We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations - a must visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital

Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital
Sweihan rd, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 70 attractions in Abu Dhabi
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations - a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Visited the falcon hospital with family from the UK with the pre booked tour. The guide was extremely friendly, informative and funny.
We were not expecting to see all the birds openly and allowed to handle them. We also watched the vets as they performed an examination on a falcon and trimmed its talons and beak.
Would highly recommend a visit to this place if you come to Abu Dhabi.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    46
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A "must see"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

What an amazing place! And the level of access they give the tour guests is surprising. We stood right around the table as an anaesthetized falcon received claw and beak trimming. All guests get a chance to hold and stroke one of these amazing birds.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“See the Care of Falcons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Falcon Hospital is about an hour outside of Abu Dhabi, and costs about $50-70/pp but it is a unique experience to see how seriously the care and feeding of falcons is in the UAE. Falconry is a large cultural and recreational aspect of native Emiratis with falcons having their own passports for travel to other countries. The hospital tour gives facinating history of falconry in the region and checks out every falcon that enters and leaves the country for disease that might be communicable among other falcons. To see the falcon waiting room is a delight with all falcons hooded and standing on little astro-turfed benches. The entrance fee may be a bit pricey, but the hospital also serves as a shelter for cats and dogs, many of which are abandoned in the city. The entry fees help cover those other animal vetrinary costs that are not covered by falcon-owner visits.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I cannot recommend the Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital enough! If you love animals - this is the place for you in Abu Dhabi. Even if you are not animal centric, when they place a large predator on your arm, and she is staring at you with air of authority and self awareness - you cannot help but be amazed. You will be thankful for this experience. And really it is one of those once in a lifetime moments as most of us our not wealthy Sheikhs with our own stable of gorgeous falcons. Oh the Emirates are so lucky in so many ways.

The staff was wonderful. Our tour guide was from Jordan and he was so welcoming. The vet techs and doctors were also so welcoming and kind to us. And we were such a bother....really they let tours get right in the medical rooms and handle the birds while other birds are being worked on. When we walked into the back their were 20 falcons waiting for us. We were stunned. The vet techs did such a great job doing their work and making sure we understand all about Falcon care. It was the best sightseeing event my 2 friends and I did in Abu Dhabi. We even got to hold the birds and there is the cutest little Falcon named Baby who watches over the room and all the vet tech and visitors. She was adorable!

A big thank you to the staff of the Falcon Hospital. One thing to mention, they need more merchandise in the gift area. People want to buy mementos but what they offer is not so exciting.
And as I bet the gift profits would benefit the hospital and falcons its services, this is something to consider.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Falcon Hospital - perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I visited with a local while visiting UAE and was truly excited about the opportunity to see the place - yes I love falcons. At the start you will be greeted with a welcome drinkl and taken on a tour that includes a delightful presentation about falcons - there is an opportunity to ask and answer questions. The guide was very hospitable and amusing and gave us all the information we needed before moving into the clinic area. The sight of falcons sitting on the perches waiting for treatment is inspiring. The opportunity to watch a falcon being aneathetised is fascinating as is the treatment of talons and beak. The falcon regains alertness very quickly and there is no drama - the birds are mainly female and of three types - will leave you to learn which when you get there. I made sure I was at the head of the queue when we got the opportunity to handle a falcon. Plenty of photo opps during the tour and clinic area as well as you holding the falcon. You also get a brief opportunity to enter a large enclosure housing several falcons and might get to see them fly. There are also enclosures with desert owls. If you choose to have lunch after the tour - it is held in an enclosed/ aircon area with floor cushions and a buffet lunch - it is wholesome and generous. I utterly fell in love with the falcons and have the best photo memories of a big white one who after being handled by the group was fed a quail from a gloved hand of one lucky person. Check their website and you can book directly via them if you are driving otherwise through a tour. Highly recommended for anyone interested in raptors.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital to your Saves list