We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10hr stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yas Plaza | Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #41 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“10hr stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel midnight, and left at 8am. The passport and immigration through airport with a British passport at this time of night was swift and painless. As our transit was for less than 12hrs with Etihad, there was no need to collect cases. Getting a taxi outside airport was easy as there were plenty of them. The taxi ride from airport to hotel took 10mins and cost 25 dirhams. Checking at the hotel was quick and efficient. Staff are very welcoming and extremely polite. We got to our room on the 8th (top) floor within 10mins of arriving. We had a very spacious well equipped room poolside of hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and luxuriously comfortable, with a large bed with high quality bedding. The bathroom, again spacious, was perfect, with large fluffy towels and bathrobes. The only problem we had was we could not connect to the wifi. We were to tired to be bothered and just wanted to sleep in the fabulous bed. We had a 6:30 alarm call, as we did not trust setting the alarm clock in room, to catch our connecting flight. We stepped out onto the spacious balcony to a stunning outlook over golf coarse and water. The bathroom was a pleasure to use with shower over large bath, with good pressured hot water. There are plenty of high quality toiletries supplied, which is what you need when you don't have your luggage. There was a large range of complementary hot drinks in room with kettle and coffee machine which was perfect with no time for breakfast. Also one large and two small bottles of water were provided. Only having 5.5hrs sleep we left room totally refreshed for our onward journey. Checkout was also swift. Taxi was immediately brought to the hotel, doors opened for us, and we were on our way back to the airport. The taxi ride back to airport took 15mins and cost 20 dirhams.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    211
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
138
126
55
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The radisson blu was impressive from the moment our taxi pulled up outside. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us! Our superior room lived up to its title with a fabulous view of the ocean and golf course. Very spacious and well appointed. The bath was HUGE and can't beat a large pour overhead shower! The room was quiet which complemented the peaceful view from the balcony. A portacot was promptly set up for our toddler as soon as we arrived.

Lovely breakfast with lots of choice and again super friendly and accommodating staff! The Italian restaurant served the nicest pizza I've had in a long time and faultless service. The spa had simple elegance and sitting in the jacuzzi gazing at the horizon was bliss! Lovely outdoor pool area for enjoying the sun.

Would definitely highly recommend this hotel and made a perfect stop over for our long haul trip. It's a long way from the shopping amenities of Abu Dhabi but its not a place you'd want to leave too often!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigBruceGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Becky

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. We constantly strive to exceed guest expectations, and are delighted to hear the positive feedback. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Craig Bruce – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived very early after overnight flight from Sydney, checked in and were provided with reduced fee upgrade to Business Class room immediately. Traveling companion had left her handbag in taxi from airport - reception took on task of tracking driver down and within 45mins bag had been returned to hotel reception. No fuss and reception calmly dealt with the problem - outstanding customer service and well received by us. We were provided with complimentary breakfast on first morning as well. Room was ideal - spacious with balcony overlooking golf course and sea beyond, air con and very clean. Hotel food served on patio area by pool was well priced and presented well. Needed bucket of ice in room and this was delivered within 5mins. Overall ideally located for a stopover with easy access (15mins) from airport but seemed a world away from busy departure and arrival areas. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Business class rooms well worth paying extra for as they have balconies and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Spend a night after the Yas water world fun very good hotel. rooms are nice and crisp staff are friendly good breakfast very busy lobby and restaurants good value for the money would go back when travel bring me back to Abu dhabi

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I must preface this by saying I stayed from 6am to 6pm only. Check-in took longer than one would expect at 6am in the morning. Room was stuffy and it took 20 mins for the air con to circulate the stale air. Room looked "used" - with no attention to detail. Production line type of cleanliness - with things missed, scuff marks, pen marks on in house brochures and in-house menus.
Bathroom and facilities were clean - breakfast was satisfactory but standard. Did not use pool.
Bed was comfortable for napping during the day. Local phone call cost USD$3 equivalent for 5 minutes
Yas Island is great for overnight stays and visits to Ferrari World and Yas Waterworld. Make sure you visit Sheik Zayed Mosque - amazing and NOT to be missed!
I moved from this hotel after the day use to the Yas Island Rotana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in March 2013 for a holiday. As a business traveller, I regularly stay at many Radissons across Europe, but I was disappointed by my stay at Radisson (Yas Island).

Positive points
Hotel is clean, rooms are large, bright and well-equipped to the normal Radisson standard. Bed is a little soft but comfortable. Free WiFi. Pool area is one of the best I’ve seen with plenty of loungers available (except on weekends as expected).
Location is good, especially if you want some quite time away from the city. Highly recommend hiring a car for your stay, will be significantly cheaper that taxis’s. Driving around Yas and into Abu Dhabi is effortless.

Negative points
Avoid rooms towards the front of the hotel. The noise from the overhead flights from the airport & racing circuit are loud & annoying anytime you open the window.

If you forget to put your DND sign up, housekeeping will wake you up at around 9am.

Reception is busy so you end up waiting in a queue for over 30 minutes.

Food is over priced in the hotel with minimum wait of around 30-40 minutes for even a Club Sandwich at pool side. No poolside order service, you have to go to the bar to order F&B. As all the hotels on the Plaza are catering for tourists, they are over priced with slow service (had to wait 45 minutes for starters at Rangoli restaurant in Towers Rotana hotel). Recommend that you go to the restaurant at Yas Links. Decent food, good service and reasonable prices.

Customer service is very poor in nearly all areas of the hotel. I experienced several issues during my stay including one day when they completely forgot to clean my room. Staff are polite but are not interested in resolving any customer service issues.

The Radisson policy of Yes I can! is definitely lacking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the front of the hotel. The noise from the overhead flights from the airport &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigBruceGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Kim

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest comments, both positive and negative, are always very much appreciated and enable us to constantly monitor and improve our guest service and facilities as well as reviewing our interactions with guests. Your point about hiring a car to explore the surroundings is very valid, particularly for our longer-stay guests, and we hope that you enjoyed all that the area has to offer. YAS is an amazing entertainment hub, but to really experience the culture of the UAE we certainly recommend exploring Abu Dhabi and beyond.

We regret that you were disturbed by noise from the YAS Marina Circuit and overhead aircraft during your stay, and sincerely apologise for any service shortfall from Housekeeping. Your comments regarding pricing in the restaurants have been noted and I will personally look into the reason for any service delays during your visit.

Thank you for such a comprehensive review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson Blu Hotel Abu Dhabi Yas Island or any of our sister properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed in all 5 of the yas island hotels and this would be my personal favourite. rooms on the golf course side have excellent balconies. ambience is good and only downside is a poor bar area in the lobby so better to stroll over to the Y bar or bar at Crowne Plaza for a drink. free wi-fi is a bonus and Club Carlson is above avg as a loyalty program.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island

Address: Yas Plaza | Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#32 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#32 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Yas Island, the Radisson Blu Hotel offers spectacular views of the sea, Yas Links Golf club and the Yas Marina Circuit. The hotel offers 397 guestrooms; Italian and International restaurants; Meetings & Events facilities to host from 10 to 445 persons and a Spa. Conveniently located 7 minutes from international airport, 15 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC), Diplomatic Area; 20 minutes from City Centre and is 50 minutes drive from Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island Hotel Yas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.