We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incapable of keeping reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mezlai

Mezlai
Emirates Palace Hotel, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 690 7999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,615 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incapable of keeping reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Is this restaurant suitable for a celebratory meal? Would you expect the staff to understand the meaning of reserve an outdoor booth for a family of four for lunch? Unfortunately for my family, the staff were unable to deliver such a basic service which even any respectable restaurant is capable of. It spoilt the celebratory lunch I had planned for my father, and left a distaste that cannot be erased by any amount of apologies from the staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Worth the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant if you want to eat Emirati food and experience the best. The menu has variety of options you can choose from. I have tried the lamb biryani and lamb salona which is a typical daily local food. The taste is wonderful, and the food is very light compared to the Emirati home cooked food. They also offer mixture of some Lebanese, Moroccan and western selections. You can have chicken wings, rocket leaves salad with lobster or samosa. The price is reasonable for a luxury hotel about AED 140-130 ($35) for the main course. We were 3 and paid about AED 510.

Highly recommended if you want to taste local Emirati dish. My recommendation avoid any other meals in the menu and stick to the Emirati dish since you came for that experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We celebrated my husbands birthday in this lovely restaurant in December and the experience was perfect from arrival at the hotel to departure.
We were assisted in choosing dishes by Abdul and I chose the mezze plate for an entree and the lamb and chicken grilled meat dish for a main. My husband had the scallops for an entree and the Oman lobster for a main. Neither of us could fault any of these dishes.
We chose coffee only to end the meal but before we were served we heard the sound of approaching music and not only was my husband serenaded with happy birthday but he was presented with an individual birthday cake with glowing candle.
The experience of visiting this amazing hotel just added to the whole experience , it would be impossible to not enjoy sitting outside at a table in a tent being served dinner on a lovely evening. Thank you to Abdul for making our evening so special and we hope to visit again one day soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I recommend Mezlai for tourists, it is awesome, serves emirati traditiona and has an access to emirates palace garden

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! Romantic. Perfect service. Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this restaurant.
Yes, it is pricey, but totally worth every dirham.

I went with my boyfriend. We reserved a cute tent with view of the fountain. Could fit 6 but we were two so we were extra confy in the middle of all the pillows.
We had two non-alcoholic cocktails (they di serve alcohol, we just did not feel like it) and a cold mezze tasting. All the sauces were amazing.
I had a Lamb Biryani, the best lamb of my life.
If you go I highly suggest it!

My boyfriend had a lamb dish, also really good, but I think my dish was just extraordinary.
We did not have desert because we were just too stuffed.
The staff was incredibly friendly and polite, the setting is gorgeous. Quiet, perfect for romantic dinner.

Go here. I swear you won't regret it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezlai also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Mezlai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezlai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.