We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs some serious training” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yas Island Leisure Drive, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Splash OR Speed
Ranked #17 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Staff needs some serious training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed there in November. Hotel is beautiful, rooms are spacious and comfortable but oh my God! the service !!! It seams like you have to ask for everything at least 3 times in order to get it 1 hour later ( if you are lucky). Management has to pay some serious attention to the staff or owners have to change the management because this lack of service in unacceptable. Honestly I have better service in Kabul in Afghanistan. So if you do not need anything from the staff ...you will enjoy the hotel!
However as we decided to go back now for two days in December , and I will be writing another review upon our return....because it is pity to have such a low ratings for this hotel because of the service. Lets see if they change something .....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Artemis975

Thank you for posting your comprehensive feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed to read of the challenges faced during your recent visit and will personally ensure your return stay is a memorable one.

Kindly send your booking confirmation to yas.reservations@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com to the attention of Heiner Werdeling and I will be in touch.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards
Heiner Werderling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    212
    79
    34
    22
See reviews for
208
364
46
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

we had a very high expectation as its a 5 star hotel but we were shocked as we had the worst room service ever.
we asked for Ice and kept on calling them but never came and when we complained the management didn’t make any effort to please us the Customer it was fine with them to have un pleased client leaving the hotel :-(

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear AmalJanahi

I want to extend my apologies to you for the challenges faced during your stay, particularly in your attempts to have ice delivered.

Your shortcomings have been noted and addressed with the concerned department for immediat rectification.

I do hope this experience has not deterred you from returning to stay with us again.

Best Regards
Heiner Werdeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

What an amazing hotel, facilities 5 star and the view from our room of the Yas Marina circuit and marina was absolutely fantastic, it was such a shame though that the door to our balcony had no handle so we were unable to go onto it despite us noticing that other rooms had access to their balcony. Rooms very spacious and modern, there is a lot of aircraft noise though as the airport is nearby. Would definitely recommend a stay here tho, and the food at Stars n Bars near the yacht club was great too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear EmmaB1972

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Yas Viceroy however disappoined to learn of the challenges faced with the balcony door.

I do hope this challenge didnt hinder on your overall experience at the Hotel and I will ensure this issue is rectified immediately.

With Best Regards
Heiner Werdeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel looks great from the outside and if you are into sleek modern interiors you will love the inside but if you are looking for peace and quiet this is not the place for you.

I had the misfortune to stay on a weekend. The cars started around the track before 9am. Initially it was entertainning to see cars whizzing around just outside your hotel room but this novelty lasted around 20 minutes. I appreciate that the hotel sits right on the race track and I expected a degree of 'noise' from people enjoying the facilities but there was just no respite at all. The perpetual noise stopped at midnight. Yes 13 hours of almost constant noise. It was deafening in the pool areas, in the restaurants and in the bedrooms. The bedroom sound proofing just doesn't work. Our double glazed balcony door didn't close properly and we had to ask members of staff (who had a special suction tool) to close it for us. It was not much of an improvement. We sat miserably in our room trying to coax the children to sleep for 3 hours before the noise stopped. It started again at 8 am the next morning. We checked out rather than listen to it any longer. A miserable experience. Nothing could persuade me to stay in this hotel again.

The food is very average and over priced.

The pool staff were very helpful but otherwise the service is not up to much (we had pre paid for our room but the receptin staff insisted we hadn't despite a reciept showing we had). We are awaiting our credit card statement to find out what we have been charged.

To be fair the room was large.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

What a breathtaking hotel! It sits astride Yas racing circuit and it is a buzz to be having a drink in the bar while having cars race under you at speed. As you would expect though, the noise is big. It misses a 5 star for mine as there is a lack of dedicated accessable bars if the one above the race circuit is closed, which it is till quite late in the day.

The rooms are 5 star and the views of the marina, nearby golf course, amazing architecture on the horizon, or the circuit are awesome. Top place to hole up if you are catching an act at the nearby Yas Arena.

Room Tip: Rooms anywhere are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear SteveS14

Thank you for posting your compliments on TripAdvisor.

Its a pleasure to read your recent stay was an enjoyable one. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

With Best Regards
Heiner Werdeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed here for a night the weekend prior to the F1 races. The facility is amazing and beautiful, very modern with lovely, spacious, clean rooms. However the customer service was not the greatest, watch out for all sorts of extra charges if you are staying here with children including required upgrades to suites plus extra charges for cots ect. When I called in to book our rooms I clearly stated that one of the rooms would need to accommodate 2 adults with 3 children, yet upon check in we were told the room booked could not handle that many people and an upgrade to a full suite (at double to price plus extra person and cot fees) would be required. It felt very tricky of them.

Also, coming from North America where most places and especially hotel rooms are non-smoking it was a disappointment to have a smoking room with no option to move to a non-smoking room considering the price paid.

The spa is absolutely unbelievable. It left me speechless in every way, a definite must when staying at the Yas Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here after the Janet Jackson concert and enjoyed it very much.

Room:
The room was huge (full disclosure, we had a suite) and nice. The only downside was how insanely complicated the light switches and curtain controls were. We didn't try it, but I can only imagine how complicated the television would be (probably need an engineering degree).

Service:
Nice. No real remarks.

Restaurants:
Except for the fact that the kitchen of the restaurant where we ate opened quite late, the food was decent. Breakfast the following morning, however, was very very good (lots of food, selection, etc. and all included!).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear dutchguy2

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay after the Janet Jackson concert.

It’s great to know that the suite provided you with comfort and that the breakfast selection met your expectations.

I hope you return to stay again soon.

Best Regards
Heiner Werdeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Address: Yas Island Leisure Drive, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.