We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 'must do' visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital

Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital
Sweihan rd, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$123*
and up
Ranked #2 of 41 Attractions in Abu Dhabi
Attraction details
Johnstone, Scotland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“This is a 'must do' visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital is one of those trips that you might think will not be for you, but think again, it’s very good. After an introduction we went to a treatment room and met the falcons. Lined up on small benches, wearing their hoods, were these stunning birds. The veterinary nurses explained, as they demonstrated, trimming the falcon claws and beaks. They also demonstrated the techniques used when repairing the feathers. Unfortunately the visit was during moulting season so we did not see free-flying falcons, Nevertheless, seeing these birds being treated and later fed was awe inspiring. Coming eye to eye with one of these birds is something I’ll always remember.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    54
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a great experience and definitely one of the most interesting things I've ever done while travelling. The staff is very nice and knowledgable and they really take the time to answer any questions you have. I got to hold two different falcons and also pet them (they are so fluffy!). One of the girls in the group got to feed it too, which was kind of gross since they feed the birds whole quails and they eat the bones and everything, but it was still cool. The falcons were so calm and beautiful. We got to see one bird get a check up. They trimmed its talons and beak, gave it fluids since it was dehydrated, and took some blood for samples. It was definitely a worthwhile experience and completely worth every penny we paid to go! Absolutely my favorite thing I've done in Abu Dhabi so far!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Uniquely UAE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A very different and up close look at the sport of falconry. Everyone I've taken there loves to hold the falcons and pet them. Not an ordinary tourist tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a worthwhile stop while visiting Abu Dhabi. Guests have the opportunity to learn about the history and care of falcons which are a prized resource in the UAE. The commentators are both knowledgeable and personable. The UAE National host was delightful. This stop needs to be combined with the Falcon show at the Banyan Tree Resort where you can see these amazing birds of prey in action.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Everything you need to know about falcons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Falcons are the most prestigious animals in UAE. In this hospital you learn everything about them. You are even allowed to take them on your arm, and it's wonderful to observe them! Downside: Entrance price is rather high.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abu Dhabi Falcon Hospital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.