We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Center

Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Center
Sheikh Rashid Road (2nd St.), Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
24191919
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Center like an insider
Private Tour
$72*
and up
Private Tour: Abu Dhabi Sightseeing with...
Ranked #1 of 110 things to do in Abu Dhabi
Attraction details
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Piece of art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Must visit when in town!
Very beautiful mosque.
Piece of art!

For female visitors, you will need to get a black cover from the mosque to cover your hair and body. It is free, but you will need to bring a photo ID with you to get the black cover. (they don't accept passport tho, yet any of your photo ID will do.)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,829
    969
    126
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I visited Abu Dhabi on my way home from Istanbul to Melbourne, and had recently seen the Blue Mosque. I did not think that another mosque could surpass that famous one, but I was wrong. This mosque is the most beautiful building I have seen. It is situated half way between the airport and the city, but it is accessible by taxi or the city's Big Bus tour. Unlike the Istanbul mosques, this one is open during prayer times. The external architecture is traditional, but the internal decorations are quite modern, using marbled walls with huge coloured chandeliers. Visitors must respect the dress code, although the administrators provide additional covering where deemed necessary. As with islamic tradition, entry is free.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Mosque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The artisans who built this mosque were truly skilled -- a labor of love. I know one can take tours, but I would've like to have had an area that described the vision, the realization of the mosque, the timeline, the artisans, etc. -- either in photos and/or video -- to educate people about the creation of the mosque, but also about the Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) and Islam as this mosque is well positioned to educate those of other faiths.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I visited the Grand mosque and thought it was an absolutely breathtaking building, beautiful design with marble columns, domes & gold chandeliers. Very peaceful, free entry and abaya given to tourists who do not have proper attire.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most beautiful building I have ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The grandiour of this building is difficult to describe. It is both simple and light as well as awe inspiring.

The design uses marble in a way I have never seeing before.

I can only say i hope to revisit several times and it is so much more beautiful then the Taj Mahal which can be so difficult to see inside.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Center also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.