We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Futuristic and fun, but some concerns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yas Island Leisure Drive, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash OR Speed
Ranked #17 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Futuristic and fun, but some concerns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Yas Viceroy for a week as part of a business trip in June- we were both working, but still had plenty of time to check out the various aspects of the hotel.

The design and decor of the hotel is futuristic- stunningly so. It honestly wouldn't be our cup of tea, but I can absolutely see how people just love it. It's dazzlingly white, superbly clean and shiny, and (as someone else said) very like staying in a mothership.

I did burst out laughing when I saw our room. I immediately thought "James Bond circa 1968 meets Star Trek". The leather covered swivel chair was just made for a villain stroking a cat.

All in all, the food was good, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

A few comments (as with my previous reviews, this isn't meant to criticise, but to help other travellers to make decisions)

The design of the rooms isn't suitable for two people who are getting up at different times. The rooms are huge, with huge bathrooms, but the bathrooms are separated from the bedrooms only with walls of frosted glass. If you turn on the (very bright) lights in the bathroom. the whole bedroom lights up with the light through the glass. During our stay at the hotel, we had to be up at different times from each other every day- so one of us might have been getting up at 5 a.m. while the other was getting up at 7.30, etc. It was MONUMENTALLY annoying to have the room as bright as day at 5 a.m. just because my poor husband had to turn on the light in the bathroom to have his shower. (It was even more annoying for him on the days when the schedule was reversed!)

Even if you were there on a holiday, this would be annoying, as if someone has to get up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night the whole room is flooded with light. We compromised by the end of the week by using the little automatic light in the wardrobe if one of us was getting up/dressed in the early hours. (Cue a lot of thumping about, falling over, and muttered curses.) Design fail? Yes. (Perhaps the designer was single and didn't have to worry about any of this!)

We did notice a slightly musty smell in our room. We weren't too bothered, but I had the occasion to visit two other colleagues' rooms and they smelled very strongly of damp and must. Perhaps it was an a/c issue, but it didn't give a good impression at all.

Regarding the food, it was a little annoying that the main restaurant was buffet ONLY. The buffet was excellent food and pretty good value if you were in the mood to eat your own body weight in roast beef, but if you just wanted a bowl of soup/salad/sandwich for lunch you had to order room service, as there is no restaurant in the hotel that caters for this type of snack. Room service was expensive.

We really liked the Japanese restaurant and found the food and the service absolutely excellent. I would go back to Yas just for that restaurant.

At the weekend the hotel was absolutely jammed with people. There were so many people at breakfast that we were directed to the overflow restaurant. We were all crammed in so tightly that it really wasn't much fun. The staff were doing their absolute best to help everyone but it was a bit of a bun fight, to be honest. If you can, get up early for weekend breakfast.

There isn't a late hotel bar (there isn't really a bar at all, though happy hour on the terrace of the restaurant is pretty good value) so if you want a drink after 11 pm you have to go to the nightclub. The nightclub is simply awful. We popped up just to have a look one night. Because we were hotel guests we were allowed in, but were made to feel that this was A Very Special Treat because it was A Very Exclusive Place. Not, as it turned out. A dreadful, noisy hole of a place full of poseurs and fake smoke- like being stuck in the naffest nightclub in Europe in the 1980s. I pity the poor business person who comes in from a long day and just wants to relax in a quiet bar for an hour, and then finds himself/herself in That Place.

Anyway, that's my assessment. Would I stay there again? Yes, for work if someone else was paying- but I'd bring my eye shades and a scented candle. Would I pay my own money to stay there? Not in a million years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Aoibhlinn H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your recent visit. Whilst it is always pleasing to read that you found everyone to be friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed your dining experience at Kazu, I am concerned that you found some aspects of your stay challenging.
Yas Viceroy is certainly a striking building, renowned for its’ stunning and unique design. It is this individuality that has been carried through to our guestrooms, and resultantly, bathrooms. I do apologise for your disrupted sleep and will look to include sleeping masks as part of the in-room amenities instead of having them only available on request.
Due to the summer heat in Abu Dhabi, our rooftop bar Skylite was not in operation during your stay. I am delighted to let you know that we have now re-opened, giving our guests another late-night option.
Your comments regarding room service and the availability of lighter dining options are something that I will discuss further with my colleagues. As we have eleven different dining options in the hotel, I apologise that no one was able to direct you to the most appropriate option to meet your requirements.
Whilst I note you would visit Yas Viceroy again in a business capacity, I hope we have the occasion to welcome you back for pleasure.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    213
    79
    34
    23
See reviews for
208
364
46
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

With the excellence of the hotel from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you are in excellent care. With so much to do so closeby and within the hotel the base of the formula one race in Abu Dhabi you have a hotel that changes colour at night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Nigel H,

