We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thailand Festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge

Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi | Hamdan Street (PO BOX 3541), Abu Dhabi 3541, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 616 6251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,622 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Cho Gao Asian Experience. A 21st century eatery combined with the creativity, energy and senses of ancient Asian culture. When you visit ho Gao, you will experience an adventurous culinary journey through Asia with a menu that takes its inspiration from Thailand, Vietnam & Indonesia. The heart of a Cho Gao restaurant is an escape for all the senses, a unique Asian experience offering all the surprise ingredients built around the contrasting tastes and smells found in east Asian streets & their unique cultures.With its relaxed inviting atmosphere, Cho Gao cleverly combines a contemporary chic bar that compliments Cho Gao's casual dining style. A perfect escape from the working day, Cho Gao promises to be 'the' destination in Abu Dhabi. Open: 12:00 - 01:00 daily
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thailand Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Cho Gao is having Thailand festival for the month of April 2012. Thai specilaity dishes server during this period. As usual the food is excellent. Would like to be back again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    108
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Please lose the loud music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Do NOT visit Cho Gao on a Friday or Saturday evening if you want to enjoy a relaxing dining experience, the restaurant seems intent on becoming a disco!! The loud 'thump thump' music from the DJ completely ruined our lovely evening.

Apart from that the staff are delightful, attentive and efficient and the food was absolutely delicious. We may go back but only on a weekday or for lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“There's a good reason we keep coming back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Since we discovered it, I could only count the times that we didn't eat here for their Dimsum Friday Brunch and those were when we're out of country, out of city or I have an Entertainer voucher for a Brunch somewhere else that we want to try... They're the only place in the city that offers Dimsum buffet and it's only for 99++ dhs (with unlimited juice drinks)!!! Really worth every penny! There was one time that we were a bit disappointed with the spread because it's almost all chicken (I'm allergic) and we swore we wouldn't go back, but we were there just this weekend! LOL And it seems it got even better! The seafood dimsum is always good, bf swears by their chicken siomai but try to avoid the vegetable dimsum as it could get a bit rubbery/chewy. Their soups are also amazingly good, although there's only one choice each week. They also have rice, noodles, at least 2 beef/chicken/seafood dishes, vegetablesdish every week so don't be afraid that you'll be limited to dimsum... Nice desserts spread as well but our stomachs are always bursting full of dimsum that we don't get to try it that often...

Service is always attentive. Waitresses are always smiling and makes sure you're enjoying your meal...

I highly recommend it to anyone... there's a good reason it's part of our Friday routine :-)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“business lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

good value for money and ever day another dish.
in the heart of the city on hamdam street.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Huge menu, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Went for a girl's night out. Had a little trouble sorting out the happy hour tab, but everything else was good. Service was good for such a large group. Food came out mostly together, which can be a challenge here. Most impressive was the huge menu - lots of choice and everyone at the table had different things and everyone like their food. Prices were average for Abu Dhabi and I think there might be an Entertainer coupon this year to help offset cost. Nice decor and atmosphere - not too noisy, but also bustling and busy.
Overall, a good dining experience and we would go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cho Gao Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.