We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a luxury sophisticate hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche Road East, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #7 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a luxury sophisticate hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

. A new hotel, that started to be fully operational now. Is in the same sophisticated class of the Sofitel brand, with a lot of show that makes it unique.
Large & generous spaces, large rooms, with possibility to open the "wall" between the room and the bath, a wall masked as a nice folding arabesque. Nice & very good quality accessories & cosmetics.
The design is refined, with hi-tech equipment. Internet works fine.
Services are at a top level, prompt, professional and very friendly.
The food is fine, but nothing spectacular, unfortunately, to be in the line of the hotel atmosphere and services. The chef is fine, good dishes, but I think here can be more improvement as imagination. I noticed almost same type of food at dinner as was at lunch time. Some dedicated dinner nights (as Sheraton - that is across Sofitel does) I think that will be welcome.
The meeting & conference rooms are fine, well equipped, in the same class of such hotel, with very good snacks and beverages for the breaks.
As suggestion: everyone is expecting in such actions to find the means to take notices; would be better to replace the pencils that cannot be re-sharpen with some ballpoint pens.
As a remark: the swimming pool, very clean and well maintained otherwise, is sunny afternoon time, so was a pity could not be used in the morning time, before to get too hot during this period.
I really appreciated the stay in the hotel and I recommend it for any corporate actions or individual ones, of course if your budget affords to stay in such location.

Room Tip: ask to give you with view to the sea; the panorama is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. It was satisfying to read that you enjoyed the room design, the commodities of the hotel and the quality of the service. Rest assured that all our team will do their best in order to satisfy all our guests.

We thank you for staying with us.

Awaiting to welcome you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Nael El Wary,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    153
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
123
275
46
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was nice and new. Overall service was ok, but not exceptional.

The service at the executive level was phenomenal. They were proactive, professional and very friendly. They must be very well trained.

The food was not that great, but I mus say I really enjoyed the breakfast.

Will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

I, along with the entire Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche team, look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Now I am I lucky enough to travel the world (business and pleasure) and new to reviewing on TA but needed to write this so the hotel gets the message and others don't head to the hotel untill they get their act together. Which I expect to be a few months.

Now I want to state early that I am a Sofitel fan and also really liked this hotel, its rooms and staff but they are all on training wheels.
Now the hotel is only been finished a few months but expect that a chain the size of this should be better in training their staff.
I respect that everyone has to start somewhere but I am writing this review in this tone not to slam the hotel but to help them get everything sorted so everything comes together.
I am sure that everything comes together for this grand opening.
So wait until then to stay there in my opinion.
First off all we bought a club room and there was no club it wasnot finished, so they compensated with a corner suite upgrade which was nice. ( but never should of been advertised and sold as a club room)

Then we had no hot water the first morning, then no water at all as we were about to go to Hakkasan for dinner to have a shower that night.
The staff were fantastic in damage control, but would expect that a brand new hotel, a world chain and the price we were charged we would of had a better experienced.
We did get a late check out and a bottle of wine as compensation which we are satisfied with the overall response and stay but will say it's going to take the inexperienced team a few months of training and time in business to get the service experience in all other Sofitel hotels world wide.
So take this as a glass half filled review.

Room Tip: Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Sofitel brand and for taking the time to share your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests, as this is the best way to understand which areas to focus on as we continue to strive improvement. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.

We understand your disappointment as we did not provide the degree of service you expected at Sofitel. Rest assured that I will arrange the necessary measures and trainings accordingly in order to ensure that our service levels are brought back to the Sofitel standards.

Once again I truly thank you for your feedback and loyalty. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please continue to send us your feedback at customer.service@sofitelabudhabicorniche.ae

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche around the end of April.

We arrived later in the evening and were welcomed with delicious lime/mint juice and cold towels to freshen up during check-in.

Although the Club Millesime was not yet opened we were impressed by the hotel. Breakfast was consquently taken at the Corniche in the form of a buffet. Service needed just a slight tweeking but the quality of food was that one would expect from Sofitel French chefs. We had the buffet dinner one night and one of the chefs gave us the best shwarma we have ever eaten ... one will never eat street shwarma again.

The gym and pool were spotless and the best part : almost no other guests.

The room : what to say ? Flawless with an excellent view of the Corniche.

We will look forward to returning when all services are available and the staff have that much more experience to provide that impeccable French touch one expects from Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the very nice post on Trip Advisor.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff accommodating to your needs.

It was also very pleasing to read you enjoyed the breakfast, dinner and views over the Corniche

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I enjoyed my time at this hotel. I booked a suit for a VERY reasonable price. I had a lounge access but unfortunately the lounge was not opened at that time. Staff was exceptional and loved their service despite lack of hotel facilities. I would recommend waiting until September when the Hotel is fully opened.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. We have shared your comments with our team already.

Most of the hotel facilities are now open, and the last one (the Club Millesime), is due to open by the early beginning of September. Access to the Executive Lounge is possible when one books a Suite or a Club Room.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche

Address: Corniche Road East, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in the first quarter 2012, the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche (part of Capital Plaza building) is ideally situated in the heart of the city, close to the seafront and the business and financial center. It enjoys a privileged location on Corniche Road, one of the most prestigious district. The maritime centre Port Zayed, the Souk, famous for its rugs and Dhow Harbour, home to the traditional transport and fishing boats which still take to the waters of the Arabian Gulf, are all a short distance from the hotel. The hotel offers all the services of a world-class French establishment, blending its origins with the best of the Oriental influences: butler service and executive lounge access (Club Millesime) for club rooms and suites, and the famous MyBed concept and Bose wave in all rooms. Each of the rooms offer breathtaking views over city and Arabian Gulf. Additionally, the hotel offers 3 signature restaurants and 3 bars, a pool, a spa and wellness space and 9 meeting rooms. A ballroom can also welcome up to 1000 visitors and therefore host any kind of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.