I was delighted to read your recent Trip Advisor review. We constantly strive to surpass our guest’s expectations and I am glad, on this occasion, that the service, nearby attractions and unique architecture of Yas Viceroy were to your liking.
On behalf of all my colleagues, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great Spa and a la carte restaurants, although disappointing that 2 were shut with no prior notice to our arrival. Very poor breakfast and room service in the hotel and service wasn't quite slick enough to warrant 5*+. A restaurant that wants to charge extra for a cappuccino at breakfast or have it in your room when you spend several thousand pounds staying there obviously doesn't really grasp what staying in a luxury hotel is all about......could do better.....they should visit a Jumeirah, DeVere exclusive or similar to learn..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear KMD70,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. Whilst I was delighted to read that you enjoyed ESPA and many of our dining options, I am sorry that our Origins breakfast buffet and room service selections did not meet your expectations. Whilst details of any changes to the standard hotel operation are always available on our website, I apologise that in this instance they did not reach you. To ensure that all our guests are aware of the latest hotel information, in future this is something that we will look to include alongside our guest reservation confirmation.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Yas Viceroy.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Yas Viceroy for three nights on our first trip to the UAE. We were not disappointed as the hotel is lovely, rooms immaculate. The first night we ate at the hotel restaurant which was excellent but we couldn't justify spending that much each night. One surprise was in-room dining was reasonably priced and fantastic. Everywhere we ate , the food was so fresh and tasty. We didn't get the breakfast included at at $40++ each we opted for coffee and cake in the foyer and that was very pleasant and again, reasonably priced. There is a shuttle bus that takes you tithe Marina Circuit (we did a tour of those facilities) and also Ferrari World (two adults, and no queues, but still there about 8 hours). We didn't need a premium upgrade the day we went. We also was going to go on the Big Bus tour but the concierge arranged a private car /tour guide for the same cost and pick up and return to the hotel. He also took us around the Mosque in Abu Dhabi. I would highly recommend you ask for Ershad to arrange Saheed for a private tour as it was my highlight. Overall service, food, room all excellent and even though 30mins from Abu Dhabi which at first felt quite isolating, it worked out well and we got to do everything we wanted in the short time we had. Be careful though with the timing as some things weren't available such as the drivers experience at the Yas Marina Circuit and Ferrari World closed Mondays so best to ask first before locking in your dates if you have specific things in mind.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear cbr_13,

It was wonderful to read that you chose to stay with us on your first UAE adventure. I am glad that you were able to enjoy, not only the world-class attractions on Yas Island, but those in nearby Abu Dhabi. It is always pleasing to know that we have provided excellent service, dining and accommodation options for a guest.
I sincerely hope that we are able to welcome you on your next Abu Dhabi adventure.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbeach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at the yas viceroy on the first week of September, thought the hotel was very modern and luxurious. The room was absolutely lovely with free wifi everywhere. We dined in the buffet most nights and have to say that Sanjeewa Somaratne the chef was very friendly and accommodating with the food, nothing much too much trouble for him to do. My boyfriend is a very fussy vegetarian and he would make up a vegetarian option for him with no quibbles. Even the Friday brunch he showed us round and explained all the meals that were on offer. He really did make it a better holiday. All food we tried was excellent. The only thing I would say negative is the hotel could do some entertainment at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that we were able to meet your dining requirements, and I have passed on my personal congratulations to Sanjeewa.
I note your comments about entertainment options and want to take this opportunity to let you know that Skylite, our rooftop lounge reopened on 15 September. As the weather is cooling down, movie nights in our Palm Garden will commence shortly and Rush, the only nightclub in the world built over a F1 racetrack, will continue to open Thursday – Monday from 10pm-3.30am.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Yas Viceroy.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Yas for a stopover on-route to Sydney. As a keen F1 fan, I treated myself and was not disappointed.
The room was huge, with a wonderful bathroom with sliding glass doors you can play with for ages! The room overlooked the F1 track and as it was positioned behind the colour changing exterior grid, the view was a little dull.
The hotel is huge, and you can spend quite some time wondering the corridors looking for something to do and somewhere to go, but as I went in April and just after a dust storm, the place was deserted.
Good experience though but wouldn't repeat it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear oldbarbie 1,

I was pleased to read that that your recent stay was an enjoyable one, and as an F1 fan, you were not disappointed.
Whilst I am delighted that you found our guestrooms to be wonderfully appointed, I am sorry that your location under the LED grid shell impeded your view. If you ever change your mind and wish to visit us again, be sure to request a room with a view of the adjoining Yas Marina or Palm Garden.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Abu Dhabi and stayed at the Yas hotel. We flew into Dubai airport which we chose for the flight convenience times. The journey took one and a half hours, had we flown into Abu Dhabi airport this trip would have taken ten minutes ( will know for next time ). On approach to the hotel, it is truly breath taking, we were ushered into the reception area and met by the Reception staff, who were friendly, efficient and extremely helpful with all our requests. We were shown to our room and all the gadgets were explained to my husband.
The rooms are huge , ultra modern and beautifully equipped with everything you would need.
The bathrooms have a great deal of glass, which may not be to everyone's taste. The restaurants have an excellent selection of different foods and all tasted amazing .All soft drinks are complimentary. We would recommend the Yas waterworld and Ferrari World, courtesy buses are supplied every 38 minutes. Tickets can be purchased within the hotel, if you plan to do the two , buy the discounted ticket, it will save you around 200 DHS. There are two swimming pools, both of which are quite small, but safe for the little ones and an adult pool on the 8th floor which overlooks the track. The poolside food was fantastic and extremely reasonable. For the quality of the hotel this is excellent value for money and would highly recommend this outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel overlook the race track, Rooms situated over the bridge, face the marina. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Elaine R,

Please accept my sincere thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive account of your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you found Yas Viceroy to be excellent value for money and that you would recommend the hotel to others.

I have passed on your wonderful comments to our colleagues, and behalf all everyone; I look forward to welcoming you back to Yas Viceroy.

Kind regards,
Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Address: Yas Island Leisure Drive, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.