We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Chinese food in plush surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hakkasan

Hakkasan
West Corniche Road | Emirates Palace Hotel, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 690 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,618 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hakkasan Abu Dhabi opened in June 2010, bringing Hakkasan's award-winning cuisine to the landmark Emirates Palace. Comprising a restaurant, bar and lounge as well as four private dining rooms, the 16,000 sq ft space is separated by carved wooden screens and latticing that echo the rich interiors of the London flagship restaurant. Long-time design partner Gilles & Boissier designed the space with the Hakkasan ethos of the modern ethnic, interpreting it for the United Arab Emirates. Embroidered furniture and marbled Chinese forms enrich the space, and the main dining area is crafted into a wooden cage surrounded by backlit blue glass and a stainless steel frame. Signature Hakkasan dishes like Peking Duck with Caviar and Grilled Wagyu Beef with King Soy Sauce are served alongside a set of new dishes created especially for an Emirate clientele. The restaurant is headed by chef Lee Kok Hua, who was previously at Hakkasan Hanway Place where he worked under Head Chef Tong Chee Hwee for five years.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top notch Chinese food in plush surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This international chain needs no introductions….we sat outside which at this time of year is very pleasant in Abu Dhabi. The food was good…the duck salad starter is a must….as you would expect it is not cheap…and would not be at The Emirates Palace…but well worth it…..all in all a treat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    126
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still one of the best spots!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had not been to AD for a couple of years and recently found myself there again. We did only pop in for drinks but I have to say great drinks, and the Sakitini will knock your socks off. Still by far one of my favourite venues in the world and service still lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sometimes very good and sometimes?????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been to Hakkasan on more than six occasions and have had some very good meals there but have also had some that have been so dominated by the sauces that you cannot taste the base ingredient.

The entrees range from some of the best ever, the steamed Dim Sum platter to the rather average, fried prawn toast. The Sui Mai in the platter is as good as anything I have tasted anywhere in the world and I am a Yum Cha addict, whereas the pawn toast seems to be made of some mass produced prawn like pulp that is very bland.

It is quite possible that we have had different chefs when having meals at Hakkasan because at times the meals have been delicate with the sauces complementing the main ingredient perfectly whilst at other times it is difficult, if not impossible to taste the main ingredient; to totally dominate Wagu beef is no mean effort and that is not meant in a complimentary way.

Hakkasan isn't cheap, the setting is very smart, although the lighting is a bit dull. The service is very good, almost too good at times. We have had a waiter standing approximately 2 meters away from our table almost ready to dive into the fray to carry out their tasks. That this is a hatted Michelin restaurant is a surprise and to see it ranked at number 4 in the UAE to me would be significantly above the standard that we have seen during our numerous visits and would consider quite a number of restaurants in the UAE above Hakkasan.

I love Chinese food and will go back, but it is a good restaurant, not an outstanding one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nothing special unlike hakkasan mayfair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

had first taste of hakkasan in mayfair, london. thought it would be the same in abu dhabi. but was let down. the dim sum was as good but the dishes ordered were ordinary like in any other chinese restaurants. the hakkasan in mayfair had very special dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Starters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I ate here last week & it is very very good value for money given its location within the Emirates Palace. It was the first real chinese restaurant i've been to so instead of getting the usual starter main & desert we got 4 starters as we wanted to try as many things our stomachs would allow so I don't know what the mains are like? the whole evening feels like money money money, from the drive into the palace, to the walk around the lobby to the very dark lighting & interesting atmosphere they've created within the restaurant. I sat outside & I highly recommend it with amazing views of the Etihad Towers. Oh yeah & the food was really good too, I highly recommend this place if you've decided to have 1 expensive dinner out in Abu Dhabi because its amazing value for money given what Dublin restaurants charge!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakkasan also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Hakkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakkasan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.