We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Pass to the Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Bab Al Bahr to your Saves list
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Day Pass to the Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Didnt stay here only visited for the day (Saturday) to use the pool/beach. Had one voucher for free entry from attending a brunch, this is a great deal which they seem to be handing out to all brunch attendees all the time?! Entry otherwise was 160AED for the day which i felt was decent value for money.

Arrievd around 1000 and while the loungers by the pool area were filling up the ones on the beach were nearly all free. picked two nearest the pool area so had the best fo both worlds. Beach area was great, there were some kayaks laying around but there isn much sea area within the fenced off area so not sure you'd get much use out of them.

Pool is an excellent layout with plenty of little alcoves, large central space and also long enough for decent lengths. Swim up pool bar is excellent and worked through some of the cocktails on offer. The attached restaurant was also very nice and the pizza and caesar salad we ordered were excellent.

Good value for an excellent day in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    259
    60
    19
    15
See reviews for
263
469
53
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont with my sister during my birthday weekend last September. It has always been a hotel I've wanted to experience staying in, because I love everything about it! From the modern decor to its location to its fabulous restaurants and beautiful pool area. When there was a special offer on, I jumped at the chance, and it did not disappoint!

The staff were beyond friendly, offering us complimentary internet when they saw our hesitation at the price. We were also given an upgrade when they noticed it was my birthday the next day!

Our view was that of the Grand Mosque side, which is breathtaking. Breakfast in CuiScene had wide variety, even though I am not even a breakfast person, I could not help but join my sister in indulging. Our only qualm was the shower room, where the shower head was outside of the bathtub (as is the design) but this did not leave much space, as well as the water leaked into the toilet area a bit. But this did not deter our opinion on how amazing the hotel was.

There was one creepy moment where we were being stalked by a shady dude from the pool bar up to our room, but Security handled it prompty and professionally without us even asking them to; they were on top of it as soon as they noticed our discomfort. I will definitely stay there again soon, even if there is no special offer I know of as of yet! ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Grand Mosque and you will wake up each morning with a smile on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear NJM88,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing your valuable feedback. It brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to turn your moments into lasting memories.

Our entire team is looking foward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a lovely property to stay in! Me and my mum stayed for 3 nights for a relaxing break. It's not just the beautiful property that brings me to the fairmont, it's there attentive hard working team. I Could not fault my stay at all. Hotel rooms excellent, good choice of restaurants. We spent days by the pool and Maria looked after us every day in the sweltering heat, always smiling!! Great work fairmont Abu Dhabi I will be back again soon!

I wish they would open spa one day, it would be nice to have a massages available at the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

the check-in process was chaotic and we had to wait for 2 hrs to have the room ready. the staff didn't care nor apologized nor kept us informed.
Breakfast buffet choicewas for a 5star hotel very poor, by 10am half empty and not re-filled until staff cleaned it up by 10.30am. The pool was overcrowded and kids where accepted into the pool bar serving alcohol.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Isabel P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and have shared your concerns with the relevant departments. We are sorry to know that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can learn more about your stay and can ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

First off, it's worth saying we had a great 10 day holiday at the Fairmont and enjoyed the facilities it had to offer. However, there are some good and bad points to this hotel, which I'll detail below:

1) WIFI - contrary to what other people say, this IS free, but you have to sign up to the Presidents Club (free) to get onto it. Sign up before you go, and you will get a membership number which you can then use to log on. That's all well and good, but outside of the lobby the connection is terrible. I got 1 or 2 bars of reception on my iPhone and Kindle in the room and around the pool which is incredibly frustrating when I have to keep track of work emails. Fairmont - sort this out, as you are way behind other hotels. The Shangri-La up the road has ultra fast free WIFI requiring no registration at all.

2) Kids - there are simply too many of them. Be very careful not to book over any sort of long weekends. During our stay, a religious holiday meant that the pool area was absolutely packed with people and children, very loud and we almost moved hotels. During the week though it's quiet, and not too bad on normal weekends from what we can see. We would not return simply because of the amount of children, attracted by the big pool I presume.

