We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a light sleeper, don't stay here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Bab Al Bahr to your Saves list
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 116 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are a light sleeper, don't stay here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would not advise staying here if you are a light sleeper like me! The building is made from glass and as it heats up in the mornings, the windows (which make up the exterior wall in each bedroom) creak and pop loudly. This goes on for about 3 hours and is loud. On the positive side, the rooms are large with very comfortable beds. We were also disappointed that the hotel doesn't have a spa (although the gym is very well appointed and with great views of the beach and mosque). Lastly, we thought that the service was below five star standards (for example, our room service orders were consistently wrong and they are very under-staffed on the beach and by the pool).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    198
    41
    13
    12
See reviews for
181
366
43
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently spent 4 days in this hotel on business and can strongly recommend it for business or holiday. The facilities, rooms, and service were fantastic. I was impressed that the concierge staff all seemed to remember my name and were incredibly helpful. This hotel really tries and succeeds in providing great service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, worth paying a little extra to upgrade to a gold room. A little out of the city, but taxis are cheap and it would be entirely possible to stay and enjoy the luxuries of the restaurants and pools without needing to leave. Great view of the mosque, recommend having twilight drinks at the outdoor bars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr for 4 days as part of a large group. The Hotel itself was fantastic, the rooms & Beds were amazing, the Pool and beach area fabulous and the location great. I can't sing the praises of the housekeeping and hotel staff enough!

We ate in a few of the restaurants and had 2 set evenings as larger events and the food was good at these also.

I would say that we had some issues with the waiters and waitresses and the level of service. Although the food and drink service on the beach was very friendly it was very very slow and sporadic, food appearing and random times and we worked out that you had to generally ask for something 3 times before you got what you asked for. However we were a large group and can see this would get confusing.

However at breakfast we were just a table of 2 or 4. The food is buffet style and you have to order hot drinks. One morning I ordered the hot drinks and for a table setting to be set up as no others were available, 20 mins later still no hot drink and I reset the table myself. One morning whilst the waitress was setting the knives and forks I asked for the drinks she asked me to wait until she had put the knives and forks down before I spoke again.

We also ate as a large group in the (rather pricey)Marco Pierre White Steak restaurant one evening and the service was about the same level there. It just seemed to be a level of confusion when ordering food or drink.

The house keeping staff were amazing, Roy who looked after us in Housekeeping could not have been more helpful and this goes for the reception staff.

All in all we really enjoyed our break at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you enjoy the sea view you should visit Fairmint Bab Al Bahar .. Very relaxing and it's really worth it. There are many coffee shops and one chocolate shop and florist as well .. And a nail saloon for ladies.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel has an amazing design from the outside and also from the inside. The lobby is pretty too. It has a small beach where you can swin to a not that amazing river type. If you are not a fan of this, the hotel also has a great swimming pool. The rooms are very nice and clean and the service great!

Room Tip: Must get a room with a view to the Sheikh Zayed Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Its hard to include all of the great aspects of this truly five star hotel - but one certainly shines out - the incredibly well turned out and polite staff. Oh and the food - and the pool, and the walk in shower and huge room!

Room Tip: Every room is of a high standard -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: Between The Bridges, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;