We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a nice break and rest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Bab Al Bahr to your Saves list
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
north wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a nice break and rest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed twice at the Fairmont, both occasions for a rest and for 10 nights, stayed in a Gold room each time and thought the service was some of the best we have ever had in any hotel, the staff are a credit to the Fairmont and Abu Dhabi, the gold lounge really is a bit of self indulgence that was well worth it for the peace and quiet it offered, dedicated staff who could not do enough for us.



The hotel is a little out of the city but to be honest we were there for a rest and a bit of peace and quiet and the trip in by taxi was cheap quick and a change of an evening, went out for dinner a few times which was nice.

The pool area was busy on a Friday with it being the weekend and many local beach club members turning up, not a problem just get down earlier and bag yourself a bed!

Food choice was poor at the poolside for lunch to be honest, good but basic choice.

Rooms spacious modern and creek view were good and well looked after with twice a day service to keep the room tip top.

I have no complaints about this hotel and look forward to staying there again sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear GourmetTaff,

Thank very much for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay at Fairmont Gold and our entire team was able to turn your moments into lasting memories. Your Poolside feedback is also greatly appreciated and I have shared it with the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    259
    60
    19
    15
See reviews for
263
469
53
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really cool interior, super modern and quite funky. Front desk staff were great.

Room was pretty big (king room) and we had a spectacular view of the canal / mosque with huge windows. TV was too small and too far from the bed which made it difficult to read the on-screen menu. Extremely comfortable bed and a good night's sleep. Shame there was a 'brew-fest' going on in the tent outside which was blasting music until 1am. I had to complain twice and was informed that several other guests had also complained.

Lovely big bath & shower room but slippery granite floor (they should have either used non-slip tiles or provide a bath mat of some sort).

Outside, the pool was very busy (Friday afternoon). The general outdoor area is huge and they should utilise it better. It seemed that all the guests were crammed into one small area, i.e. the pool and beach just next to it. Pool was FULL of kids. Would be nice to have a separate 'adults only' pool further along the beach at the other end of the hotel.

Swim-up pool bar was very good (limited drinks at happy hr 4-6pm) but the food was distinctly average and overpriced. Nacho's - yuck, plastic fake cheese. For 50+ dhs you'd at least expect proper cheddar cheese. Pepperoni pizza - the meat slightly undercooked so it tasted like dog-meat.

We ate at Frankie's in the evening. They got our order wrong a few times (we were in a group of 10) however they knocked their meals off the bill total. Food was 'good', not excellent. My lamb was half meat, half fat and I expected better from a restaurant of this calibre. Chocolate cake made up for my earlier disappointment though - amazing.

Breakfast - there seemed to be a lot of choice but a very strange mix... eg they have 'maple baked beans' which had a strange taste and not what you'd expect as part of a full English. The beans were next to Kebbeh and other hot arabic food. There's no pork served at all so the 'bacon' was some floppy beef ham that looked unsavoury. Our whole group ended up selected a random mix of food that didn't gel well together.

Generally the hotel is excellent so although it looks like I'm complaining about a few things, I'd still return there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the water and mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Louise92,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We value all your comments and I have shared them to the relevant departments. On your next visit, my Executive Assistant would be delighted to assist you with the hotel arrangements and ensure that your next stay with us is seamless. Please feel free to contact her directly by emailing therese.alvano@fairmont.com

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel in a quieter part of Abu Dhabi, the Fairmont is it. It's not very convenient if you're looking for cheaper public transportation to get around, but taxis are easy to fetch in the area. If you're also looking for cheaper eats, you will definitely need to take a taxi.

Service, however, was top notch. The staff at the main entrance went out of their way to help us when we were in need. They also checked back in with us when we returned to our room to see if we were alright.

The room was beautiful. Since the front desk did made an error during the room assignment, they upgraded us to the ocean view. The view was fantastic! View aside, the room was large, spacious, and very comfortable. One minor complaint is that the shower is located in the same compartment as the bath tub, so if you are uncomfortable with showering with another, you will have to wait your turn!

Overall, the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr was a wonderful hotel. It was a relaxing experience away from the city of Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear arthursiew,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for taking the time to share this review and for choosing to stay with us while visiting Abu Dhabi. Your comments are greatly appreciated especially your compliments regarding our service. It is a pleasure to share them to our entire team particularly to our front of the house staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visited Abu Dhabi for just a day and had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful and very luxury property that faces out to Sheikh Zayed Mosque across the water.

There were a nice variety of restaurants and a very beautiful patio. Amenities were great!

The pool is beautiful and pool area is beautiful!!! At night the private beach area is beautiful with all the lights.

The lobby was really nice and was fun hanging out there and having a drink.

Rooms were very spacious and were beautifully decorated. Washrooms were great as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a Shaikh Zayed Mosque facing view (on the waterfront)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

WOW ! what a fantastic place ! from opening the door to the rooms everything was perfect , the Marco restaurant was the best steak we have ever had ! we have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this ranks with them ! the very very cool and friendly concierge to all the staff a big THANK YOU for making this a very memorable stay ! WE WILL BE BACK !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Eric696969,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you had a great dining experience at our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse & Grill. It is my pleasure to pass your compliments to our entire team especially to our brand ambassadors at the Concierge that made your stay a memorable one.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best destination if you want to relaxon the beach or to enjoy agreat arabic food , do your hair ....

The only thing that should be more feasible is the service of the staff in some of the restaurestaurants there. But for sure not the lebanese ones.
The beach was crowded but everyone can find his own place to enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent a great 5 days at the Fairmont in June while attending a conference. The hotel was fantastic, great views of the Grand Mosque. Really good pool with a great swim-up bar! the man made lock is a little strange to swim in and is extremely warm - almost hot actually. the bar prices are a little on the steep side but I guess this is the price you pay in a 5* hotel in the UAE. A place to visit and relax in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear BobbyDBexley_Kent,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. It brings us great pleasure to know that you had a great time during your conference at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.