We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fairmont stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Bab Al Bahr to your Saves list
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go for Gold, Stay 4 pay 3
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fairmont stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

nice looking modern building spread over landscaped gardens and access to private beach. beach is artificial and water is stagnant and not very clear. pool is nice with multiple areas fo children.
rooms are spacious with modern comfortable furniture, floor to roof windows overlooking the city or the lagoon and beyond that ritz carlton and the grand mosque. the only gripe is the open concept bathrooms with glass wall. I cannot fathom the logic behind this.
check in is smooth as is the check out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    216
    49
    15
    14
See reviews for
204
396
46
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I like everything about this hotel. My family and some friends took a quick weekend getaway at this hotel and we were all amazed and felt really satisfied with our choice. The pool first was just great. We stayed at a Sea View room and it was just amazing. The breakfast was also good, they had an Asian station which you don't find on many other hotels. I highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely plan another stay soon.

Room Tip: Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Jay M,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for taking the time to share this review and for choosing to stay with us while visiting Abu Dhabi. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

From the outside the design of this hotel is a bit off putting....black glass and chrome block shape. Go inside however and find a nice contemporary hotel with the biggest hotel pool and hot tub I have ever used. We stayed on the Club floor for one night and loved everything about our room and stay.

The staff were attentive, room service was fast, room design and bathroom really nice. Hotel car picked us up after a concert on Yas Island and arrived on time and was well worth not waiting for a taxi and paying for.

Only comment - Club level breakfast choices were limited for a hotel of its size.

Room Tip: Opt for a view of the water not the city,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Cal560,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. We value all our guest comments and therefore have shared your feedback with the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from 9 nights at this great hotel. We had booked a Gold room which we upgraded to a Gold View room - it was good to look out over the beach and water to the mosque. Our room certainly had everything we needed including a nespresso coffee maker. The toiletries were good quality and smelt lovely. The wet room was well designed with no water escaping under the door as often happens.

The service throughout the hotel and especially on the 7th floor (gold) was second to none - even superior to The Emirates Palace. The friendly and very efficient gold floor staff made us feel very special and the whole area had a very relaxed and civilised ambiance - it was good to chat with others using the area. On our first morning We had breakfast in CuiScene which was good but after that it was so much easier to breakfast on the 7th floor - just a few steps from our room. Afternoon tea there was excellent with a very good selection of sandwiches, cakes - especially the scones, fruit etc. Evening drinks and canapés were very good with a good selection of quality brand spirits and wines + cocktails.

We ate in Marco Piere White where the Wagu steak was very good - albeit pricey. We went to Frankies twice for dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed. The evening buffet in CuiScene was excellent and I'm not usually a fan of buffets - service in all restaurants was very good.

The pool and beach area was very clean and well serviced - we loved the smoothies from the pool bar. Again the staff were excellent and always ready to organise laying towels on your sun loungers and putting up a parasol to give shade where required. Complimentary water was provided with an ice bucket.

We loved the modern look of the hotel which managed to combine looks with comfort. The staff all were happy to go the extra mile to look after us which we really appreciated and they are a credit to the hotel. We will definitely return, hopefully in October (which isn't the norm for us as we like to experience different hotels). Thank you Fairmont for giving us a very relaxing and enjoyable break in the sun.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and go for a Gold view room - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Carol B,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. Your compliments are greatly appreciated especially regarding our service. It is indeed a pleasure to share them with our entire team who made your recent stay a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another great experience soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were there for a gala dinner but as is usual we did not hesitate to take a closer look of the whole property.

What sets this apart from the others is the contemporary design. The lobby layout, mezzanine floor and the mural art work combined with the lighting is a contrast from other branded hotels who need to stick to their signature decor.

Just across the water to the west is a grand double view of the Great Mosque and the Ritz Carlton.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we liked the hotel.

We were in the Presidential club, and due to my companions walking problems, we were upgraded to the second biggest suite in the hotel (according to our butler). It was on the ninth floor, and you used the elevator way down at the end of the hotel to get to it. But that elevator also went directly to the pool area, so it was ideal for my companion when she was headed that direction.

The suite was huge! It had two bathrooms (one had a scale), a bar area in the living room section, a dressing area, along with the bed and desk area. I would say it was 60 feet long (25 paces). And it had great views of the Grand Mosque out the floor to ceiling windows. There were even cigarettes in the minibar offerings, but no water faucet at the bar.

The lobby of the hotel was very impressive, and the concierge there was very helpful in finding what channel the superbowl would be on, on the TV.

We arrived around 2 PM, and we asked our butler to steam the wrinkles out of the clothes we needed for dinner that night at the Emirates Palace. We also asked him to shine my shoes. We said we needed the clothes back no later than 5:30 PM.

Some clothes and the shoes came back at different times during the afternoon, and also some ice we ordered. Each time, something was brought by a different person, not our butler. But that was OK. However, I was still missing my shirt. Repeated calls to the butler did not produce the shirt until 6:30 PM (again brought by someone else). Our dinner appointment was at 7, so we were now in a total rush.

We took a taxi to the Emirates Palace, and luckily were only a few minutes late. But why was there such a delay?

Other things we noticed that could be improved upon, was the coffee table in the living room area (with a white laminate top) had several cigarette burns on it. And when the elevators were being worked on, and out of service, I found that the main elevators only went to the 7th floor. That made it hard to reach the ninth floor. Luckily, one elevator was back in service when I trudged down that long corridor to the end of the building, so I could reach the 9th floor from the 7th floor.

There were a lot of light switches in the room, and figuring out which ones turned on/off what lights was a challenge. I never did figure out the switch for the large circular fluorescent light at the bathroom. Luckily my companion did. But when I got up at 3:30 AM to watch the superbowl, I found none of the lights in the living room area, or the living room bathroom would work. Apparently, there was a master kill switch involved. That could be improved upon.

We did enjoy the complimentary valet parking and the snacks and beverages served in the gold level lounge. And my companion did enjoy the pool the day she used it.

We only saw our butler again as we were checking out, as he was getting our car for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont Bab al Bahr. Again we have enjoyed this luxurious and beautful hotel very much. Very spacious and well equiped room, very extensive breakfast, greaat choice and variety of restaurants and friendly and helpful stafmembers. This is absolutely a hotel I would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Marloes F,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for sharing once again your great experience at our hotel. I will ensure that all of your compliments will be conveyed to our entire team.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.