We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had no pork for 3 Months.....So take it off the menu!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belgian Beer Cafe

Belgian Beer Cafe
InterContinental Hotel | Bainuna Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
02-6666888
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 1,706 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Had no pork for 3 Months.....So take it off the menu!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Been here many times, used to be great, went yesterday as we really fancied some ribs which this place still advertisers as unlimited on a Saturday.
We chose off the menu and attempted to order belly pork for my hubby, I chose Ribs, only to be told by the waiter we don't have any, we haven't had any pork for 3 months sir.
There's a shop 10 minutes away by car to stock up on all the pork that is on the menu, it's not rocket science.
If you have no intention of supplying what is on your menu then remove them . A total wasted trip, just had one drink and left to go elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    81
    47
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Not as good as others seem to have found”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is essentially a bar with large TV screens showing football, and a great range of (Belgian) beers, some on tap and most bottled. The theme is "Belgian Café" and while it's not bad, I can't say that it's particularly great.

it's also a restaurant, with relatively simple fare, including some pork dishes - a rarity in Abu Dhabi.

I ordered a pork belly cooked in a beer sauce, which was served with chips (fries) served on a little stand in a conical bag, together with mayonnaise. Top marks for inventive presentation there. The pork was Ok, without being too exciting. The quantity was enormous; much more than I could possibly finish.

An OK place to eat if you're at the hotel; I'm not sure I would make the trip if living in Abu Dhabi.

There's also outdoor seating (on weekends only, I think).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Spare Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great food, great selection of beer, reasonable prices, and fantastic spare ribs. This is my favorite restaurant in the hotel

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't expect good service at reasonabale price and good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Sorry but this restaurant is hyped up. We went on unlimited mussels night. Only 2 types available on this scheme out of possible 6 on menu. we were having starters so opted for the limited mussels. i can tell you i wouldn't have wanted seconds!! The mussels in wine is simply vile , should be renamed mussels in seawater as that what they tasted like. the other sauces better but nothing like the real thing. The quality of the actual mussels is very good. Nice and soft They just need cooking with some flair and imagination. Shouldn't be difficult in a Belgian restaurant! The fish soup bouillabase was very good. The service was ridiculously slow, no smiles or humour AT ALL. The tables are bare, had to chase staff for cutlery, yes we didn't get any, and salt and pepper. Asked for extra bread it never came. The final bill took half an hour to come and was frankly a joke. we all laughed!! 70 dirhams for a Martini bianco (out of the bottle) . We won't be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Belgian Bar Intercontinental Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very lively bar resteraunt. Good atmosphere for a get together with friends. All you can eat Mussels are a must. Portions not huge but adequate, pork items for those who want. Great selection of beers for the boys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgian Beer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.