3) Pool bar - a great swim up bar, but gets packed with people in the afternoon which was off putting for us. One thing that we really disliked is that the Poolside restaurant rubbish bins are near the bar at the bottom end, which STINK during the day in the hot sun. I don't know how other people put up with it, but we couldn't sit at that end of the bar and eat food or drink with that smell. Disgusting. Staff mostly are good at the bar apart from a few truly miserable bar staff. You can eat at your loungers, which is great, but found that plates and bottles etc got left lying around for hours - not enough attention from the staff in my opinion.

4) Prices - nothing abnormal for UAE, but for reference you should expect to pay about £15 for a burger with chips, £7-8 per cocktail (most of which were well made) or £5 for a beer.

5) Restaurants - we found the quality of food in the Marco Pierre White restaurant to be excellent but be aware cheapest bottles of wine are £30. Frankies restaurant was ok, but pizza we had there was quite poor. Substitution of pork products with beef just doesn't work for chorizo and they could make some far better pizzas without trying to imitate pork.

6) Rooms - excellent, very nice rooms but be aware that the frosted style glass does not provide much privacy if you're having a shower or using the toilet. You can clearly hear everything that is going on in the toilet from anywhere else in the room - so not a good place to stay if you haven't been with your partner very long!!

7) Shuttle boat - runs from a pier at the hotel to the Souk (restaurants / small mall), Shangri-La, Ritz Carlton every 20 minutes from 6pm to midnight. Excellent service and a great way to get around which we used a lot. Would recommend.

8) Taxi - FYI the fare is between 40-50 Dhs from the airport to the hotel. It costs the same to get to the main business district area of Abu Dhabi and we went to the Emirates Palace, Etihad towers etc.

9) Breakfast - very good selection but incredibly busy if you don't get there very early.

10) Spa - there isn't one.

11) Beach - do not choose this hotel for the beach/sea! Green water which we didn't swim in once. There is also a very ugly and unknown floating 'log' (I really can't describe what it is!) in the middle of the water which is very offputting. It's just not a place I would go in the sea.

12) Ladies nights - a good tip: Ladies nights are in the Ritz Carlton on Tuesday (wear RED if you are a lady for free drinks), Pearls & Caviar @ the Shangri-La on Weds and Fairmont on Thursday.

Overall the hotel is definitely a modern and quite well equipped place, but based on the number of kids we would look for somewhere else next time as a couple. However, I would say that we would certainly NOT choose the Shangri-La (which we had considered before coming) as the pool is so small there just wouldn't be enough room. The Fairmont pool is EXCELLENT and extremely large.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear lovelyjubbly44,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We appreciate all your comments and have shared your review with our relevant departments.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming once again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went to Fairmont with my family to spend easter holidays. we started off with a smooth fast check-in and really happy welcoming. the rooms were big, clean and had pretty amazing views over the Grand Mosque.
Room service had great food to be honest, and breakfast had a good wide selection. we tried the arabic restaurant for lunch which was not really satisfying to be honest! but diner in the Italian outlet was amazing.
they have an incredible brunch experience on Friday where all the restaurants open up to each other and all! a must try!
overall great experience, great hotel, good staff and world class service.

Room Tip: get a sea view to enjoy beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding.....check in was excellent and we arrived at 8am but we had an extremely helpful receptionist who arranged for us to get our room at that time after a long journey....room was lovely and spacious and so quiet so good insulation.....super comfy bed and quality linen and housekeeping excellent......our only annoyance was on Friday when the place was inundated with day visitors and it was impossible to get a lounger on the beach,,,,the beach staff were run off their feet.....and I think the breakfast restaurant is too small for the hotel.....3 out of 5 days we had to wait on a table......food was first class and excellent choice.....it was my husbands birthday and I had not said anything but we were surprised to find a chocolate birthday cake in our room...the beach is an inlet or water which is not tidal and as such looks dirty and possibly polluted with dead fish....but the pool is fabulous although super busy......pool bar needs to be bigger......laundry was pretty poor...my husbands shirts came back with double creases in the sleeves and a big mess........so dont use the laundry......be prepared to dig deep if you use the hotel hair stylist...90.00 UK pounds for a hair up that took 20 mins with no wash......all things considered its a lovely hotel but back to the Shangri la for us next time.....

Room Tip: Ask for Mosque view......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Rosie506Dundee,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and have shared your concerns with the relevant departments. We are sorry to know that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can learn more about your stay and can ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.