We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for such an expensive place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sho Cho

Sho Cho
Souk Qaryat Al Beri, | Between Two Bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
02-5581117
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 1,583 restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expected more for such an expensive place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

From the outside it looks like a very nice and fancy place. The layout of the restaurant is quite nice but I find it quite dark.

We received the Menu and the Wine List. I found their food quite overpriced. The waiter took our order and it took around half an hour to get our starters.

The service and the readiness of the waiter was not the best. After an hour, since we had placed our order we got our main courses. I ordered Chicken Teriyaki, however, the chicken breast was very dried and I did not have enough rice to eat together with my chicken.

After we complained about the bad service and how long it was taking them to serve us, the front of house told us that the chefs were very busy, but in fact the restaurant was quite empty.

Also the A/C was not working properly and it was getting quite hot at the restaurant. Last but not least, a very noisy beep at the restaurant made us cover our ears for at least 5 minutes and therefore we could not enjoy our food in a proper way.

Probably one of the worst dining experiences that I have had in Abu Dhabi so far.

Will definitely not come to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    15
    23
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall good, but hit & miss..Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've eaten here several times now. Some dishes are excellent, and the quality of the ingredients really stand out when comparing to other japanese restaurant. (We travel to Asia and Japan a lot, so we've become quite picky with food.) However, they have "main dishes" such as Cod and Salmon that took 20 minutes to cook, and doesn't come with anything else, but the fish alone. I wasn't too happy about that...Also, fish doesn't take long to cook! But it was "ok".. It really depends on what you order. Overall good quality food, but prepare to pay up for sure!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

superbly fresh sushi, amazing view of the river, perfect drinks from the bartenders! all in all one of the best restaurants in Abu Dhabi

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Please don't trust TimeOut magazine's review on this restaurant. Its overpriced and food is mediocre. It's okay if you're here for drinks; otherwise, save your money to other places for real sushi. One thing good about this restaurant is that they have outdoor seating and the view overlooking the Grand Mosque and turquoise colored water is breathtaking!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine- Egypt- Emirates
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I love thier Sushi , I love all about this place ! I would recomebd you to visit this one ! Really good

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sho Cho also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sho Cho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sho Cho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.