We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brazilian in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamas

Chamas
Intercontinental Hotel, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
026666888
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,583 restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: For those of you who don’t know what a Brazilian Churrascaria is, think endless skewers of freshly barbecued meat and chicken served by enthusiastic and knowledgeable Passadores until you tell them to stop. Add to this, a genuine Latin band and one of the liveliest atmospheres in the city and you start to get an idea of what Chamas is all about. It’s an eat as much as you want experience unlike anything else.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For Brazilian food, the best place in Abu Dhabi is Chamas. For a set price you get an open salad bar and all you can eat meat. You can pace the serving of meat by putting your table card to green and when you feel satisfied you flip the card to red. The meat they serve is grilled to perfection! There is not other place in Abu Dhabi they serve this tasty meat. If you would like to get some more of a specific meat, remember to ask them to serve it in a second round. Remember to eat the grilled pine apple at the end.
If you are a group of 8-10 people and you prefer some privacy you can reserve the "wine-room" below the stairs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    109
    92
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for meat lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Meat lovers paradise. I am vegeterian but my friends were feasting on meats and were enjoying it thoroughly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chamas - great Brazilian in the heart of Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have a wish to go back to Brazil, so basically I am in love with anything that has to do with Brazil... the football, the food, the beaches and of course the bikinis...
Chamas is one of those restaurants that truly brings for me the spirit of the Brazilian food.
The ambience is fantastic, great to take out the family and friends... and can also be great for business dinners.
The food, starting from the large variety of the salad bar to the endless meat is simply divine.
Its your typical Brazilian style meat lover restaurant... so if its your first time going there, they waiters will explain to you the mechanism of the Traffic Light Signal ... they give you the coaster like card with one side green and the other red. If you have your card on Green... that means the meat just keeps on coming. If its on red - then you are either taking a breather or simply cannot take in any more meat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After 5 years living here Chamas continues to be my favorite restaurant in Abu Dhabi. The food is always good and the service no too bad either. Their salad bar very nice and always fresh and their various meats that they bring your table are a delight. My favorite is their lamb chops, thick and juicy, and full of flavor. This is a great place to go to celebrate happy occasions with family and friends. With drinks and desert you can spend about 250 to 300AED per person.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Only Churrascaria in Abudhabi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went to this Churrascaria , Authentic Brazilian cuisine in the Intercont Abudhabi with friends, we were almost 10 , we heard about the meat adventure and went to check out the place . first you enter from the bar floor in case you need to have some drinks , but we aimed to be seated on our table where we booked in advance, .

hostess explains the concept where a red/green card to initial for the passadores-meat servers- to come and serve the table with the different 15 cuts of meat , also we were invited to go to salad bar and also explained about the package which has Free flow of Caipirinha included , quality of cocktails is good , in general if you like to go to such concept you need to be really hungry , meat marinated with mustard, garlic salt and you get offered caramelized pineapple as well to help you digest ! duo performing during the evening and positioned on the staircase above the restaurant , overall good for families and friends to try something different !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamas also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Chamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.