We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic afternoon out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours

Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours
PO Box 73373, Abu Dhabi 73373, United Arab Emirates
+971 50 721 8928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 108 Activities in Abu Dhabi
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noukhada Adventure Company provides sailing and kayaking in Abu Dhabi. These can be as tours, lessons, experiences or rentals. We are best known for our kayak mangrove tour. The three main main launch points are at 'E48' (Eastern Mangroves), Yas Beach and Emirates Palace Marina. We now launch into the Al Rahba mangroves to the north of Abu Dhabi. We also offer the snorkel safari.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went on the 3pm Mangroves kayaking tour, and it was brilliant, despite chucking it down with rain. The guide was friendly and helpful, and waited without complaint for the last member of our group to arrive who had gotten lost. We then paddled out to the mangroves, circled them and then ducked in to the tunnels - a long strip of narrow channels where you often have to paddle by hand, and you see lots of crabs (and get stuck on trees if you're me).

A brief stop at a beach, where the guides are happy to chat to you about the local plant and animal life, and you can swim if you like (you might as well, you'll be soaking by this point)(again, probably only if you're me). Then, paddling back to the launch spot arriving within 2 hours of setting off.

A brilliant afternoon with my friends, I would definitely recommend it as an activity. It was a total bargain too as we had Entertainer vouchers.

One piece of advice, when driving there and turning off towards Eastern Road, make sure you take the first right even though it looks wrong - you see a building with barbed wire around the walls and a dirt track, but you are in the right place. Just turn right down the dirt track and you'll find it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkAbuDhabi, Owner at Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and it is not often our guests report back about kayaking in the rain in Abu Dhabi! We are glad that you were still brave enough to venture out with us in that weather.

For other TripAdvisor readers, this must have been a high tide tour, to get through the trees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    1
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mangroves, easy to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Price: 150 AED per person for 1.5-2 hours kayaking with a group and guide

Services: There did not seem to be even a toilet at the launch point, so take care of that before you arrive

Equipment: kayaks comfortable and in good shape, and life vests provided

Experience: Very relaxing kayaking in beautiful narrow mangrove paths. No need to have previous experience in kayaking. Not too hot even at the end of April, as we left 08.00 in the morning.

Tips:
-the launch point E48 is a bit easy to miss. At the very end, when you take the first right slip road between the construction and the large building, take the very first right and then immediately right so the big building will actually be on your left side and you come a bit backwards. Then to the sand and drive a bit further so you find the launch point. They s
-they tell to take shoes and not slippers with you. I was without shoes at all, no problem. And the people with slippers were fine as well. The shoes will get wet. I am not quite sure why the emphasize the shoes as in the end the guides say you can leave them out.
-they said it is ok to have 2-3 year old children in the kayak as well, as they can either sit in between the parent's legs or in the middle as a 3rd person in the kayak.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFabudhabi, Owner at Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Sadly, the 'E48 launch point' has no facilities at all but it is now the only place left that the public can get launch access to the Eastern Mangroves. All other shoreline has been taken by developments and private villas or is off limits.

We ask our guests to wear shoes that will stay on their feet because the biggest risk of injury on a kayak tour with us, is cut feet if a guest has to walk. The guides should have told you to put the shoes in the back of the kayak if you did not want to wear them. We will address that issue.

For Trip Advisor readers we also launch from Yas Beach for kayak tours there and Yas Beach does have facilities as well as F&B. The Yas Mangroves are not as mature or extensive as the Eastern Mangroves but the bird life is probably better. We have launched a new kayak tour in the Yas Mangroves that involves motoring (by boat) to a start point and then launching the kayaks through an unspoilt mangrove channel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was my last tour on a 2 week visit to Abu Dhabi and definately one of my favourites. Our very fun tour guide Mike was informative and interesting. The mangroves are very beautiful. I would highly recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFabudhabi, Owner at Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad that you included it in your visit to Abu Dhabi. The green of the mangroves is a very pleasant place to be and so different to the city, and yet so close. Mike,with his wooden paddle, is a great guide and thank you for mentioning him. Yours. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect break from the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Living in Dubai, its very nice to escape the city and get outdoors. Out on the water with this company, it feels like Abu Dhabi is miles away - but less than ten min by car.

We got a little lost finding the location to meet, streets are a little confusing here so arrive early. The group had already left when we arrived, but we were met warmly, had a guide join us and paddle up to catch the group!

We drove down from Dubai, would suggest making this part of your day trip in Abu Dhabi otherwise you will spend as much time in your car as in the water.

Overall, really fun and enjoyable. Great trip for out of town guests too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFabudhabi, Owner at Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Craig. Thank you for your kind review. I am not sure if navigating to and around Abu Dhabi is either an art or a science but, either way, it is not easy. Well done on finding us and I am very glad that you enjoyed the experience. Please note that we now operate from Yas Beach too, which is closer to Dubai, and are exploring a new site even closer to Dubai. Yours. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Awesome mangrove kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an excellent outdoor activity which is fun, ecofriendly, and suitable for amateurs. Noukhada has great guides who are knowledgeable about the ecosystem. The tours are affordable and great for families or groups. Book in advance on the noukhada website. This is a must do activity during the Abu Dhabi winter.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkAbuDhabi, Owner at Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noukhada Adventure Company - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.