class resort very luxory excellent for honey mooners. they have variety of resturants .highly recommended. you must try.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ismael,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am happy you enjoyed our distinct dining venues and were able to fully indulge in the resorts Mediterranean inspired flare.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for the HSBC Golf Open last week and must say was extremely impressed with this hotel. Only a year old so still finishing off the smaller detail. Courteous and very pleasant staff who have obviously been trained to smile and greet you all day long - not complaining though, just an observation - it was a bit over the top at times. Our room was very pleasant, clean, big and shiny.The bathroom was enormous, very modern with lovely touches - the toiletries were very good.
One small complaint, the lighting in hotel rooms never take into account a woman putting on her makeup - and this new hotel also missed that touch. The mirrors and sockets were miles from each other so she struggled to do her hair and apply her makeup and had to sit under a lamp in a corner of the room putting her face on!!! She was not a happy bunny!
The location of this hotel is miles from anywhere - do your homework before you go as the City is half an hour away and there is nothing else in the vicinity.
All in all a very pleasant hotel, good food, excellent service but extortionate drink prices but it is Abu Dhabi.
The buffet is very good for breakfast, freshly cooked, and so much to choose from, dinner can be taken there or in one of the other 2 restaurants - though the 55 and 5th Grill Restaurant (named after a Starwood address in the USA) is a very expensive place to eat (£300 for 3 of us - be warned)..
If I was to go back to Abu Dhabi for the golf I can't say I would stay here again - its just too far out and there is absolutely nothing going on in and around the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room as a large portion of this hotel is built at an angle and quite a few room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Archie,

As platinum sponsor of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship 2013 I am pleased you managed to stay with us during this prestigious event. While the resort is located on Saadiyat, it is simply 10 minutes from the city’s downtown. The resort aims to offer guests a tranquil and relaxed setting, and I hope you managed to unwind during your time with us.
In the near future Saadiyat is destined to be the new cultural hub of the middle east with opening of landmark museums, starting with the Louvre in 2015.
I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a week and it was excellent. Breakfast was fantastic and every taste catered for as was the buffet in the evening. Ate at Turquoiz one night and quality of food great although portions were small and lighting too dark. Sontaya was excellent in every way, food and service exceptional. Adult pool area lovely and quiet but in shade after 3pm. Room was lovely with a great bathroom, although getting in and out of the bath was not the easiest due to the height! Also the sink plug didn't work and still didn't work after complaining about it. Gym was the best I've ever been in and the Internet access was spot on. Staff at this hotel were excellent, polite and helpful. It was an extremely pleasurable experience and I'd love to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with us. I am happy you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated our staff’s service and attitude. It is always a moment of pride for me and I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback. I look forward to having you back very soon.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel! We are a family of 5 and booked 2 connecting rooms and it was perfect! The rooms are really nice with a huge bathroom, great shower, nice tub, and a remote controlled shade over the bath! We really enjoyed everything about our stay. The service was great and all the workers were very helpful/attentive. And, the kids club is one of the best we've ever seen. Have different rooms resembling caves for all age groups. Art activitites, games, play station, x box, ping pong table, toys, toys, toys. Our 4, 6, & 9 year old LOVED it and never wanted to leave the Sandcastle Club. The pool in the kids club is great too. A lot of fun for the little ones. While the kids were there, the hubby and I enjoyed some quiet time at the Adult Only Pool. It was great! The main pool is very different and great as well. Just an overall great weekend escape for us. Also, the added bonus of seeing dolphins playing in the sea our first morning there was great! We really felt like we got a lot for our money at this St. Regis. Definitely want to book to go back again!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was great, but, on the wrong side of the hotel. Would have much pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
It is indeed wonderful to read that you spotted Bottlenose dolphins during your stay with us. With the weather now cooler, they are more frequently seen playing along the shoreline and add to the island’s bespoke setting. Another natural inhabitant on Saadiyat are the Hawksbill turtles that nest from April to September, and are an equally exciting addition to a guest experience on Saadiyat.
I am also glad to read that your children enjoyed the Sandcastle Club and you managed to have ample time and relax at the adult pool.
I look forward to having you back very soon

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent Christmas at this hotel. Faultless in every aspect. Great rooms, attentive staff (but not overbearing), delicious food, plenty of sunbeds and to top if off dolphins on the shore on christmas day. Its going to be very hard to beat the St Regis in Abu Dhabi. Thank you to everybody in the hotel for a memorable christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spent the festive season with us on Saadiyat. I am happy that your stay was memorable and flawless during a time when the hotel was in high demand and at full occupancy.
And while you truly enjoyed spotting the Bottlenose dolphins, Saadiyat is also home to Hawksbill turtles that nest from April to Summer. I’m certain you will appreciate the experience of spotting them on our beach.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.